We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Trust me, this is a great little hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added King Hotel to your Saves list
King Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Trust me, this is a great little hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have just come back from a 4 city trip (Berlin, Amsterdam, Brussels and Paris), and this was our choice when booking our stay. First of all, the location is perfect, near all restaurants, bars and tram stations. You got to keep in mind that this is an old building so there is no air conditioning and the steps are pretty steep, but that is just the architecture of the city, so embrace it. The people at the reception desk were always happy to help us out and very friendly. The star of the room was the bed. While our room was small, the bed was SO COMFY we didn't mind anything else. We slept like babies!!! Also, the hotel is at a cool street that doesn't have so much noise, great thing for restless sleepers like us. Definitively will return.

Tips for the hotel: you might want to make a sign to help people if they don't want their room cleaned. We left the hotel every single day to find our room cleaned, and while it was very cool, sometimes we wanted our stuff like it was. Also, you might think about bigger fans for the rooms, that way people would not complain so much about the heat (since we stayed in early autumn, we didn't have a problem with room temperature). Keep up the great work, King Hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was #4. No view of the canal, but who cares, you're in Amsterdam, GO OUTSIDE to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    78
    80
    48
    31
See reviews for
13
137
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A group of guys were out in Amsterdam for a bachelor party and chose to stay at the King Hotel. The King Hotel is excellently located in the centre of the city, and the staff were very friendly, vibrant and helpful. They gave great recommendations on places to go for a bachelor weekend and were able to help arrange some small things for the groom-to-be. One of the friends got sick during our stay, and the hotel were both very accommodating and helpful. They arranged the necessaries to help our friend, whilst ensuring we were not inconvenienced. Thank you so much King Hotel!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the canalside during the summer months for extra breeze. Rooms facing the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The prices were very high for the terrible quality of the hotel. Personal were not helpful and we could´t live the lugagge the last day for a few hours before the flight!! The only good thing is the location. Not recommendable at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BookerAmsterdam, Manager at King Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ms. Clara,

Please note that your feedback is very important for us.

We're sorry to hear that you were told that you couldn't leave your luggage with us, maybe you were informed this way because we have no space for this.

Could you please inform me more about the poor quality of the hotel. As i would like to know what you mean by that because we would like to act on it.

Looking forward hearing from you.

Mrs. Mehra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice clean hotel, within walking distance of Amsterdam centre (10 / 15 mins.) Although only a few mins via tram ride. Great location, lots to see and do in Leidesplein, good coffee shops, comedy club, shops etc. Please bear in mind that this hotel is non smoking (if that is what your going to amsterdam for!) My biggest tip for travellers going to amsterdam for the first time to always be aware your personal belongings especially around centre of amsterdam, lots of pick pockets, especially in the red light district, only by chance seeing us being followed out of the corner of my eye that we wernt had!! No reflection on the dutch people or the hotel though,
Our room was in the roof, very nice, tv, en suite bathroom, good value for money, never had breakfast as we were never up in time lol x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012. The hotel is very restricted inside as the stair cases are more like ladders , as is probably very typical in Amsterdam unfortunately the pictures on their website did not live up to expectations.

As we were in Amsterdam we did not spend much time in the room as we were out touring, just aswel really as the rooms were not very comfortable. There was building work going on outside the hotel and we had to step over pipers and building machinery to get to the from door of the hotel, was a little left down by this.

The only thing really that this hotel has going for it is the location as its close to all the main attractions in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
340 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June while visiting Amsterdam. Our room and bathroom were small, but adequate and typical for European hotels. The location was perfect- just a block from Leidseplein and a hub of tram lines and restaurants. They were renovating the breakfast room while we were there. We were apprehensive that it might be noisy, but it was quiet. It was a great base for touring the city

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing the canal. It was a great view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Kooyk Hotel
#206 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#182 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#281 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#272 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Property: King Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing