We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there are rats!”
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King Hotel
Ranked #282 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 2, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Susana W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 272 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

The prices were very high for the terrible quality of the hotel. Personal were not helpful and we could´t live the lugagge the last day for a few hours before the flight!! The only good thing is the location. Not recommendable at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BookerAmsterdam, Manager at King Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Ms. Clara,

Please note that your feedback is very important for us.

We're sorry to hear that you were told that you couldn't leave your luggage with us, maybe you were informed this way because we have no space for this.

Could you please inform me more about the poor quality of the hotel. As i would like to know what you mean by that because we would like to act on it.

Looking forward hearing from you.

Mrs. Mehra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice clean hotel, within walking distance of Amsterdam centre (10 / 15 mins.) Although only a few mins via tram ride. Great location, lots to see and do in Leidesplein, good coffee shops, comedy club, shops etc. Please bear in mind that this hotel is non smoking (if that is what your going to amsterdam for!) My biggest tip for travellers going to amsterdam for the first time to always be aware your personal belongings especially around centre of amsterdam, lots of pick pockets, especially in the red light district, only by chance seeing us being followed out of the corner of my eye that we wernt had!! No reflection on the dutch people or the hotel though,
Our room was in the roof, very nice, tv, en suite bathroom, good value for money, never had breakfast as we were never up in time lol x

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012. The hotel is very restricted inside as the stair cases are more like ladders , as is probably very typical in Amsterdam unfortunately the pictures on their website did not live up to expectations.

As we were in Amsterdam we did not spend much time in the room as we were out touring, just aswel really as the rooms were not very comfortable. There was building work going on outside the hotel and we had to step over pipers and building machinery to get to the from door of the hotel, was a little left down by this.

The only thing really that this hotel has going for it is the location as its close to all the main attractions in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June while visiting Amsterdam. Our room and bathroom were small, but adequate and typical for European hotels. The location was perfect- just a block from Leidseplein and a hub of tram lines and restaurants. They were renovating the breakfast room while we were there. We were apprehensive that it might be noisy, but it was quiet. It was a great base for touring the city

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing the canal. It was a great view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

For the price we have book this hotel, was the service and rooms oke.
An very nice place in amsterdam near het leidseplein and theater de la mar.
On het leidseplein you can go with the bus or tram to the city, trainstation, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ordered three single rooms and got three different Versions! One was 5square meters and the broom cupboard. with a lot of discussion this room was changed on the 2nd day. The other two rooms were spacious . There is a lift which is a must in this Hotel. The Hotel is clean and comfortable with everything working ie hot water. Hoterl is on a side street.

The Price is good for Amsterdam and the Location couldn't be better.

Luggage facilities for early or late departures are an issue.

Room Tip: Make sure you order a good size room Rooms 21/ 14/ and 11 have been tested. 24 is a definite no go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loraine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Blue Square
#163 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,014 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,977 reviews
Hotel King's Court
#73 of 338 in Amsterdam
142 reviews
Hostelle
#36 of 241 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 85-86 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $81 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing