We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wilhelmina to your Saves list
Hotel Wilhelmina
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 326 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We realise it is a budget hotel but was still not impressed. It was dirty and was a tiny room. The wallpaper was falling off the wall. There was a paper bag over the smoke alarm (had they not cleaned it since someone tried to smoke in here?!). The ceiling had brown stains on it. The wet room was beyond awful. I have stayed in much cleaner and better hostels. The pictures are NOT reflective of the hotel. It is still a decent 15-20 minute walk from the Dam but the tram is useful and close. Would not recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SamanthaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rome
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Wilhelmina for 5 nights and were pleasantly surprised by how convenient the location was. Less than 100 meters from the line 2 tram, which runs from the hotel all the way to Central Station, is only 2 stops away from the Museum Quarter and a 5 minute walk to the beautiful Vondel Park. The neighbourhood was quiet with charming streets and apartments around the park and several eateries, a berk and a small market.

The breakfast, included in our fee, offered a generous selection of Dutch cheeses and salami, breads, boiled eggs, cereals, yogurt, spreads, coffee, tea and juice...a hearty start to a day of sightseeing.

The only minor complaint was the shower in the bathroom which did not have a door/wall around it leaving the bathroom floor completely soaked afterwards.

The hotel also does not have an elevator and the staircase leading to the floors above are quite narrow and steep. We were on the first floor so it wasn't a big deal.

I would stay at this hotel again and would also highly recommend it to travellers on a budget but who don't want to sacrifice the convenience of having a central location!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room it may be better to ask for a room that doesn't face the street or perh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CVKRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a pleasant area of the city, walking distance from the city centre and a tram stop.

On arrival the hotel seemed small and dark however once we had (literally) climbed some very steep stairs we reached our large, beautifully decorated bedroom leading onto a balcony.

The hotel provides breakfast in the mornings of meat, cheese, yoghurt etc as part of the deal and staff were on hand every day until 11pm and were very helpful.

Overall very happy with our stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Bike rental in the hotel. Bikes not very comfortable, but in good shape and just here.
Too expensive for that quality, but nothing really bad.
Cash deposit for the keycard is not fatal, but annoying.
WiFi access relatively complicated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darthpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hotel Wilhelmina would soon become my favorite place to stay in Amsterdam when I go for leisure or for business. Location is very convenient right next to tram station, 5 minute walking distance to the park for a nice early morning jog. All of the staff members have been friendly and helpful. They make sure that I feel comfortable and well taken care of every time I asked for information or help. The manager was super nice and I sleep well even though I often struggling with jetlag, as the hotel has comfortable beds. Overall a nice lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CareTaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Went to Amsterdam recently for a short holiday, stayed in spacious twin room with plenty of room for 3 nights at hotel Wilhelmina. Tasteful contemporary decor, personal choice but we loved it. We were on the top floor with access via steep stairs. There's no lift. Not an issue for us but ask for ground or first floor if it is. Breakfast is good value with a wide choice of food buffet style. The staff are friendly and very professional (including email enquiries being responded to very quickly). Very nice neighbourhood within walking distance of Vondelpark. Easy tram journey in and out of town (tram 2 from Centraal Station).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vipi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I chose this hotel based upon my budget. I was not disappointed. We stayed for 4 nights in April 2014.

The hotel is located in a very convenient area to see the sights of Amsterdam. The tram station is outside next to the hotel but walking would certainly be encouraged as a short walk is the Vondelpark.

The hotel itself is very nice and I enjoyed my stay. Most certainly a boutique feel to the place. There is no lounge area but the reception is good.

The service at this property was great. They are helpful and can help arrange with small things to make your stay more enjoyable.

On our return to Amsterdam we will stay at this hotel. The manager was definitely the difference compared to some of the other hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeteDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#229 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#142 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Not Hotel
#102 of 326 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#174 of 326 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 2 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone etc. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing