We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bulldog Hotel
Ranked #14 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The staff at the Bulldog Hotel were very understanding and positive in our e-mail correspondence which I appreciated greatly. The customer service was hugely appreciated and I would love to visit Amsterdam again and stay with them.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    350
    136
    39
    25
See reviews for
15
151
151
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

the bulldog is my home from home,location is fantastic,(in the heart of the city) staff are fantastic (friendly and helpful) lounge bar open until the early hours and clean basic rooms with lovely breakfast included.why would I stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Been here many time over the past ten years and would never go anywhere else. Its perfectly located, clean comfortable and so cool! I love how everyone is so happy and friendly here and the bar/cafe area is 24-hr place to chill out and chat to randoms. This place has touched my heart.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helz1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We've stayed with the Bulldog for 3 nights this beginning of August and we were very happy with the choice. The Hostel provides shared bedrooms, private bedrooms and apartments. We've stayed in the private bedrooms with private bathroom. The room was very clean and spacious. The Bulldog is located in the heart of Old City near Dam Square and straight in the middle of the Red District. The location makes it easier to get to any of the landmarks, visit museums, have easy access (not more than 10 minutes walk) to the Train Station (which has a direct connecting train to the Airport), take cruises on the canals, chill on the canals side, shop (the main shopping street is 3 streets away), wander around to the city's coffee shops. The Bulldog has also a spacious restaurant at the ground floor where those interested can smoke or chill out; breakfast is served for free every morning. There is also a terrace on the rooftop. Personnel of the hostel was very useful. The hostel seemed like a very secure location with special cards for having access inside and security at the entrance 24 hours. Places to eat are 2 minutes away from The Bulldog and they are of a wide variety. This Hostel was truly an inspiration and would be our first choice for staying in Amsterdam. The prices are not as cheap as other Hostels but definitely cheaper than hotels and the atmosphere at the Bulldog is all worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrinaBanicaBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments. We are really happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay. See you again soon! (we hope)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hostel in the heart of Amsterdam. Myself and seven friends stayed here and we all found it very comfortable. Great facilities. Wifi very fast. Friendly staff. Bit expensive but I had no complaints about this place so no problem. Free breakfast which is always good although it was a bit basic. Overall a fantastic place to stay in Amsterdam it and I would reccomended it to people looking for a good, solid hostel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gushbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks for the review. Finally , someone noticing the new wi-fi system we've installed this year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great Staff, Clean and Safe Place, Fun & Young People, Cool Bar. The Bulldog is Very Cool, Have a awesome bar, and is in the 9straat where everything happens... 15. walking from everything downtown...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jairobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in a private room and travelled as 2 couples.

The hostel is in a fantastic location, right on the red light district.

We paid a bit extra for a room overlooking the canal and it didn't disappoint.

Great size, great bathroom, comfy bed, great breakfast, great common area and bar.

If you want to be in the thick of the action, with friendly and helpful staff and great rooms, then stay here. We heard great things about it prior to coming and it certainly lived up to the hype. Great value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor, which was quiet. The private room overlooking the canal is great val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuzzyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Living up to the variety of guest expectations is one of our most difficult tasks. I couldnt be happier that we met yours. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 227 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Property: The Bulldog Hotel
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing