We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to meet people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bulldog Hotel
Ranked #14 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to meet people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Located in the red light district, The Bulldog is a classic hostel in Amsterdam. Don't expect too much on the rooms. I stayed in a private room with bathroom. Just use it to take a bath and sleep. Anyway, you don't stay at The Bulldog for its rooms, but for the bar downstairs and the Coffee Shop with the same name next door. The bar is really good to smoke a joint, have a beer and talk to people from all over the world. The location of The Bulldog is perfect, although Amsterdam is a very small city and it might not be that important.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BdbTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    350
    136
    39
    25
See reviews for
15
151
151
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a great stay at the bulldog hotel. Had a deluxe private room which was ideal, very clean toilet/bathroom, beds were comfy, what more do you want in amsterdam and the bar was very good, the location excellent for red light and dam square and plenty of shopping nearby. We are a couple around 40 and although we were probably the oldest staying had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leon9648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimbulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. Glad to hear you had a great time. We try to make sure people enjoy their stay regardless of age!

Hopefully another trip to Amsterdam is right around the corner! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piracicaba, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and I can say it was a perfect stay. The rooms were clean and we felt safe. The bar downstairs is really good! The staff was ok, most of them are nice. If you are looking for a place with a good location, young people... Then go for it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PauloM716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

First and foremost you cannot get a better location than The Bulldog, right slap bang in the heart of the Amsterdam action. We arrived on a very early flight from London and when we got there our apartment wasn't ready, however the 2 very helpful ladies checked us in and took our bags and away we went on our travels.

When we eventually got to our room/apartment I have to say I was more than pleasantly surprised.....it was spacious, clean and with all the amenities we needed. The apartment itself had a large lounge area, tv and couches if you wanted to chill and more so a view to die for looking over the canals and the heart of the local festivities.

Our room also consisted of 2 bathrooms, 1 of which had a shower and more than enough space for 4 lads to preen themselves for a night out. We stayed in the most expensive room on offer and I would say if your budget can stretch that far then do book the apartment. We had another group of friends who stayed in a room for 2 and apparently you couldn't swing a cat in it.

All in all though a great stay, well looked after and for a long weekend an accommodation that did what it said on the tin and perfect heart of the action location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillOneill_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimbulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We really happy to hear you had a great time, hopefully all that "preening" paid off ;).

Thanks for the review and hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Ps:
We asked our house cat if we could put your theory to the test.... the cat just stared and had obviously decided that this was a poor choice for assessing the size of a room and declined to be invloved I think she was just worried about setting a cat swinging precedent at the hotel :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have just got back from spending 3 days and 3 nights in Amsterdam where i had the pleasure of staying at the Bulldog. I have given it a 4 rating because i believe for the money you pay it is amazing value and it makes no secret of what it is. We arrived at 9 am and were informed that we could not check in till 3pm. This was however not a problem as we went to Stones and the Irish bar next door to Stones and had an afternoon on the Beer. In the mean time our cases were kept in a secure room back at The Bulldog

When we retunred at 3PM we were instructed to go the the 3rd building (the Bulldog is divided in to 3 buildings all about 2 mins walk apart). The ladies who checked is were very helpfull. Apologies though as I cannot remember their names. When we arrived at our room all I can say is that we were amazed by what we found. There was four of us in a room and I was expecting 1 bedroom with 4 beds and a bathroom. Instead we found out that we had been given our own apartment. The flat consisted of 1 very large bedroom, living room, Kitchen and 2 bathrooms. Everything was very clean but please be aware that they do not change sheets or provide towels or anything like that. This did not bother us though

Away from the bulldog some bars I recommend are Stones, The irish bar next door to Stones, Cafe Remember and Players. Also more or less opposite Players is a small bar/club that do fish bowls but in a bucket. I dont know what this place was called but i can only descibe it as amazing and weird both at the same time. I also highly recommend Escape nightclub. We went there on the friday to a night called houserockers and it was the best club night I have had

All in all the Bulldog is a great Hostel/Hotel which does exactly what it says on the tin and Amsterdam in general is quite frankly my favourite place in the world

Room Tip: If you have a large group of you then you will get you own apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLeckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimbulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We very glad to hear that you enjoyed our apartments, they really are a great way to stay when youre in Amsterdam. We would have been happy to get fresh sheets and towels for you anytime, just let us know and we would have fixed it right up for you :)

Some great tips on the neighborhood for our future guests too, hopefully they take your advice!!

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

A fitting end to an epic trip, this hostel/hotel was great. We were greeted on arrival by a very friendly and helpful receptionist who checked us in immediately(we arrived at 11am under the impression we could not check in till 2pm).
The room was nice and clean, we stayed in a shared room with roughly 14 beds. The shower and toilet was seperate which was handy. We were provided with lockers but you had to pay a deposit for the padlock. Our fellow room mates were very friendly after a little encouragement to chat but surprisingly were not smokers, this being a coffeeshop hotel. This was by no means any problem for anyone, the rules were made clear on arrival; no smoking in the rooms and respect fellow guests, which is fair enough. You are given a "passport" which allows you entry to the hotel and bar. I lost mine but the staff did not make an issue of it at all and promptly gave me a new one. The staff were always friendly and willing to help.

We came here with the intention of nursing our week long hangovers with a few smokes and it did not let us down(come on, it's Amsterdam!).
The highlight of the hostel/hotel was the lounge bar downstairs, which was open until 4am. Here you could buy food and beer at very reasonable prices for Amsterdam, sit and chat with friends whilst enjoying a few smokes and zone out to the constant sports on the big screens and pumping music. There was also a pool table which me and my friends spent quite a few euros in.
Breakfast is provided for free here and while not exactly adventurous, it certainly set you up for the day. It was set up like a buffet with ham, cheese, bread and rolls, soya yogurt and cereal. Tea, coffee, water and ice cold orange juice was also available.

The location was great too, right at the start of the Red Light District, but also meant that we were surrounded by "tourist traps", not a problem for people who have been here before.

One thing i liked about this hostel is it is open to everyone from all walks of life; from "stoners" to couples to sightseers. I recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damagerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've been to Amsterdam numerous times but had not yet stayed at the bulldog and was initially apprehensive as I didn't like their cafe the times I had visited it. I was however, pleasantly surprised with The Bulldog.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and feel very secure. The style of the hotel is really nice considering the low prices and I would happily pay to stay there again.

The hotel staff seemed easily irritated and were not happy with our group of friends making noise in the bar on the Thursday.

The cleaner was also easily irritated and we heard him muttering '[--] this [--]' when he came to our room.
Having said that, the room was cleaned every day, and towels were available at request.

The bar downstairs was reasonably priced. Standard lunch type meals were available from the bar and cost around 7 euros on average, but there was a lot of food for that price.
Breakfast is included in the price of your stay, but I unfortunately slept through both breakfasts.

The location of the bulldog is excellent for those wanting to visit the red light district and see the main sights of Amsterdam.

All in all, I would give The Bull dog a 7/10 and I will definitely be looking at staying at there on my next trip in April.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJRECA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 227 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Property: The Bulldog Hotel
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing