We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good low cost hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Wilhelmina
Ranked #120 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good low cost hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Was perfectly adequate for what we paid which was 80gbp for 2 nights for me and my girlfriend without breakfast as we prefer to eat out. The room was basic with a little flat screen tv on the wall which actually screened the united Leverkusen game in English as well as lots of other English channels. We only stayed here for 2 nights but the room was cleaned and the bed made on the middle day so I assume this is done daily. Overall good and me and my girlfriend walked from here into the town centre twice daily so it is not far away and is a much better option on a budget than the dirty places in the actual main city. Staff do not speak much but what they did say was polite and they gave us vouchers for free deserts with our meals at Hard Rock Cafe

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TomB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    63
    44
    15
    31
See reviews for
21
101
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bjerkreim
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a pre-ordered, 50 % pre-paid group reservation. The hotel staff would not let us enter the rooms before we had paid the full amount up-front, and since there was a 6 % surcharge on any credit card payment, we had to pay in cash. (I wonder why...?). In addition, we had to pay a 20 EURO deposit for the card key. Also, the safe in the rooms had a deposit AND a 15 EURO charge.
Generally, the hotel seemed to be worn and lacked maintenance. Since we were in Amsterdam to run marathon, the traffic noise didn't ruin our sleep (at least not after the marathon). The breakfast was not so bad, but usually we have a better selection of foods at home.

My general impression is that this hotel should not call itself a hotel. It seemed to lack any aspiration to give good service. I suppose that they have had a lot of customers that didn't pay since everything had to be paid in advance, but really I think the hotel would be better off if standards were raised, so that satisfied customers would return.

I will not.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnutVassbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. It was out of city centre but in an extremely nice area of Amsterdam and very easy to get into the centre on the No 2 Tram!
The hotel was clean and tidy and the rooms adequate. The stairs were extremely steep and there is no lift. We were in the front room and so heard the traffic outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, stairs very steep and hard to climb especially with suitcases!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Room was a decent size with very comfortable beds ( 2 singles pushed together as a double ). Very clean but could do with a lick of paint, as could the stairway. Modern refurbished bathroom with wet room shower. Our room faced the main road but no noise during the night.

Breakfast was fine - selection of cereals, fruit salad, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, various breads, juices, tea, coffee. Everything is self service. There is a toaster as well. There are only 4 or 6 seater tables so be prepared to sit with other guests.

Staff are very pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is 2 minute walk from a tram stop - line 2 from the centre and takes 10-15 mins. As for the immediate vicinity, there is a nice bar a minute's walk to the left as you exit the hotel with outside seating and a heated area. Also a very good tapas restaurant further down on the other side of the road ( we dined there twice ). If you carry on down the extra few metres to Amsteelenweg and turn right there is a small supermarket open till 9-10 pm and several bars/restaurants

This was our 3rd visit to Amsterdam and, although the furthest out of the centre we've stayed, this was by far the best value hotel we've stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dex63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is exactly what a decent 2 or even 3 star should be. Nothing fancy. Nothing flashy. It is clean and has just enough amenitites to be comfortable. The staff and manager are all very helpful and efficient. The breakfast was of a decent standard. This is not a 5 or 4 star hotel, but nor does it claim to be, infact it can get higher ratings. The room was perfect for us as it had 2 proper single beds. The shower was fine and as we had a newly refurbished room everything was fresh and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently visited Amsterdam again, one of my favourite cites and stayed in Hotel Wilhelmina. Must say was surprised with the lovely room that was allocated for us and the great service we received from the hotel manager. For the price we paid this was far beyond our expectation. Will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have seen many hotels, B§Bs and backpackers in the Netherlands. I must say that this one was one of the best. All the staff working there are very profesional and treat you with care. I asked lot of question to front desk about main places to visit in city and they help me a lot about that. They suggested me very economical way to visit and that really helped me. The rooms were small but clean and nice. The entire staff were very helpful. I think this is the one of the best hotel i have ever stayed. Very economical and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VK_RtW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#131 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#30 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#60 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Not Hotel
#40 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#253 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#161 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Property: Hotel Wilhelmina
Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 2 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone etc. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing