We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wilhelmina
Ranked #98 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Wilhelmina earlier this month. It is a budget hotel - good location - regular trams to Amsterdam Centre. Be prepared to carry your luggage up very steep narrow stair case - we were on third floor. Bedroom walls are very thin - breakfast ok but nothing special. Tinned fruit, not fresh. Shower/toilet floor gets very wet as it is 'level access' shower with nothing to contain the water in the shower area. No dry mat to stand on - easy to slip.

Room Tip: There were some rooms on the ground floor - possibly these may be noisier if guests come in late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanna186422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 257 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had prepaid for our stay via a tour company, so were surprised to be asked to pay 20euros (refundable) per room for 'key deposit', and 5euros per room per night 'room tax', before we could register. (Also, there is a sign indicating that 'left luggage' attracts a 3euro per item charge). A bad start, BUT - this hotel is located along the no. 2 tram route about 100m from a stop (buy a travel pass from the tourist information office near Central Station), and this passes Museumplein and the Royal Palace on its way to central Amsterdam. Close to Vondelpark. There are plenty of reasonable restaurants within 20 minutes walk, or in the museum area. So, apart from the bad start, this is a good location for visiting the major museums. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast acceptable.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a traditional Amsterdam town house, so the stairs are narrow and steep. If t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Although the people at the hotel were nice and friendly, the service was poor to non existent. i think any hostel has more service than this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel if you value hotel services.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gonçalo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Scott1308
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Was perfectly adequate for what we paid which was 80gbp for 2 nights for me and my girlfriend without breakfast as we prefer to eat out. The room was basic with a little flat screen tv on the wall which actually screened the united Leverkusen game in English as well as lots of other English channels. We only stayed here for 2 nights but the room was cleaned and the bed made on the middle day so I assume this is done daily. Overall good and me and my girlfriend walked from here into the town centre twice daily so it is not far away and is a much better option on a budget than the dirty places in the actual main city. Staff do not speak much but what they did say was polite and they gave us vouchers for free deserts with our meals at Hard Rock Cafe

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TomB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a pre-ordered, 50 % pre-paid group reservation. The hotel staff would not let us enter the rooms before we had paid the full amount up-front, and since there was a 6 % surcharge on any credit card payment, we had to pay in cash. (I wonder why...?). In addition, we had to pay a 20 EURO deposit for the card key. Also, the safe in the rooms had a deposit AND a 15 EURO charge.
Generally, the hotel seemed to be worn and lacked maintenance. Since we were in Amsterdam to run marathon, the traffic noise didn't ruin our sleep (at least not after the marathon). The breakfast was not so bad, but usually we have a better selection of foods at home.

My general impression is that this hotel should not call itself a hotel. It seemed to lack any aspiration to give good service. I suppose that they have had a lot of customers that didn't pay since everything had to be paid in advance, but really I think the hotel would be better off if standards were raised, so that satisfied customers would return.

I will not.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KnutVassbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. It was out of city centre but in an extremely nice area of Amsterdam and very easy to get into the centre on the No 2 Tram!
The hotel was clean and tidy and the rooms adequate. The stairs were extremely steep and there is no lift. We were in the front room and so heard the traffic outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, stairs very steep and hard to climb especially with suitcases!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Q-Factory Hotel
#117 of 338 in Amsterdam
28 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#27 of 338 in Amsterdam
776 reviews
Ozo Hotel
#83 of 338 in Amsterdam
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Not Hotel
#31 of 338 in Amsterdam
342 reviews
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#280 of 338 in Amsterdam
114 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#58 of 338 in Amsterdam
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $67 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 3 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone,Hair dryer,Tea / Coffee facilities. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. Plenty of Cafes and Restuarants nearby. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing