We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, Cramped, but does the Job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International Budget Hostel
Ranked #154 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive, Cramped, but does the Job”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed in IBH Amsterdam July 2013. It is a small, dark hostel with impractically steep steps (typical of Amsterdam). It has very basic amenities and is far too expensive for what it is. On the plus side, the location is rather good, and you will meet lots of friendly backpackers up for a good time. The showers worked, the toilets were clean, and the staff were helpful enough. I wouldn't come back here, but its name is at least honest.

Room Tip: The higher up the hostel, the better the view of Amsterdam. Try and get a South-facing room onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saudet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    52
    61
    31
    34
See reviews for
4
13
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

From the outside this hostel looks quite nice, however it's very dark and miserable inside, not welcoming at all. Not clean and stinks of weed. They put as many beds in one room as they can and there is hardly any space to move around. The only good thing about it was that it's close to the centre, everything is within walking distance. You definitely pay for location and not a lot else!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyLout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Reims, Champagne-Ardenne, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hostel is situated in a great central location, about 8-10 mins by tram from the station, and within a 2 min walk to the main tourist street. The bathrooms and toilets were clean, as were the rooms. Smoking is permitted only in the terrace, but the smell does tend to permeate throughout the whole building. The stairs are shin-bangingly steep, so it helps to have a backpack and not a suitcase.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRandSocialManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Arrived late and due to 'shift change' we waited 20 minutes to check in at which point the worker at the desk asked the other backpacker who arrived after us if he could check him in. Thankfully the backpacker was nice and let us check in first. The whole hostel reeks of weed, which is fine... But the horribly unclean bathrooms (urine on the floors) and bedbugs were the kicker. After spending one god-awful night in this hostel we fled (without a refund) to a reputable hotel far far away. Now, in the middle of our trip my girlfriend and I must visit a doctor, and find a way to clean all of our clothes so that we don't get more bites or spread the little devils elsewhere.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingkat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this hostel in October 2012, but was so filled with rage afterwards that I wanted to calm down for a while before writing this review. I can now calmly say: I have stayed in hostels all over Europe, and this is the worst. I paid in advance for 4 nights. After one night, I had hundreds of BEDBUG BITES on my arms and neck. The owners did not even apologize, and refused to give me a refund. I didn't want more bites, so I left; the owners wouldn't even refund the money for the nights I didn't stay there. Only visit this hellhole if you want to have a terrible time in Amsterdam, and want an unethical business to profit from your misfortune.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, book at a different hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Since returning to the UK I have discovered that the International Budget Hostel has tried to make a payment using my card details that I had used to book the hostel with. Luckily my bank spotted this and refused the payment, but it is a shame that there is fraudulent activity going on. Be careful guys! Had to cancel my card etc.
However, other than that issue there was a lovely friendly atmosphere in the smoking area and hostel. Fresh linen and good bunk beds (6 person room). Lockers, remember to bring your own padlock to lock things up. The doors of the hostel are quite loud and to you are frequently woken up by either late comers or early go-ers. Smoking room very friendly, sofa's and the fact there is a fridge and microwave available gives you flexibility. In terms of location it was a little further out of the centre than we initially thought.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

One of the worst hostels seen. The room was dirty and with the window broken. There was just one neon as light. The closet was completely unusable. The extern toilets were extremely small. The price is very high respect the services level. I asked a new place to sleep for my friend out of booking, the result is a mattress on the floor at full price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiusNero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amigo Budget Hostel
#184 of 229 in Amsterdam
417 reviews
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#199 of 229 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Central Station Hostel
Central Station Hostel
#93 of 229 in Amsterdam
96 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#176 of 229 in Amsterdam
391 reviews
Dutchies Hostel
#36 of 229 in Amsterdam
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Budget Hostel

Property: International Budget Hostel
Address: Leidsegracht 76 | Grachtengordel, 1016 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — International Budget Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your International Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Budget Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing