We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Basic but great value and superb location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Internationaal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Internationaal
Ranked #180 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Basic but great value and superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed here with my 18 year old daughter for 2 nights. Its location is great, about 4 mins walk from Central Station. It's on the outskirts of Red Light District but we liked the fact it was in a busy area with loads going on, plenty of bars, cafes, shops and places to eat nearby. The hotel itself is basic but clean, after all you get what you pay for. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Just be warned the stairs are very steep, as are many in older Amsterdam properties. I would certainly return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hjm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    88
    47
    10
    9
See reviews for
14
109
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed here with my two friends for two nights, first time in Amsterdam no problems, literally across the road from the train station. Basic room 3 single beds but clean and a bargain price, great location and staff were very friendly when we arrived at the bar. Stairs are really steep but if your careful you'll be fine, shared toilet was always clean and will definately be returning here again this year if possible! id definately recommend people to stay here :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatalieJCollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Close to central station, historical spots, red light district and coffee shops. Pub downstairs with great music, really friendly staff willing to answer any questions, very steep stairs: not great when you're carrying a 20kg case or have had a few.. Had a small double, smoking room which looked onto the busy street, but as a young couple it suited us. Only issue really was the communal shower and toilet, but for the price I'd say its good value for money. Really enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam, will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myholiday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and we were very happy with the room. Although it was quite small, everytime we have stayed in Amsterdam the rooms have been small, so we're used to that. They had a TV which had English channels which is always a plus, and we had a room with it's own shower. It's a smoking hotel so probably not ideal for people with children. Staff were friendly and offered to change towels everyday. There is a bar downstairs which we drank in a couple of times, the staff are lovely. The only problem I had was the noise early house of the morning which was the bins and recycling being sorted on the street. Obviously that's not the hotels fault but it did wake me up a couple of the mornings. On the other hand, you're so central that you just step out of the door and you have a selection of bars, restaurants, cafés, text at your finger tips. Personally I wouldn't really want to stay right in the centre again because of the noise of the garbage men however my husband would go back in a flash as he didn't wake up. Overall I would recommend for people that are there for a weekend and are heavy sleepers, if you are there for a week (as we were) then I would suggest to use a hotel slightly more out of the centre.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AGlastonburyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

NOT RECOMMEND !!!Not suitable for families with children.Hotel Interntionaal close to the Central Station, and Red Light District with full of bars, coffeshops and strip clubs.Very small rooms have got shared shower and toilet..Very dirty ,noisy,and very small doesn't offer facilities for the price paid!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickolay S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Internationaal, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Ele,
It was thousands of times described everywhere about the location of the hotel and about the noise on the streets, you did not tell anything new to the people who will read the review.
If you taking your children along with you, you should read very carefully about the place you taking your child. Red Light district with strip clubs and bars, drunk and stoned people on the street. What do you expect to find in the old street of Amsterdam? Our hotel was used as a sailors hostel and in 1980s was redesigned as a 1 star hotel.
If you travel with kids, there are plenty places to stay in Amsterdam. Artis Zoo area, Hortus Botanicus area, Amstelveen with beautiful forest (Amsterdamse Bos).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is my second visit to Amsterdam. First time I stayed in a 2 star hotel, nice and quite place but for our next trip we were looking for something very central and rich with night life place. Hotel Interntionaal I chooses because of close location to the Central Station, price and Red Light District with full of bars, coffeshops and strip clubs. On arrival we get surprised that bar and reception is the same place, but for us it was more advantage than disadvantage, while bartender checked us in, we ordered coffee.
Room that we got has shared shower and toilet, but shared facilities were located on the same floor, just next door. All in all, hotel right place to stay for couples who will not spend much time in the room watching TV and going out only for launch. For this kind of activity hotel not good enough. We needed a too just to keep our luggage and drop our tired bodies after a long and adventures day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeninTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location is awesome, right in the middle of the city, a couple minutes walk from the red light district, and the trains, and anything else you want to check out. Museums are within walking distance too if you like walking (about 20-30 minutes). The room was small but clean, but the beds were very comfortable, and the room has everything we needed. It is pretty loud out on the street, but it's not bad (I don't mind noise though). They also give you ear plugs. I would recommend this hotel for sure, it is a great price especially for the good location. Also the first floor of the hotel is a pub, which has a super good atmosphere. Stay here if you want to be right in the middle of everything with easy accessibility to all the main attractions in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#230 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#244 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#234 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#307 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internationaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internationaal

Property: Hotel Internationaal
Address: Warmoesstraat 1 /3 | Old Side: Red Light District, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Internationaal 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Internationaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internationaal Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing