We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel in Amsterdam with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Internationaal
Ranked #182 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Internationaal in mid-September, 2010.

Room size:
Small but big enough. The room contained a bed for two, a sink, a wardrobe, and a desk.

Cleanliness:
The room and bathroom were clean. Since smoking is allowed in the rooms there is a definite strong marijuana odor. The 2nd story room is nice since you can leave the windows open to air it out.

Bathroom:
Bedroom has a sink with mirror. The single shared toilet on our floor was in its own small wc. The shared shower is in its own room. The shower room has only one shower but is large enough for multiple people to fit if you want to save time ;-). The shower room is lockable so you basically are showering in a private room. Great water pressure and plenty of warm water.

Location:
This hotel is in a great location above a bar. It is maybe a 5-minute walk from the main train station (though it took us about 30-minutes because we got lost so pay attention!). The hotel is right on the edge of the red light district as shown by the red lights that pop up out of the ground right in front of the hotel at night. We did not take any public transportation while in Amsterdam. We walked everywhere (Anne Frank House, Van Gogh Museum, etc.) in roughly 30-minutes.

Miscellaneous:
Stairs up to the rooms are very steep, almost vertical. Since the hotel is above a bar, you check in with the bartender (who was very nice). Annoying alarm would beep in the hallway every time we would exit our room at night to use the bathroom but it would turn off after a few seconds. Free wifi. Not easy to find a spot to hang a clothesline in the room if you are doing laundry in the sink. Noise from the bar/street below was as we expected and not too bad.

Summary:
I recommend this hotel for budget-minded travelers who want a clean, conveniently-located place in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 274 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

The location is fantastic!
Low price, clean and deasant rooms.
Perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIfeIsTravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Internationaal in June this year - our first time in Amsterdam. This hotel is conveniently located as a base to explore all of Amsterdam's tourist sites - including the red light district. It is a very short walk from the train/bus terminal and easy to find.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming - helping us with tourist maps, etc.
Basic accommodation but secure enough - all you need in amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noplacelikehome05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I absolutely loved this hotel! The staff was amazing and so welcoming and helpful. The patrons of the bar were nice as well. One of them even helped us with our luggage up the infamously steep stairs. The location is perfect if you are arriving by train as it is barely a 10 minute walk away and you can easily make your way around by foot to see many of the museums, shop the nine streets and see the red light district since its right around the corner. If you dont want to grab a drink downstairs there are plenty of bars in the immediate area and a ton of places to eat as well.

The room was simple, clean and comfortable. It was a bit on the small side, but this is to be expected. We chose a room that shared a toilet and shower. Both were very clean as well. The room had no a/c, but again this isn't foreign for low budget European hotels. With the window open the temp was just fine. There is a computer downstairs in the bar with interent that is free to use. There is free wifi as well. You just have to ask for the password.

Yes, there is a lot of noise night and day, but you have to remember where you are staying. This is definitely a no frills hotel but it has a lot of character, the price was great and again, the staff was just fabulous.

I wouldnt recommend this hotel for families with young children or those who are looking for a peaceful getaway, but if you are on a budget and don't need all the extra amenities then I highly recommend coming here. I would come back to this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clearlyobscured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night before travelling to a music festival 200 miles south of Amsterdam. The location is excellent, right on the corner of the red light district so close to lots of bars & coffee shops and you're within walking distance of most attractions (apart from museum district). If you only want the hotel to get your hed down on a night then its fine but not great. We were in the attic room which was a decent size but a bit of a dump. I would expect to pay about £50 for a room like this so 80 Euros was a bit much, but that is quite cheap for Amsterdam i suppose. All in all, if you're not fussy about the hotel and you only want it to sleep & shower then this hotel is for you,it probably is value for money for Amsterdam standards but defintiely expensive for what it is

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

For a few days in Amsterdam this place is spot on. The bar is great and the staff are great - they also seem to make up a large part of the customer base when they are not working!
Rooms and stairs are typical of central Amsterdam - it is why you come to places like this - to experience the difference. Just enjoy it! Ensuite room had a quirky layout and was cleaned every day. Swipe card access to rooms and also swipe card access to accomodation via separate street door, if preferred. Security camera at base of magnificently precipitous staircase. With regard to other reviewers comments on the staircase - I have a screwed up leg and I coped with little difficulty (but lots of hilarity).
We were two couples in our late 40's/50's and this is our third trip to Amsterdam in the last 10 years. Without doubt, we would return here. Bars & restaurants on doorstep, boat trips/ canal bus/ trains, less than 5 minutes walk. We loved the place and it's lively, happy, atmosphere.
My wife used the provided ear plugs but the problem is not in-house. It is more to do with the acoustics of the narrow streets. I did not need them, nor did our friends.
If you are a bit precious, then there are things to whine about.
If you are a normal well adjusted traveller - you will smile and enjoy it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casagodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

The entire staff of hotel and pub were extremely helpful and friendly! Helped us sort out trams and find different locals. Above a pub and a main street in the red light so they include ear plugs with your room which is a great help! The rooms are clean but small and beds not the most comfortable, but if you are in Amsterdam to sleep then you are going to the wrong place!
The pub on the first floor was great! Very nice for meeting up with friends and for having a few drinks before heading out into the city. The orange juice was delicious :)
The location was the best we have stayed in Amsterdam and will be staying here every time we go back! Literally a 5 minute walk from central station. A coffee shop was around each corner, canals and shops surrounding it.
If you are in Amsterdam for a good time and want to stay in the heart of it all this is the place to book!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mysfyt066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#260 of 373 in Amsterdam
301 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#229 of 373 in Amsterdam
451 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#295 of 373 in Amsterdam
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#268 of 373 in Amsterdam
242 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#63 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,066 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#304 of 373 in Amsterdam
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Address: Warmoesstraat 1 /3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $69 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing