We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, not much comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Meeting Point
Ranked #55 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good location in a central part of the city and near some reasonably priced coffee and smart(truffles) shops. The staff were friendly although the no-guests door policy was needlessly strict but I think that's standard for Amsterdam. The smoking room was pretty rubbish as you can't really relax on wooden bar stools but it's nice how it overlooks one of the canals. As did our room which was really nice.

Room Tip: Try get a room that overlooks the canal!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Meeting Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 402 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Even if it's the cheapest hostel in Amsterdam it's still expensive, 21€ per night. The rooms were very big and full of nice people, friendly and not noisy. The bathrooms were big enough and clean. Wi-fi is free only if you have your device, but it doesn't reach the upper rooms. There's breakfast but you have to pay for it. The location is right in the centre of Amsterdam, but it's like 50 metres form the red light district so not a family hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakobs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

As a hostel it is very good. The bar is nice and cosy where you can while away some time chilling. The rooms are well maintained and clean.
The bar sometimes seems understaffed but the staff on the whole are knowledgable and friendly

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangerous007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent location on the edge of the Red Light District less than five minutes walk from Central Station. Staff were friendly and helpful. The 16 bed mixed dorm in which we stayed was perfectly clean but only having one power socket in the room wasn't great. Showers and toilets were ok for cleanliness. Definitely a safe (and relatively good value) choice for Amsterdam but not particularly memorable or special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in a really great location and for that reason I would stay again. However, the rooms are pretty dingy and damp and there's limited facilities e.g no kitchen or lounge area. However I did really enjoy my stay here

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hostel was in a great location, right at the start of the Red Light District and also only about 3 minutes from the Central Station and it was very reasonably priced.
Personally I thought the majority of the staff were great, and the facilities were ok. As people have mentioned though there is nowhere in the rooms to charge your phones etc and the only places are on a couple of tables in the common area, which did get a little cramped.
The common area was a good place to meet other visitors and chat to them and even have the odd game of pool which was cool. The smoking room at the end was a bit of a nuisance but once you got used to it you just ignored it.
Wouldn't recommend having breakfast there though, would go a little bit further down the street to a proper cafe for a more filling meal.
I will warn you though if you are slightly unfit or come back drunk (both of which I am/did), you will struggle if your room is any higher than the 1st floor, as there are no lifts and a hell of a lot of stairs!
Also the bathrooms weren't the most spacious but it's a hostel, so you should really expect that.
All in all though, enjoyed the hostel and will definitely stay here again when I come back to Amsterdam soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daruish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here during some busy and warm July days, and had booked on account of the good reviews this hostel had gotten on tripadvisor.com.
First the good news: the staff was absolutely super helpful, and the location was great.
Other than that I don't see what all the good reviews in here are on about?
There was no fan or AC in the rooms, which in the middle of July kinda is a big deal! There were no power outlets (!!!) in our room, so we had to go downstairs to the bar to charge phones.
Also, there was no kitchen. They were trying to get this to happen, and I'm not sure if this is normal around European hostels, but this was a big letdown to me and my travel buddies.
The price was allright though, so if you can sleep through a heat storm and don't need to cook your own food or has any technical appliances that don't need charging, go ahead!
The location was really good, but they'd have to change quite a few things before I return.

Room Tip: We were facing west, so the afternoons were terribly hot! On the other hand, had we had the rooms fa...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toferik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#232 of 371 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 238 in Amsterdam
1,263 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#97 of 238 in Amsterdam
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Meeting Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Meeting Point

Address: Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $35 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers who aren't afraid to explore Amsterdam's lively atmosphere, Meeting Point is the best place to crash. It is situated in the heart of Amsterdam...2 minutes walk from the central station...and all main atraction are in walking distance...in Our bar you will meet fellow travellers from all over the world.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Meeting Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeting Point Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing