We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The worst hotel I´ve ever been” 1 of 5 stars
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King Hotel
Ranked #278 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I´ve ever been”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The prices were very high for the terrible quality of the hotel. Personal were not helpful and we could´t live the lugagge the last day for a few hours before the flight!! The only good thing is the location. Not recommendable at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BookerAmsterdam, Manager at King Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ms. Clara,

Please note that your feedback is very important for us.

We're sorry to hear that you were told that you couldn't leave your luggage with us, maybe you were informed this way because we have no space for this.

Could you please inform me more about the poor quality of the hotel. As i would like to know what you mean by that because we would like to act on it.

Looking forward hearing from you.

Mrs. Mehra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    78
    80
    48
    31
See reviews for
13
137
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice clean hotel, within walking distance of Amsterdam centre (10 / 15 mins.) Although only a few mins via tram ride. Great location, lots to see and do in Leidesplein, good coffee shops, comedy club, shops etc. Please bear in mind that this hotel is non smoking (if that is what your going to amsterdam for!) My biggest tip for travellers going to amsterdam for the first time to always be aware your personal belongings especially around centre of amsterdam, lots of pick pockets, especially in the red light district, only by chance seeing us being followed out of the corner of my eye that we wernt had!! No reflection on the dutch people or the hotel though,
Our room was in the roof, very nice, tv, en suite bathroom, good value for money, never had breakfast as we were never up in time lol x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012. The hotel is very restricted inside as the stair cases are more like ladders , as is probably very typical in Amsterdam unfortunately the pictures on their website did not live up to expectations.

As we were in Amsterdam we did not spend much time in the room as we were out touring, just aswel really as the rooms were not very comfortable. There was building work going on outside the hotel and we had to step over pipers and building machinery to get to the from door of the hotel, was a little left down by this.

The only thing really that this hotel has going for it is the location as its close to all the main attractions in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
484 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June while visiting Amsterdam. Our room and bathroom were small, but adequate and typical for European hotels. The location was perfect- just a block from Leidseplein and a hub of tram lines and restaurants. They were renovating the breakfast room while we were there. We were apprehensive that it might be noisy, but it was quiet. It was a great base for touring the city

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing the canal. It was a great view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

For the price we have book this hotel, was the service and rooms oke.
An very nice place in amsterdam near het leidseplein and theater de la mar.
On het leidseplein you can go with the bus or tram to the city, trainstation, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ordered three single rooms and got three different Versions! One was 5square meters and the broom cupboard. with a lot of discussion this room was changed on the 2nd day. The other two rooms were spacious . There is a lift which is a must in this Hotel. The Hotel is clean and comfortable with everything working ie hot water. Hoterl is on a side street.

The Price is good for Amsterdam and the Location couldn't be better.

Luggage facilities for early or late departures are an issue.

Room Tip: Make sure you order a good size room Rooms 21/ 14/ and 11 have been tested. 24 is a definite no go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loraine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was very basic accommodation. We stayed on the 30th May for 3nights. You get your double bed, shower and kettle. We had the room 21 on level 4. The bed was comfortable and the room was big enough. I can't say more - other than you get what you pay for tbh. Its close to a busy part of town so nice to go out at night. You can get the tram 2 and 5 to get to the centre (dam square) or train station. Its not bad accommodation. If you want somewhere to sleep (decent enough rest) and go about your business (near town/clubbing etc) this is the place to go. The cleaners were great defo 'clean freaks'.

Room Tip: Room 21 level four was decent but no view or any other perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTravellerog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#285 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#207 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#284 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#199 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#72 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Property: King Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 8586 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing