We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the climb!”
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #95 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We loved our top-floor room for four at the Bridge Hotel. We stayed with our two children in late-June 2010. The room sports modern décor; two very comfortable double beds; large individual lockers instead of a closet; a separate water closet; sun-drenched modern bathroom with shower; a roof-top terrace with table and chairs, views of two adjacent canals; a kitchen with all amenities; a counter with stools; wonderful windows with views of the canal and a skylight; and, television. Note that it’s approximately 74-step walk up many flights of stairs to get to this fabulous room from the street, including about a dozen steps from the door to the room to the actual room. The breakfast was great: cereals, individually wrapped fancy breads and snacks; several juices; tea/coffee/milk; hard-boiled eggs; rolls and breads; deli meats and cheeses; and, yogurt. It’s 3-4 block walk from the tram to the hotel. Hotel is an easy walk to Rembrandtplein. Staff was very nice and helpful. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam. Tourist note: Check-out the super modern biblioteek (library) near the Centraal Station. It has a rooftop deck and inexpensive cafeteria-style restaurant on the top floor that is frequented by young locals. You’ll be treated to great views of Amsterdam from a different perspective.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Bridge Hotel was a wonderful location for our week stay in Amsterdam. It's so nice to have a comfortable and friendly place to come "home" to while on vacation. We were there with a large group and had a more typical hotel room (with a nice little balcony as a bonus) and an apartment with a kitchen. Both were furnished with new furniture, comfortable beds, and clean, up to date bathrooms. I did notice that there were some dust bunnies on the floor in the corners of the hotel room, but that is my only complaint (and I think it's pretty minor). The staff was very helpful and friendly, they called cabs, chatted with us, and recommended restaurants. They also rent bikes from the hotel which was fun and made it really easy to rent and get around town. The breakfast was wonderful, plenty of options (yogurt, toast, fruit, meat, cheese, juice, coffee, tea, etc.). And most of all the location was excellent, the apartment had a view of the Amstel so we could watch the boats going by and it was an easy walk to much of the city. We walked most places including Albert Cuyp Market, Rembrandt Square, restaurants, grocery stores, the Heineken Experience, Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum. Bikes help you get around faster, and we rented those a few days, but mostly walked. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed for three nights in early August durng an excitng weekend when the City was having quite the party. Stayed on the third floor with a view of the side canal even. The rooms were very clean, excellent bathrooms and shower. Good selection at breakfast, especially by European standards. A little off the beaten path, but that's what we were looking for, close enough to major sites, but quiet enough to feel as if you're stayng in a neighborhood. The brown cafe up the street was nice for a drink at the end of the day, and lots of restaurants close by as well. Also, great for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed in The Bridge Hotel for two nights. It was ok. But for 170€ per night and judging from the photos I had seen, I had expected something more "boutiquy", made from better materials, instead of youth hostel appeal and cheap plastic floor. Also, the room was cold and the shower did not work properly (low water pressure, warm water only after several minutes). Bad illumination in the bathroom. The breakfast staff was not up to the task of clearing tables and putting out new clean plates.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelika09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

stayed here with three others for a girls' weekend, struggled to find a quad room, but this was fantastic! Spacious airy room with several windows, quirky contemporary decor, and clean roomy shower room with separate toilet. There was even a small balcony to sit outside amongst the rooftops. Modern sofas in centre of room with TV for relaxing. Beds v comfy, quiet location, but only 5mins walk from tram and metro. Breakfast was nothing special but quite adequate, reception staff v helpful and happy to provide fresh milk to take to room.
All in all a great find, would definately stay here again. Only downside is the steep and multiple flights of stairs ( no lift) but I think this is pretty universal in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katyS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I spent five nights at the Bridge Hotel. My room was fine although the walls were a bit thin the people staying were relatively quiet. Breakfast was your usual continental but very adequate and the free wireless a bonus. What I loved was the location beside the Carre Theatre and beside the Amstel River and just a short walk to the centre of around 10 minutes. The metro is only a five minute walk and just three stops from Central Station. Really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good for your average continental. The hotel had great quirky little touches, such as a collection of antiques under the stairs and art deco travel pictures down the halls. Unfortunately our room was rather disappointing. Having seen that there were better ones from other travellers pictures and the website I think we were given one of the worst rooms. Old linoleum floors and two single beds at either side with chipboard walls - it had the feeling of an old hospital room. The bathroom was very clean but tiny. Sadly it wasn't all I'd hoped. I'd only recommend the hotel if you were guaranteed one of the newer rooms or the apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloudPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#42 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,114 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#100 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,174 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#49 of 375 in Amsterdam
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#97 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,063 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#227 of 375 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#66 of 375 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Address: Amstel 107 /111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $89 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing