We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great room & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #87 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great room & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Entry is like the entry to a hostel rather than a hotel however our room was spacious, clean and with a comfortable bed Lovely outlook with pretty balcony overlooking side canal. The hotel is in a great location. Breakfast was basic sustenance. The reception was our first introduction to Dutch directness. Sometimes great sometimes harsh. We stayed three days. The room was excellent

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    436
    103
    19
    13
See reviews for
162
355
43
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Quite simply, everything that you want in a hotel is here - superb location, high quality rooms, great food, cheerful staff. There are NO negative things to say. I am a fussy, 55 year old, experienced traveller and I cannot understand how anybody could not rate this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodison70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We booked two nights here in June. Having read the reviews we were expecting something a little better than what we got. The hotel is very basic. We had a studio on the top floor. Be warned - these are not suitable for people with small children. The steps are very steep upto the room and a bit of a death trap.

When we saw the room we were also disappointed. It was stiffingly hot and opening the windows didn't help (interesting that the repectionist had a big fan but the guests are left to sweat it out). We couldn't let our children walk/ crawl as we were so worried they would fall down the stairs (again very steep and dangerous).

The location also isn't as central as we were led to believe.

All in all we decided to check out and find another hotel. We had to pay for the first night but that was preferable to staying here - it would have been unbearably hot and we were so worried about the sheer drop on the stairs with our young kids that it wasn't worth the risk.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shalagh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Good and varieted breakfast, nice people in the front desk, nice decoration in the hotel, close to trams, computer service in loby, clean. I fell down in city center and when I arrived to hotel receptionist offered me ice for my foot. We would come back there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosita65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

After reading all these great reviews you expect so much so I was a little disappointed. For what you get I found it expensive. My family and I had 2 rooms for 3 nights which both faced the inside court yard (no street view, no canal). They were both on the 1st level. Hotel is simple but clean. Service was very good and accommodating. Location is also good. It takes about 30 minutes to walk to central station. The rooms however are small and simple for the price. Decor is plain (Ikea looking). The rooms are also not sound proof. In my room I could hear snoring from the adjacent room. My kids had a room across from the reception desk and could hear a lot of the activity going on. I put poor sleeping quality because of this. Otherwise the beds were comfortable. AGAIN, THE WORST PART WAS HEARING SNORING FROM THE OTHER ROOM NEXT TO OURS. To be fair, I will say that this was our first time in Amsterdam so I could not compare to other Hotels in this class rating. Perhaps the price paid and room is the standard. However if I go back to Amsterdam, I will look for something else.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a canal view in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I found the hotel to be basic but very clean and good value for money. The central location was brilliant and we were able to walk to most of the attractions like the Rembrandt plein or catch the tram (easy to use and very frequent).My room also provided with a view of Prinsengracht canal. Breakfast was another delight. Would definitely use the hotel again for future trips.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
183 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We are returning this year for a fifth visit to Amsterdam, and a fourth stay at this very comfortable and well-situated hotel. It's not cheap, but its location and no-fuss approach to service are a boon.

Room Tip: The rooms with canal views are obviously more attractive, but the city itself is so attractive that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HunterBloemfontein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#37 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#74 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Property: The Bridge Hotel
Address: Amstel 107 /111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing