We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, friendly staff, funky rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bulldog Hotel
Ranked #14 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, funky rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed in on of the private rooms, 2 bed, view onto the neighboring property. The themed room was great, race checkers and deep red everywhere, it was clean, tidy and comfortable, and very inviting. As for the rest of the hotel, staff were friendly enough when I dealt with them, the lounge bar downstairs is a great meeting spot, plenty of lone travelers, and groups mind, ready to meet new people, and of course, plenty or joints getting smoked in the process. Happy hour makes Heineken pints only €3, first place I've visited where happy hour is actually only one hour long, but hey, I'm not complaining. The smoking on the bar/cafés thing isn't overwhelming. I don't smoke weed, and it didn't worry me being there.

Location wise it's great. Centre of red light district. We flew into Schipol airport, caught the train to town, and walked 5 minutes to the hotel, couldn't be any easier! We got a little lost initially, all the canals and buildings look so similar, but with a map, we were experts. Walked everywhere in the 2 full days we had, but would recommend renting a bike or catching trams once you've got your bearings, would be much faster.

Most people come to Amsterdam for a couple of things, smoke weed, shag a lady of the night or simply just experience what has to be one of the most relaxed cities I ever visited.

I'll definitely be back to Amsterdam, and I'll definitely be back to the Bulldog.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom-Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    325
    121
    36
    23
See reviews for
13
139
140
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Great location (right in the heart of the red light district). Staff are really nice and helpful. Wifi is FREE everywhere inside! Thought I was staying in a 12 bed dorm, but ended up in an 8 bed dorm-great! Lockers were narrow (typical) and only fit skinny locks (sold at front desk if yours doesn't fit). Bathrooms cleaned everyday. I left my bag in the luggage room on check out day for free. Free breakfast is simple but good for saving money, don't suggest eating the burger for dinner though. Happy hour 8-9 pm is 2 euro pints of Heineken! Bar was a great place to hang out in!

Room Tip: Stayed in a 8 person dorm-it was typical hostel, no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Stayed overnight. It was a 9 bed mixed dorm. It is walkable from the central station. However you can still take a tram to dam square and then its a 2 minute walk. Front desk people were friendly. The rooms were ok. Bathrooms were a bit smelly. It is also located on the edge of the nightlife area. The breakfast was very good with a decent amount of variety. Bread, eggs, juice, coffee., fruits. Considering the location, nightlife and price, i would definitely recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank technotryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I've stayed at the Bulldog Hostel for a few years now and I thought the staff were a lot more friendly on this visit. The lounge area is a great place to hangout in between other activities. The breakfast is fairly simple but there is plenty of bread, ham, cheese, yoghurt, orange juice and coffee.
I think when you add everything together it's good value for money and you can't really ask for more than that.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our first night we stayed in a 12 person dorm. It was terrible. The room was smelly assuming it was the people who were in our room. The toilet room was so smelly and the shower room smelt like someone had been peeing in there. The next three nights we ended up staying in one of the apartments (E) which is a bit pricey but totally worth the money! We loved the apartment. Everything you need only downfall is that you have to walk up three sets of really steep stairs which was okay for us because we only had backpacks. If we come back to Amsterdam we will totally be staying here again!! Thanks to the amazing Bulldog staff for accommodating us last minute with the apartment!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Public Relations Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Hello,

Really happy to hear that you enjoyed the apartment. Less happy to hear about your experience in the dorm. We always recommend that guests let us know if anything is not acceptable in their dorm , we would be happy to do our best and arrange an alternate room if you are not comfortable.

Still, we are really glad that your trip turned out great! We hope to see you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Only my first time coming to Amsterdam but omg I am in love the hotel was amazing very well located staff we're incredible and very helpful and I know for sure that when I return this will be my number one choice!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johannah1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The staff at the Bulldog Hotel were very understanding and positive in our e-mail correspondence which I appreciated greatly. The customer service was hugely appreciated and I would love to visit Amsterdam again and stay with them.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Property: The Bulldog Hotel
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing