We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for cheap budget trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bulldog Hotel
Ranked #12 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ok for cheap budget trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Im used to staying in nice hotels, wasnt expecting much of this place but the hotel itself is not overley great. The rooms are very basic, clean but basic, I would question the decor though!
Reception staff are ok, bar staff are nice and pleasant. The food is good value for money compared to other places in Amsterdam. Good location.
Overall if you want a cheap place just to put your head down its fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jess768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    331
    126
    37
    24
See reviews for
14
144
144
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for the 8th year. Nice and clean, nice bar, close to everything. Not a cheap option anymore. Wacky staff and wacky stuff everywhere. Backbackers from all over the world oming and going but don't be intimidated, it's all one big family here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

its not great but its far better than some places ive stayed in.
its close to everything which helps and near the famous bull dog cafe . whoop
had a great nights sleep. Full on drink and other stuff.
visit amsterdam it rocks

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I found the staff here to be the most rude and unhelpful that I have ever encountered. Maybe, due the location in the red light district, they have to put up with some troublesome guests but there is absolutely no justification for treating all customers in the the sneering, condescending manner in which they do.
I've stayed in hostels all over the world and felt at home in the most basic of accommodations but the attitude of the staff here was the worst I have ever encountered.
To add insult to injury, we were charged an additional 25 euro per person on top of the price agreed at the time of booking as we were told that the room we had stayed in was larger than the one we had originally booked. Admittedly, there were a couple of spare beds put it was not our request to be put in this room, it was merely what we were given. Since they had held onto our passports, we were in no position to argue. To say that i felt conned would be a massive understatement. This was nothing short of the type of scam that you might expect in some far flung third world country and seriously dented my image of Amsterdam as a friendly city.
And to top it all, I ended up coming home with bites all over my body. I looked like a version of the elephant man. I t took me a few days after I got home before I put two and two together and came to the conclusion - that dump had BED BUGS!!!!!
Having stayed in this hostel, I was absolutely livid at how I was treated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Micheal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimbulldog, Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
I am are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience. However, I would like to clear a few things. Firstly, Our staff work very hard to treat all of our guests with kindness and respect. I apologize if you feel you were not treated properly. Secondly, The Bulldog Hotel always honours our booking confirmations. The price confirmed to you is the amount charged at arrival. You would only be charged more if you arrived with additional people.Thirdly, We ask for a photo Id as a key deposit for those that wish to have a key, you are not required to leave your passport with us, in fact we prefer you hang on to your passport! Finally, while it does not happen very often, we take accusations of bed bugs very seriously and these reports are investigated immediately by professionals and the reported room is closed off to guests.
I would be happy to discuss these matters with you and try to bring some resolution to your poor experience. Certainly this is not in keeping with our standards or with the experience our guests have at our Hostel. I urge you contact us at info@bulldoghotel.com with the details of your stay and we will be happy to address the issues you had with our hostel and do our best to make it right for you.

Regards,

Robert Jones
Reception Manager
Bulldog Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a group of 7 that were meeting up in Amsterdam. 5 of us stayed in an apartment and 2 of us stayed in door rooms. The apartments were the perfect size and all 7 of us were able to chill in there. We had a whole floor of windows that opened to the canal below. You won't find a better location to hang out and people watch in all of Amsterdam.
The only thing I would point out is that this is a pot friendly hostel so if that bothers you, do not stay here. It is allowed in most of the hostel and is impossible to escape.

Room Tip: Get an apartment if you have 4-5 people. It might be a little more expensive, but is a great experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
117 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My experience was second to none, the best staff I have never met, I was so tired for my long trip and they help me with my room, they let me check in 2 hrs in advance. The room w so clean, hotel ambience was incredible, loung bar until 3am, the breakfast included was nice, coffee shop just getting out and the location is just great, seriously you can as more. They are always ready to help you with addresses and tips.
This hotel is absolutely recommended, thanks again for the best weekend ever!!!

No tengo palabras para agradecer a este hotel por el trato recibido, mil y un gracias, espero volver pronto.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaliching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The hostel's location is excellent and I would likely stay here again. I liked that there was a restaurant bar downstairs where I could order a selection of food and beverages. The hostel was extremely clean and came with storage lockers for each guest in the bedrooms. Having a toilet, sink and shower for each bedroom was a great upside, however I did not like that the sinks do not come with handsoap for washing your hands after using the toilet.

One of the mornings I had the front desk crew come up to the bedroom and shake me awake at a very early hour, thinking that I needed to check out that day. I really didn't appreciate being abruptly awoken like that. A friend in another room also had this happen that same morning. When I advised the staff member that I wasn't checking out that day, he shrugged and left the room.

I found the hostel to be quite dark and had quite a bit of trouble meeting people.

Otherwise, I would consider staying at The Bulldog again on my next visit. I will be looking at my options.

Room Tip: Any room, but bring your own handsoap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 221 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Property: The Bulldog Hotel
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing