We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The worst hostel I have ever visited” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of International Budget Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
International Budget Hostel
Ranked #139 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst hostel I have ever visited”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this hostel in October 2012, but was so filled with rage afterwards that I wanted to calm down for a while before writing this review. I can now calmly say: I have stayed in hostels all over Europe, and this is the worst. I paid in advance for 4 nights. After one night, I had hundreds of BEDBUG BITES on my arms and neck. The owners did not even apologize, and refused to give me a refund. I didn't want more bites, so I left; the owners wouldn't even refund the money for the nights I didn't stay there. Only visit this hellhole if you want to have a terrible time in Amsterdam, and want an unethical business to profit from your misfortune.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, book at a different hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    46
    56
    29
    31
See reviews for
2
12
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Since returning to the UK I have discovered that the International Budget Hostel has tried to make a payment using my card details that I had used to book the hostel with. Luckily my bank spotted this and refused the payment, but it is a shame that there is fraudulent activity going on. Be careful guys! Had to cancel my card etc.
However, other than that issue there was a lovely friendly atmosphere in the smoking area and hostel. Fresh linen and good bunk beds (6 person room). Lockers, remember to bring your own padlock to lock things up. The doors of the hostel are quite loud and to you are frequently woken up by either late comers or early go-ers. Smoking room very friendly, sofa's and the fact there is a fridge and microwave available gives you flexibility. In terms of location it was a little further out of the centre than we initially thought.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

One of the worst hostels seen. The room was dirty and with the window broken. There was just one neon as light. The closet was completely unusable. The extern toilets were extremely small. The price is very high respect the services level. I asked a new place to sleep for my friend out of booking, the result is a mattress on the floor at full price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiusNero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Wil SG
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Its well located, there are many clubs nearby (Jimmy Wuu, Paradiso etc.) and many restaurant. However the toilets are not clean, the lockers (waredrob) was not safe, one of lockers was broken, we asked them to repair it and after 5 days they havent done it. The internet didnt work and it took them 2 days to repair it. But its cheap and the beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: Room nr. 5, the bed next to the window, nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZiFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Not terribly happy with our stay. The staff were really short with us, and were inflexible. They also didn't seem to care about the business as they'd often ignore people at the front counter in favor of their own cell phones. The bathrooms usually had dried vomit in them, but the beds were comfortable enough. It's in a safe location as well. We really just needed a place to sleep but we'll definately look elsewhere before staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HiLarry11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

It is a cheap hostel so don't expect much. As far as hostels go, this is a pretty nice one, just don't expect to shower. The shower was literaly three drops, and when another shower was in use it just stopped.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Absolute joke. Firstly we found a bag of what looked like cocaine under one of the beds,

Secondly we had to sleep next to wooden pillars that were infested with termites! Dont be fooled as to what they call "high security lockers"its a plank of wood with a bit of metal sticking out.

The showers were always cluttered with hair and pubes due to the hostel forcing us having to share 2 showers (in one cubicle by the way) between 10 people! never understood the point of the maids, they barged into our room and changed a teapot-sized empty bin every morning.

Dont bring suitcases! Also if you require wheelchair access you can give up any hopes of staying here as the stairs they have are completely vertical.

Enjoy the trek if you book this dump

peace x

Room Tip: Another hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amigo Budget Hostel
#178 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#38 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#169 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
#185 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Dutchies Hostel
#43 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Budget Hostel

Property: International Budget Hostel
Address: Leidsegracht 76 | Grachtengordel, 1016 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — International Budget Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your International Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Budget Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing