We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a wonderful neighborhood”
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #101 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The best thing about the Bridge Hotel is the location: it's outside the busy, loud touristy sections of Amsterdam, and it faces the Amstel River. It's less than a 10 minute walk to the tram or metro, though, so everywhere is accessible. And Ultrechtsestraat is only a 5 minute walk across the river, and it's a street of restaurants and shops (including several Indonesia restaurants for the required rijstaffel meal). The bed is comfortable, quiet, and the room we had was large with a view of one of the canals off the Amstel. It's an affordable hotel, and rooms with no views are even cheaper. Our room also separated the toilet from the shower in two different little rooms off of the bedroom: this was very convenient for two people. There are some flaws: it's a 3 star hotel in some respects, but in others, it is not: there is no elevator (we were on the 3rd floor---it wasn't a problem, just a little bit unnerving with luggage going up/down the narrow stairs), no air conditioning (not a problem for us since the weather was cool for July, but if it were in the 80s, you'd be hot and bitten by the gnats that come into the room with the windows open since there are no screens). The hotel service was minimal: often, towels weren't replaced (they were taken away, but not replaced), and dirty glasses weren't replaced (they were left, dirty, on the desk). When I asked for clean glasses, one of the receptionists said no since she needed them in her little lounge in case guests wanted to purchase a glass of wine. (On a previous night, however, another receptionist didn't flinch when I asked for wine glasses.) The breakfast is ok: the breads are terrible, you can't toast the raisin bread (the toaster isn't ideal), and the soft boiled eggs were always overcooked. But there is unlimited coffee, juice, yogurt and kiwis, and they were good.

Despite the flaws, though, I liked our hotel enough that I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: I'm guessing that rooms on the lobby floor or the floor below the lobby, where breakfast is serv...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StaceyLeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
There are newer reviews for The Bridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Amsterdam is a pricy city, but this hotel was a great value. The staff was helpful and the rooms were clean. The breakfast buffet was tasty but not overly fancy. We would stay here again.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the tram stops and a 20-30 minute walk from most attractions. The walk itself is gorgeous, especially at night when the bridges are lit up. There are some great cafés along the canals with affordable, local food and beer. Much better than you'd find in the touristy areas.

It's certainly nothing fancy, but it's just such a cute place. We didn't spend much time in the room since we wanted to explore all of Amsterdam, but it was a nice, clean place to come home to each night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the Bridge Hotel for 4 nights in late May. Overall we had a very good experience at the Bridge Hotel. I very much agree with the other reviewers on their comments on the lobby space. It appears to be more of a hostel/dorm front desk area than a hotel lobby. I was also quite cluttered. I was a little concerned about our stay when checking in due to the appearance of the lobby. There were several twists, turns, and stairs to get to our room which was at the end of the hall on the third floor. It was hard to find initially, but we liked it because it was out of the way and quiet. We were relieved when we got to our room and found it large, clean, and simply furnished with a great canal view. One of the first things that I noticed about the room is that it had hard surface flooring rather than carpet. The furnishings in the room were simple but adequate. The windows open either hopper style or casement style, so you can get a little fresh air and ventilation, or leave them wide open. Our room was also supplied with a fan, so we were able to keep it at a temperature where we were comfortable. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows and comforters were of good quality. The bathroom was roomy, clean, and was sufficiently stocked with toiletries. The front desk is staffed 24 hours, and everyone we encountered there was very friendly and helpful. They always seemed genuinely glad to see you and have you at their hotel. The breakfast had a good variety of food and was always well stocked. We also stayed at another hotel on our trip to Amsterdam. In comparing the two, I would say that the Bridge Hotel has very large rooms by comparison and was a much better value. However, we did feel that the Bridge Hotel was not as centrally located as we would have liked. It is still very easy to get around using transit, but it is a little bit of a walk to restaurants, activities, etc. Overall, I thought this hotel was a great value for the price. It is a bit out of the way of many tourist activities, so be prepared to walk and/or use public transit or a bike. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Canal views and/or off the main corridor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeaconTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hotel reception is accessed from street level via a steep flight of stone steps. Although most areas of the hotel have been recently and tastefully renovated, the reception and associated sitting room would appear to have been overlooked. This unfortunate first impression is swiftly corrected upon entering the main body of the building. In common with many hotels in Amsterdam there is no elevator however the traditional flights of steep stairways have been replaced in this hotel be wide, modern stairways with a more agreeable gradient. Our room (Room 10) was large and spacious with basic but adequate furnishing and a well-appointed en-suite with plentiful towels and toiletries. It was well-lit with windows that, quite literally, opened out onto a splendid view over a side-canal off the Amstel. There are no facilities in the room for hot drinks but drinks and biscuits can be obtained free of charge at any time in the sitting room where also a desk-top computer and laser printer are provided for the use of guests.
The pleasant, airy breakfast room offered adequate but fairly basic fare which included breads, preserves, eggs, cheese, meats, cereal and fruits.
Hotel staff were most helpful at all times but, in my view, the strongest asset of The Bridge is its excellent location. It was truly a pleasure to return to the tranquillity and old-world charm of this locality after a day in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel is located about 20 minutes' walk from the central station. It is in a charming and tranquil part of Amsterdam, away from (but within easy walking distance of) the bustle of the red light and museum districts and overlooking several pretty canals. The staff are efficient and friendly, they helped us with day to day issues like using the trams. The breakfast was comprehensive and well run. The room was spacious and featured large sash windows that overlooked a small canal. We stayed for several nights in June 2014. Like many buildings in Amsterdam the hotel is set above the level of the canals so there are about 20 or so steep steps that need to be negotiated to get to the reception. There are rooms at the same level as the reception - other rooms involve further steps. I really enjoyed my time at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Entry is like the entry to a hostel rather than a hotel however our room was spacious, clean and with a comfortable bed Lovely outlook with pretty balcony overlooking side canal. The hotel is in a great location. Breakfast was basic sustenance. The reception was our first introduction to Dutch directness. Sometimes great sometimes harsh. We stayed three days. The room was excellent

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Quite simply, everything that you want in a hotel is here - superb location, high quality rooms, great food, cheerful staff. There are NO negative things to say. I am a fussy, 55 year old, experienced traveller and I cannot understand how anybody could not rate this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodison70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#108 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,205 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#102 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,114 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#52 of 371 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#42 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,075 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#57 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,347 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#90 of 371 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Address: Amstel 107 /111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $137 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing