We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a real 5 Stars Hostel!!!”
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bulldog Hotel
Ranked #11 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2011

It's a real 5 Stars Hostel!!! I stayed at the Appartment on the Top! It was awesome!!! It has around 100s.mts and a great view. It is full equippated, quiet and beautty! with comfortable beds, separate bathrooms, tv, kitchen, all you need to enjoy the Lovely City of Amsterdam! and the most Important the best Cofee Shop downstairs!!!

Me gustó: Food, Service, Atmosphere, Value

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabryTzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
There are newer reviews for The Bulldog Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2011

Decent rooms, nice people working the front desk, great location, and an overall cool atmosphere. More of a place to crash than to hang out since the bar is a bit too dark and eerie. The rooms are enough since, in Amsterdam, you spend most of your time out of your room anyway. The staff are especially nice though - I asked them a question they weren't sure how to answer, and wouldn't rest until they asked the day manager and even called the night manager to figure it out. Very nice! Haven't stayed anywhere else in Amsterdam though.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

It's quite dirty and old, but it's convenient to the red light district and coffee shops are everywhere. I don't think I'd come back and stay here...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gelalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

well just come back from staying at the bulldog would definately stay here again the bulldog consists of the hotel/coffee shop and bar all close together the appartment we stayed in was lovely for the price and to stay there it was above a bar we slept like babies close to everything damn square round the corner in the heart of the red light district friendly atmpsphere if your wondering where to stay then defo choose the bulldog

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire-15-xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Best hostel, or hotel going around! Clean, convinient, and chilled. Do not stay anywhere but here in Amsterdam. So close to all the action, you could stay in Amsterdam and never leave the hostel, it's perfect!!!
A little pricey, but Amsterdam accom is pricey anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisDennis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My wife and I have been going to Amsterdam 2 or 3 times a year for the 9 years and we have always stayed at the Bulldog Hotel. Last time we went was first week last June 2011, and I am going again for 4 days first week of October with a friend this time. The thought of searching for another hotel did not even cross my mind. The first time we went there in 2003 we immediately fell in love with the place and the city. Everything about it is great: the location, the size,the design, the cleanliness, the staff, the Pub (which is open 24-7 for those who stay at the hotel), the ambiance (very relaxe, friendly and safe place to party), the security, the food (they recently changed their menu, looking foward to try their new Poutine!!), the terasse on the rooftop, the free wi-fi throughout the hotel, the big cat in the lobby, and the best, the rooms! We have tried all the rooms, and our favorites (which we ask everytime) is the room 402. It is big, nice bath, and has an awesome view on the canal. Has a small fridge and a TV. The room next to it, 401, is similar but has two beds instead of one king size like the 402. In two weeks I booked the 401 because am going with a friend this time. The staff are great and are very helpful. When I go to Bulldog Hotel I feel am going home. Thank you for everything so far, will see you in a few weeks, again!

Room Tip: If you are a couple, choose room 402, the best, with a great view on the canal
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank YannLavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My friends and I went for four nights and were slightly dubious of the apparently higher price we paid for a room for three than other people; that said, by the end of the trip we decided it was well worth it. Yes the staff may appear slightly standoffish they are not rude and get their job done, quite frankly you don't spend too much time with them so it isn't that big of a deal! The best part is the lounge which suits smokers and drinkers as you can do both: a luxury that is relatively hard to come across. Whilst technically this lounge/bar is for guests only, we and other friends from different hostels ended up there due to it's late hours (went till around 5 in the morning), pool table and happy hour of €2 pints! (which if you get 10 of you get a t shirt). The room was fine and comfortable but as others have said, did have awful drainage - oh well!! All in all the bulldog franchise has been successfully transformed into a great experience ina superb location!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borntoski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,120 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#68 of 371 in Amsterdam
650 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,610 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $42 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. Choose to stay in a dorm, private room or in our cool private suite whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing