We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find in an offbeat location”
Review of Reuring

Reuring
Reserve with
Reuring is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #665 of 3,905 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: European, French, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: De Pijp
McLean VA
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A real find in an offbeat location”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

By outside appearances, this small restaurant wouldn't seem like much. It's in the middle of a working class neighborhood and has plastic chairs. But we went here because it got a rave write-up in Travel & Leisure magazine as one of the hot places in Amsterdam. And it certainly lived up to its billing.

It's actually hard to describe the food because it was so unusual and unique. There is a limited menu--just three entrees, for instance: meat, fish and vegetarian. But it was spectacular. The gnocci was kneaded with ricotta cheese, so it wasn't really ordinary pasta at all. The creme of fennel also had unexpected flavors.

The prices were very reasonable. We went with Dutch friends, and they were quite excited to have discovered this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geldolphMcLeanVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and delicious”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the restaurant but have been warmly welcomed. A good bottle of italian wine with bread and oliva oil to wait for a table: good start. Then the boss explained us the menu in English. We decided for delicious maki style marinated salmon and follow with one of the best beef I enjoyed in a restaurant. Service is done with the smile. We recommend this place without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lake Forest, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local hidden treasure”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We went to Reuring because of its proximity to our houseboat on the Amstel. We were seated right away, and the place filled in with locals. The host spoke the menu as he could tell we spoke no Dutch. I had the roast pork, wife the ribeye. Roast fresh veggies accompanied. Truly a gourmet experience, at local prices. Presentation was awesome and taste buds zinged! The host asked us how we came to know about this place as it is nowhere near the beaten path. We shared our TripAdvisor secret.

Go here. Must!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top 5 restaurant in Amsterdam”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

What do I mean by top 5? Well it's a combination of quality food at a reasonable price with a level of service and atmosphere to match. For €32 you can have a beautifully prepared steak with a starter and dessert. This is true value. Anyone who spends more than €50 on anything less than molecular gastronomy is getting ripped off. This little cafe appropriately placed on a rather residential street in de pijp has something special and the staff know it which is why they bring their A game to match the cuisine. A petite menu of 3 starters, 3 mains, and 3 desserts is a clear indication of how great it is here. I don't go to many restaurants more than once but I'll definitely be back. Top 5 in Amsterdam and in my top 5 overall in Europe thus far. Go... Relax... And enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattbrendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great small restaurant”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Since a couple of years this small restaurant offers excellent food for a very reasonable price. The owners work themselves in the kitchen and help to serve as well!
Their fish and meat comes form the region of Amsterdam and is cooked to perfection with always intriguing extra's. The vegetarian dishes are as well worth a try.
Do reserve in advance, it can be very busy, especially in weekends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariettadeBruine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reuring also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Reuring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing