We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“comfortable to sleep and decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King Hotel
Ranked #275 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“comfortable to sleep and decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was very basic accommodation. We stayed on the 30th May for 3nights. You get your double bed, shower and kettle. We had the room 21 on level 4. The bed was comfortable and the room was big enough. I can't say more - other than you get what you pay for tbh. Its close to a busy part of town so nice to go out at night. You can get the tram 2 and 5 to get to the centre (dam square) or train station. Its not bad accommodation. If you want somewhere to sleep (decent enough rest) and go about your business (near town/clubbing etc) this is the place to go. The cleaners were great defo 'clean freaks'.

Room Tip: Room 21 level four was decent but no view or any other perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTravellerog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    78
    80
    48
    31
See reviews for
13
137
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am sorry to write a bad review about this hotel but around 2 months ago I stayed there for 3 nights. After wanting to pay by card the staff recommended me to pay in cash as around 5% was charged when paying by card. My surprise was when I came back home that they actually charged my credit card too. They refund the money but because of the exchange rate the amount was less than what they charged. After 2 months and more than 10 e-mails they still didn´t pay me back.

I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a pleasant stay in Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here for the first time between 8th May and 10th May 2013. When we arrived, there were builders outside and the hotel front was being refurbished, which we were not told about but to be honest it did not matter to us. We arrived at the hotel tired from our trip and were able to check in 2 hours early at no extra charge which was brilliant. The room was clean but quite small but fine for 2 people for a couple of days. Our view was awful and looked into other windows which was rubbish as we had to have the curtains closed most of the time. Make sure you get a canal view room if you stay here! We tried to have a nap as soon as we arrived but there were builders banging for hours and we could not rest. This only happened on the first day though so not too bad. We had no hot water when we tried to shower but the helpful receptionist came straight up to the room and sorted it for us. The hotel Wi-fi connection was very fast but each time I locked my Iphone I then had to re-connect which was a bit annoying but the connection was very quick. The hotel is in a great location. If you come out of the hotel, turn left and left again, you are on a main road which has lovely shops and restaurants and even a Bulldog coffee shop! You can get tram 1,2 or 5 from there which takes you to Centraal station and is only a 10/15 min journey. If you choose to walk all the way up, in 20 mins you will arrive at Dam Square. The walk is nothing if you are shopping at the same time! On our last day, we asked for a later check-out which was given to us free of charge. We were going to leave our luggage at the hotel to go sightseeing on our last day but the receptionist advised us that Centraal Station had lockers that fit our suitcases which was very helpful as we were getting the train to the airport. Overall, it was a nice stay at this hotel as it was clean and comfortable but next time I would definitely get a canal view room. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCLondon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a good hotel with a perfect location for enjoying the downtown of Amsterdam. For me, the rooms are enough big. You can easily put 2 big luggages without being annoyed. BUT this hotel is not enough soundproof! You live with your noisy neighbours and the slamming doors! Early in the morning, you will be without doubt awoken. Bed are very bad, you can feel the springs.

Our room (7) overlooks on the garbages in the inner courtyard.

The breakfast is generoux but too much industrial for the price it costs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torgniole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived to scaffolding and I was concerned.. (we had not been informed of work being done) I asked the lady on the reception will there be noise? She said no it's done now. Next morning at 7.30am all we can hear is drilling. My friend who was with me has a serious health condition and needs rest. I told them we needed to leave bon account of the noise. We were offered to stay miles away in an area not close to town. We said we'd like to stay somewhere else in this area and get our money back, they said they couldn't do that until tomorrow. We did finally get our money back after travelling back there the next day but received this email from the manager: "As a good will we did offer you a three star hotel which was refused by you and still you stayed in another hotel on your own free will. On this point I could have easily refused to give you the refund but still I did refund since you used the serious health condition of your friend to bring in the sympathy and an excuse which was in a very poor taste." I asked for an apology and got no reply. A real disgrace. This hotel might have had other nice qualities like location but to be honest all I remember is this incident.

Room Tip: Just make sure they don't have work going on outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samlondon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#286 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#202 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#272 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#197 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Property: King Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 8586 | just off of the famous Leidseplein, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing