We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for young people on budget”
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wilhelmina
Ranked #98 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for young people on budget”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Overall our stay at the Aadam Wilhemina hotel was good. Arrived very early before our check in time and was allowed to store our bags at reception which was handy.Came back at 3 (quite a late check in time, didn't expect it to be that late) and were told out of our 2 twin rooms, one had been upgraded to a studio. Very good as a group of 4 - one couple and two best friends - we had a place to hang out rather than just on the beds.

I knew amsterdam houses were known to have narrow stairs, however my friends did not, and were very surprised to find out we had to carry heavy luggage up 3 flights of very narrow steep stairs. Also not very good when coming home after a night out of sampling Amsterdam's finest.

Rooms were reasonably sized, the studio obviously bigger than the normal twin room. Studio had a kitchenette and several sofas and chairs - very good. Bathrooms were good size, however shower was pretty appalling. Beds were comfy.

Good location, not very central, but 10 mins away from Leidseplein on tram. Didn't attempt walking it, so not sure how that would be - be prepared to pay 7.50 EUR for day ticket on tram.

Breakfast was good, normal European breakfast of cereal, meat, cheese, bread. Was nice, yet limited space to sit.

Overall was good value for money, was recommend as very quaint cute hotel, with friendly staff.

Room Tip: If larger group, get the studio as has a kitchenette and living space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    81
    55
    19
    33
See reviews for
26
129
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, California
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our recent trip was made good by staying at Wilhemina. This hotel was recommended by friends and they were all correct as this is worth the money we paid for an excellent time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed in the hotel recently with my wife & friends, was most relaxing as well as exciting, as the hotel is located near all that there is to do in Amsterdam. We all had a lot of fun, while experiencing great service & hospitality. Would recommend to stay there as the facilities & price had an excellent balance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The bed size is too small. In the reservation don't informe the additional 6%more for the credit card. Why the price in the reservation is difference of the bank debit in the credit card.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Somchai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Good clean budget hotel with friendly staff in a reasonable location depending on what you are wanting to visit - would use again. We were on the top floor and the stairs, as in a lot of hotels in Amsterdam, were pretty steep and plenty of them. No complaints though and happy with the stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Even though an older hotel, our room was quiet, clean and comfortable.
The tramstop was nearby (but not noisy) and going into the central city was easy. Staff were helpful and friendly.
The breakfast was well prepared and adequate. We would prefer stronger Italian style coffee rather than American stewed style. We had a cup of tea instead!
We enjoyed our stay, thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linjil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#27 of 336 in Amsterdam
752 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#55 of 336 in Amsterdam
499 reviews
Ozo Hotel
#75 of 336 in Amsterdam
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#70 of 336 in Amsterdam
399 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#34 of 336 in Amsterdam
324 reviews
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#270 of 336 in Amsterdam
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Property: Hotel Wilhelmina
Address: Koninginneweg 169 | Museum Quarter, 1075 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilhelmina is a pleasant and charming, Superior 3 Star Hotel. Most of our large comfortable rooms have Private Facilities - Shower & Toilet, Colour Cable TV, Direct Dial Telephone,Hair dryer,Tea / Coffee facilities. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance (12-15 minutes) of main Museums, Concert Hall & the Vondelpark and near the RAI Exhibition Centre, World Trade & Fashion Centre. Plenty of Cafes and Restuarants nearby. The efficient management, inspired by great hospitality, will do all to enhance the pleasure and comfort of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilhelmina Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing