We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Meeting Point
Ranked #60 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great budget base”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Travelled here in May for Pinkpop festival in Heerlen, about an hour away on train. Great place from which to explore Amsterdam. Coffee Shops and bars in immediate vicinity - staff happy and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuinanTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    138
    110
    39
    21
See reviews for
3
27
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

For the money, this is the best hostel in Amsterdam, bar none. I've stayed here numerous times over the years, and I've never had a bad experience. The Meeting Point is located in the heart of the action, has a great(!) staff that makes you feel at home, and the bar in the lobby is the best: it's open all night and is always full of a wide range of characters from the four corners of the earth. Also, the hostel's doors are open 24 hours (though locked at night, for safety), so you can come and go as you please. In terms of hostels, there is nothing like the Meeting Point!

Room Tip: There are some "rooms" that contain fewer people than others. I think they're towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

perfect cheap holiday just what we was looking for. beds are bunks and the toilets are not great but the thing we loved was the staff. We felt like family and everyone is super friendly. in amsterdam there is too much to do so where we slept and got ready wasnt a big deal to us so if your going as a couple or a family i wouldnt recommend it but if its just a bunch of friends then its perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed here with two of my friends (All girls) and we loved it, there was nothing we could complain about. the location is awesome, as soon as you step out the street, there were cafes and red light district is nearby to pop to for late night curiosity visits!
They had lockers which are large old oil drums, so we could put our whole backpacks in there which was great, we had a nice view of a big canal. the bathrooms were big, and there weren't heaps of people staying there, well it didn't feel crowded like other hostels. i would recommend it to anyone wanting to see the real amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Luver_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Three of us stayed here for 3 nights and would highly recommend it.
the location is brilliant with out room looking out on to one of the main streets and canals.
The room we where we stayed has 8 beds we found the rooms to be clean and the beds to be comfortable. They rooms were warm with the heating on all through the night. They rooms also contained lockers when we found useful. The only problem is that there are no plugs in the rooms but there are many plugs both in the bathroom and at the bar which are free to use.The bathroom was clean and tidy with lots of hot water.
The hostel is open 24 hours as is the bar. The staff were friendly and helpful especially one man who appeared to work 24 a day! They also offer a great valued breakfast which we ate eat day and kept us going most of the day. The bars prices where low compared to other pubs on the same street.
The best part of this hostel is the location and the only drawback i could see is that some of the rooms sleep 16 people and you never know who you might have to share a room with. Over all i would recommend this hostel to friends traveling to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There are many stairs to climb up and no lift but the rooms higher up have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashlingmccann171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My friend and I chose to stay in the biggest room, the 18 person one and it wasn't bad. if you don't like being around so many people i would say go for one of the smaller rooms but for us this was fine. It is in a great location, walking distance from the heart of town and the train station, and it's right around the corner from the red light district. We didn't eat breakfast there, to us it looked bland and unappetizing but there are tons of little places around you can get good food. The beds were comfy and they have these huge barrels that double as lockers which was strange but handy. Our room was on the top floor and had some french doors that opened and gave you a great view of the street below. The bar was alright but we didn't hang out there much. The only complaint I had was that the rooms had no ventilation so in the morning it smelled like18 peoples feet and morning breath, yuck.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Two of us stayed here for four nights over new year and had a great time, the staff were really friendly and fun, the breakfast was good for the price and the bar prices were low. the rooms are basic as expected for the price, bathroom was clean and had plenty of hot water. As always when staying in a dorm roomates are hit and miss, some were very inconsiderate and on our last night there an argument broke out between two of them due to the particularly innapropriate behaivour of one guest. Of course the quality of guests really isn't the hostels fault. Would definately stay here again but next time in the smaller eight bed dorms, we were in an eighteen bed dorm this time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#229 of 368 in Amsterdam
429 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 229 in Amsterdam
1,238 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Meeting Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Meeting Point

Property: Hostel Meeting Point
Address: Warmoesstraat 14, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers who aren't afraid to explore Amsterdam's lively atmosphere, Meeting Point is the best place to crash. It is situated in the heart of Amsterdam...2 minutes walk from the central station...and all main atraction are in walking distance...in Our bar you will meet fellow travellers from all over the world.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Meeting Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeting Point Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing