We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Wilhelmina
Ranked #110 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Room was a decent size with very comfortable beds ( 2 singles pushed together as a double ). Very clean but could do with a lick of paint, as could the stairway. Modern refurbished bathroom with wet room shower. Our room faced the main road but no noise during the night.

Breakfast was fine - selection of cereals, fruit salad, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, various breads, juices, tea, coffee. Everything is self service. There is a toaster as well. There are only 4 or 6 seater tables so be prepared to sit with other guests.

Staff are very pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is 2 minute walk from a tram stop - line 2 from the centre and takes 10-15 mins. As for the immediate vicinity, there is a nice bar a minute's walk to the left as you exit the hotel with outside seating and a heated area. Also a very good tapas restaurant further down on the other side of the road ( we dined there twice ). If you carry on down the extra few metres to Amsteelenweg and turn right there is a small supermarket open till 9-10 pm and several bars/restaurants

This was our 3rd visit to Amsterdam and, although the furthest out of the centre we've stayed, this was by far the best value hotel we've stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dex63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    64
    46
    15
    31
See reviews for
21
102
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is exactly what a decent 2 or even 3 star should be. Nothing fancy. Nothing flashy. It is clean and has just enough amenitites to be comfortable. The staff and manager are all very helpful and efficient. The breakfast was of a decent standard. This is not a 5 or 4 star hotel, but nor does it claim to be, infact it can get higher ratings. The room was perfect for us as it had 2 proper single beds. The shower was fine and as we had a newly refurbished room everything was fresh and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently visited Amsterdam again, one of my favourite cites and stayed in Hotel Wilhelmina. Must say was surprised with the lovely room that was allocated for us and the great service we received from the hotel manager. For the price we paid this was far beyond our expectation. Will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have seen many hotels, B§Bs and backpackers in the Netherlands. I must say that this one was one of the best. All the staff working there are very profesional and treat you with care. I asked lot of question to front desk about main places to visit in city and they help me a lot about that. They suggested me very economical way to visit and that really helped me. The rooms were small but clean and nice. The entire staff were very helpful. I think this is the one of the best hotel i have ever stayed. Very economical and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VK_RtW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel right on the number 2 tramline, running directly from Grand central train station. Very convenient. Far enough away from the night time hustle and bustle to sleep well, close enough to get into the Dam in about 5 minutes! Comfortable beds, simple breakfast ( more choice would be good) and very steep stairs, so not suitable for people who can't manage stairs well! Hotel on 3 floors, rooms nice and warm, bedding very clean, as are the bathrooms. Towels, hair dryer, room safe, tv all provided. Check in a little late (3pm), and check out at 11am. €20 key deposit, you get this back when you leave. To leave luggage there after check out whilst you hang around for light is €3 per bag, which is cheaper than the lockers at central station (€7.95). Just means going back out to the hotel to collect, but with such a convenient tram line, it doesn't matter. No time restraints on what times you come and go, you have a front door key. There's a drinks and snack machine in the entrance, so if you return thirsty or snacky, it's really convenient! Great hotel on a budget, I'd describe it more of an old fashioned B&B, but lovely staff, great location, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We would return to this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElaineWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Was very a happy apart from a couple of details.
The check in time is 3pm, after a 7am flight from the uk with very little sleep the night before, this was somewhat of an inconvinience. The same goes for the check out time (11am) I felt after a late night out partying in Amsterdam, 11am was far to early to have be out of the room (again had to wait 12 hours for my return flight after checking out.
Other than that I was very impressed by the condition of the room, and definetley was a lot better than I expected for the budget price of the room. Only downside was the bathroom is a wet room. And the drains appeared to be blocked. There forth turning the bathroom into a small lake. Which still hadnt completely drained at the time of checkout after showering the day before.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pezza89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Was expecting a budget hotel when visited with a friend in mid July. The hotel was easy to find, the staff were friendly and the location was brilliant (if you want to take a break from the centre). Just a 20 second walk from the Valerusplein tram stop. The best thing about the hotel was the beds, total comfort from as soon as you lie down!! The shower/wet room in our room was also very modern and practical, far nicer than the bathrooms i've been faced with in similar trips to Europe with friends!!

Would definitely stay here again,and recommend it highly to anyone visiting the city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lanadelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#128 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#32 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#62 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Not Hotel
#34 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
#87 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#258 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Property: Hotel Wilhelmina
Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 2 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone etc. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing