We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
$254
$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
citizenM Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$203
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$148
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$120
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$225
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$167
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$140
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Volkshotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$114
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
35
78
80
48
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
78
80
48
31
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 272 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and only used it as somewhere to sleep, which for this it was great, easy to check in and the room was small but clean and had everything we needed for the time we were there.

i agree about the stairs they were mega steep and i only went down them once which was enough!

we only made breakfast one morning but there was plenty of choice and was nice.

i would stay here again and would recommend to others lokign for a basic place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCFCMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The King Hotel is just what you'd expect for a cheapish hotel near the Leidseplein in Amsterdam. The single room was big enough, and the shower room large for the type of hotel. The stairs were as steep as they usually are in Amsterdam, but there is a small and very slow lift. The breakfast room is small but the breakfast was pretty good. The staff were all helpful and pleasant. The hotel was quiet. The wifi worked and was free. The location is great but still peaceful. The bed was a bit on the soft side for me, and the room safe was very hard to get at. The only niggles were the €3 fee to leave your bag (sic) after you checked out. The €20 returnable deposit for your keys and the pretty steep €5 per night tourist tax (but maybe that's Amsterdam Council who are ripping me off). I'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher the better since there is a lift.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

location is good. hotel provides clear direction from the airport to the hotel. remember that the tram ticket is one hour available. I didn't know that so I spend euro2.7 to buy one more ticket. This hotel is ok for budget traveler. room is clean. but the carpet in reception area is smelly and rugged. terrified when I got there, but luckily, the carpet in my room is ok. shower room is clean. single room is small, but I think this is the standard size for single room in Europe. got the same small room in Spain too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank KittyHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Basic but clean and a good location, rooms are tiny and the stairs very steep but there is a lift, breakfast was as you would expect for a basic hotel.

You have to pay 20 Euro deposit for your room key but it is returned and we were able to check in early with no hassle.

You get what you pay for and its only a base for sleeping in, wouldnt like to stay more than 2 nights or it could become a bit cramped.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashman268_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, extremely close to all of the shops and quite a few pubs, little bit away from the station but it's easy enough to walk if you know where you're going.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank dan_ielle20Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews