We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bulldog Hotel
Ranked #14 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, as we got there we were quite rudely greeted by the lady on reception which wasn't a good first impression, we stayed in the 12 man dorm which was a bit cramped but it was clean and the showers were good, the place didn't have the same family feel as other hostels we stayed in and there weren't many other travellers staying there but the location was great, walking distance from the train station and about a 2 minute walk to Dam Square.

Helpful?
Thank bigry13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    358
    142
    41
    25
See reviews for
15
162
153
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

- Clean, simple. A great in-and-out accommodation you can rely on, if you're expecting it to be a place with beds and a shower.
- Helpful receptionist on our first day, whose name I can't recall. On the second day, there was a guy at the counter, who when asked "Where's a good place to eat around here?", answered "There isn't really any". Perplexing, when you work with tourists daily.
- Situated in the red light district, which at night has a cheery,agreeable atmosphere at night. Windows tightly sealed so none of the noise bothered us.
- Next to a canal, spent some time walking around and getting lost in this scenic place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Me and 4 of my friends have recently just come back from Amsterdam and it was absolutely amazing! We rented an apartment from The Bulldog Hotel for the 5 of us. It was honestly the best accommodation we could've asked for! Slap bang in the middle of everything, about a 5 minute walk to the red light district and about 10 minutes to Dam Square, TOP NOTCH. The apartment was right above The Bulldog's Cafe and looked onto the busy street and a beautiful canal. Probably the best part about the apartment was the large window that you could enjoy the view from. The room was spacious, we had 3 beds in the bedroom with plenty of space and a sofa-bed meant for 2... however you could easily fit atleast about 4 in there. The only downside to the apartment would be the toilet. There is a bathroom, with a sink, shower ect, yet no toilet. The toilet was in a tiny tiny room with just a toilet and a minute sink in. Little bit cramped. Also - the stairs up to the apartment were pretty hefty, luckily we only had to go up one flight but that was enough... especially for getting in half drunken at 6am. the staff were lovely, just like the rest of the people in Amsterdam! Would recommend this accommodation 100%! Thankyou for having us, WE WILL BE RETURNING SOON!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YasTruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed in an 8 bed dorm with some friends. Room was fine, beds were relatively comfortable and the rooms were clean enough, although not that great. Staff in the reception seemed to be rather cold and not very friendly. The bar downstairs was quite expensive but okay for a drink. If you are going to Amsterdam to visit the sights, rather than tour the coffee shops then this is not a place for you. Area around the hostel is the Red Light District and there are a couple of bars here, although we found nicer ones in Newmarket. All in all the hostel was fine for a couple of nights sleep, and depending on what you look for in a hostel may well be considered quite good, but I will not be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redoake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A few friends and i stayed for a couple of days in Amsterdam. We checked into the Winston on recomondations from others. It was nice and basically what we needed. Stupidly we missed our flights back home, so where stuck for a hostel to stay in. As we used the bull dog's bar during the day we thought on the off chance that they could have a room for the four of us. Fortuantly they did and where so helpful and pleasant. We checked inn and was taken back on how different it was to the previous hostel. It was nice not having bunk bed and a view of the cannal, a safe, free wifi and a place to hang your clothes. Wish we had booked here in the first place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Its a great place. Stayed in a dorm with my partner. Very clean and have a good locker system. Clean bathrooms and toilets. Good quality buffet breakfast. Centrally located and have the vibe the city has to offer. Loved the stay and will surely visit and stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avishek-Mohanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vina del Mar, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

was the worst place i ever stayed, some guys tried to make a move on my cousin and the reception was more eager to help them than us. Nos a safe place to stay for a female or a couple, be carefulthe recpection will only help groups of people

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JChirio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with us. However, you did not bring this issue to the attention of our management while you were here as we would have been happy to address this situation for you and find a solution. To suggest that our reception cares only for groups is not only inaccurate but completely untrue and unfair.

The majority of our customers are single or dual travelers and if we were unsafe or did not take our security seriously, this would be reflected in our reviews from others as well. We encourage all of our guests to bring forth any issues they may have so we can help them have a great time in Amsterdam!

Please fell free to contact us at info@bulldgohotel.com if you would like to discuss the matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 367 in Amsterdam
576 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Property: The Bulldog Hotel
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing