We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bulldog Hotel
Ranked #13 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Hostel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Best Hostel in Amsterdam! Not too expensive, very clean and centrally located.

We were able to stop in to our room multiple times per day to rest or wash up because we seemed to pass it in between each and every excursion. Rooms are small but modern and clean. very safe and you don't have to share a bathroom!

We will rebook next time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickIPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    342
    131
    39
    24
See reviews for
15
150
149
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great place to meet people. Amazing and friendly staff. They answer all the questions you have. Decently priced and very clean. Great common area as well. I stayed in a multiple bed room and a private room as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgePKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We hired one of the Bulldogs appartments for my stag do last week, There were 5 of us staying in a 4 bed apartment (2 beds, sofa bed and day chair) so the staff kindly provided an extra mattress.

If you are looking for a central location that is clean and safe (doors are guarded) then look no further, the room we had was spacious with windows overlooking the canal and proved a great spot to people watch. There was a kettle, coffee maker, fridge and microwave although we didnt really use these.

Breakfast was functional, as you would expect and the staff in the hotel were friendly.

In short, If you are planning a romantic weekend with your partner, this probably isnt the place for you, however if you are after somewhere to lay your head that is clean, central, safe and very reasonably priced, look no further, I for one will be back.

Room Tip: The room we had was at the front of the hotel, a little noisy but great for people watching, smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great location. Fairly clean. Really nice bar staff. We had a complaint about work men starting working on the hotel at seven in the morning. Manager said she would have a word but nothing changed. One door person/receptionist was as rude as sin and if she had been in my hotel would have been down the road a long time ago. Don't ask for an English breakfast at breakfast time because it's only continental. They will not cook an full English until 11am onwards. All in all we won't be coming back here sadly. Nice bar staff though so they do do something the right way.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkdjdudiwhejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in a twelve bed dorm which was clean, comfortable and save. We absolutely love it to stay in your hotel. Overall the hotel had a nice vibe to it, specially with the bar where you can smoke ( marihuana ) and have a beer till way after midnight. after four things become more complicated however for those that like to make it late.

Staff in general is very friendly and inviting but the receptionist was at night can be grumpy to say at least. Changing money for the machines and get some information was impossible because one of them was sleeping in the bar and your other receptionist could not change. The second night we wanted to use the toilet in the bar and we found it very strange to see your receptionist ( Spaniard ) sleeping there again. A minor inconvenience.
This hotel is truly worth to visit.

Your faithfully,

Laura weichselbaum
,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here and found the location of the hotel to be very good, the staff very friendly and welcoming , The private room was of a good size and standard and had all mod cons, The food in the lounge was very good, the beer was also very good.

I would recommend this hotel and will be back in June ;-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

i was so nervous about going to stay in a hostel, however it was not bad atall. The coffee shop below was great could always get a seat to just chill out. The rooms were ok, beds were clean, bathrooms clean, plenty of space for all of us. The hostel was in a really good position as everything is on the doorstep. staff were helpful and friendly. Didnt really rate breakfast but that was ok as plenty of places nearby. will defo be going back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#14 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Property: The Bulldog Hotel
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing