We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth the climb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #86 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the climb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We loved our top-floor room for four at the Bridge Hotel. We stayed with our two children in late-June 2010. The room sports modern décor; two very comfortable double beds; large individual lockers instead of a closet; a separate water closet; sun-drenched modern bathroom with shower; a roof-top terrace with table and chairs, views of two adjacent canals; a kitchen with all amenities; a counter with stools; wonderful windows with views of the canal and a skylight; and, television. Note that it’s approximately 74-step walk up many flights of stairs to get to this fabulous room from the street, including about a dozen steps from the door to the room to the actual room. The breakfast was great: cereals, individually wrapped fancy breads and snacks; several juices; tea/coffee/milk; hard-boiled eggs; rolls and breads; deli meats and cheeses; and, yogurt. It’s 3-4 block walk from the tram to the hotel. Hotel is an easy walk to Rembrandtplein. Staff was very nice and helpful. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam. Tourist note: Check-out the super modern biblioteek (library) near the Centraal Station. It has a rooftop deck and inexpensive cafeteria-style restaurant on the top floor that is frequented by young locals. You’ll be treated to great views of Amsterdam from a different perspective.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    456
    104
    19
    14
See reviews for
165
369
44
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Bridge Hotel was a wonderful location for our week stay in Amsterdam. It's so nice to have a comfortable and friendly place to come "home" to while on vacation. We were there with a large group and had a more typical hotel room (with a nice little balcony as a bonus) and an apartment with a kitchen. Both were furnished with new furniture, comfortable beds, and clean, up to date bathrooms. I did notice that there were some dust bunnies on the floor in the corners of the hotel room, but that is my only complaint (and I think it's pretty minor). The staff was very helpful and friendly, they called cabs, chatted with us, and recommended restaurants. They also rent bikes from the hotel which was fun and made it really easy to rent and get around town. The breakfast was wonderful, plenty of options (yogurt, toast, fruit, meat, cheese, juice, coffee, tea, etc.). And most of all the location was excellent, the apartment had a view of the Amstel so we could watch the boats going by and it was an easy walk to much of the city. We walked most places including Albert Cuyp Market, Rembrandt Square, restaurants, grocery stores, the Heineken Experience, Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum. Bikes help you get around faster, and we rented those a few days, but mostly walked. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed for three nights in early August durng an excitng weekend when the City was having quite the party. Stayed on the third floor with a view of the side canal even. The rooms were very clean, excellent bathrooms and shower. Good selection at breakfast, especially by European standards. A little off the beaten path, but that's what we were looking for, close enough to major sites, but quiet enough to feel as if you're stayng in a neighborhood. The brown cafe up the street was nice for a drink at the end of the day, and lots of restaurants close by as well. Also, great for the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed in The Bridge Hotel for two nights. It was ok. But for 170€ per night and judging from the photos I had seen, I had expected something more "boutiquy", made from better materials, instead of youth hostel appeal and cheap plastic floor. Also, the room was cold and the shower did not work properly (low water pressure, warm water only after several minutes). Bad illumination in the bathroom. The breakfast staff was not up to the task of clearing tables and putting out new clean plates.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelika09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge wells, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

stayed here with three others for a girls' weekend, struggled to find a quad room, but this was fantastic! Spacious airy room with several windows, quirky contemporary decor, and clean roomy shower room with separate toilet. There was even a small balcony to sit outside amongst the rooftops. Modern sofas in centre of room with TV for relaxing. Beds v comfy, quiet location, but only 5mins walk from tram and metro. Breakfast was nothing special but quite adequate, reception staff v helpful and happy to provide fresh milk to take to room.
All in all a great find, would definately stay here again. Only downside is the steep and multiple flights of stairs ( no lift) but I think this is pretty universal in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katyS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
664 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 775 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

I spent five nights at the Bridge Hotel. My room was fine although the walls were a bit thin the people staying were relatively quiet. Breakfast was your usual continental but very adequate and the free wireless a bonus. What I loved was the location beside the Carre Theatre and beside the Amstel River and just a short walk to the centre of around 10 minutes. The metro is only a five minute walk and just three stops from Central Station. Really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good for your average continental. The hotel had great quirky little touches, such as a collection of antiques under the stairs and art deco travel pictures down the halls. Unfortunately our room was rather disappointing. Having seen that there were better ones from other travellers pictures and the website I think we were given one of the worst rooms. Old linoleum floors and two single beds at either side with chipboard walls - it had the feeling of an old hospital room. The bathroom was very clean but tiny. Sadly it wasn't all I'd hoped. I'd only recommend the hotel if you were guaranteed one of the newer rooms or the apartments.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CloudPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel View
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Property: The Bridge Hotel
Address: Amstel 107 /111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing