We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amstel light apartment”
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #97 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“amstel light apartment”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

stayed 1 night in the apartment as there was 3 adults.we arrived before 11am and they let us have the apartment right away as there had been nobody in it the night before.the apartment is really big and spacious with a double bed 2 single beds and a sort of cot/bed a large dining/kitchen/lounge area with 2 big windows looking onto the canal. it has all the mod cons you need and also abathroom with a shower plus another separate toilet,also 3 tvs including 1 massive flat screen and also a radio/cd player,everything was nice and clean and i have to add the matresses and pillows are some of the best ever!!.the staff at the desk were all very friendly and nothing was a bother, especially as we overslept and got up nearly half an hour before breakfast finished. the reception did call us at 11.30 to remind us that check out time was 11am but they were very nice about it. the breakfast was first class and lenty of everything you would expect in a continental hotel.all in all i would definately recommend this apartment, only down side would be if you have problem with stairs as it,s up quite a few flights of narrow steep stairs, but otherwise brilliuant would def go back, would be amazing in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kastrogang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    506
    118
    21
    19
See reviews for
185
409
49
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during December 2013, spent there three nights.
Our room was amazing! Firstly, all the decoration is very cosy, feels like you are at home! Great view from the windows (we had a room on 2nd floor, don`t remember which number exactly). Very quiet, clean, awesome beds (really like sleeping in warm clouds), perfect and very helpful service. Good choise for food during breakfast.
If I would have to come back to Amsterdam - I would come back to Bridge Hotel, for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Single U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our New year break in Amsterdam was great.
The room we stayed in,110,was on ground floor and very noisy from traffic passing outside room,especially in mornings,from guests and staff.Our 'view' was of the smoking area below,an internal stairwell,outside corridor and the 'common' room near reception,so needless to say our curtains were permanently closed!!A thick carpet on the landing/corridor might help to reduce noise levels..As it was on a slope and above ground level,the footsteps felt they were next to your head,as bed was on opposite side of wall.
The breakfast was great and the staff friendly.The location is excellent,especially if you want to be near centre and shopping/markets.
Wi-fi and tv worked grand.A kettle/fridge in the room might be nice,instead of having to go to reception to get tea made for you,but it was a 24hr service.
Dunno if I'd stay there again,but it won't stop me coming back to Amsterdam,a city I've lived in and visited many times!
So,if you do stay here,do not take a room on ground floor.Don't know what other rooms were like...

Room Tip: Do not stay on ground floor,especially room 110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at The Bridge Hotel for 3 nights in August 2012. We found our room to be spacious (twin room with view over the canals), clean and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and there was always plenty of food available for breakfast.

We were able to walk everywhere, but it was also just as easy to catch a tram (once we got our Amsterdam city card).

The only thing that was slightly annoying was the internet wasn't very consistent and would drop in and out, but this didn't affect our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Bridge hotel for 4 nights. It is very well located in the centre of Amsterdam. It is clean, and the staff is efficient. Our stay was a bit of a disappointment but due mostly to some bad luck. We received a quiet, comfortable modern room on checking in, but it smelled bad, with a leaking toilet. The next day, we changed rooms and were put into room number 110, probably their last available one, which I suppose they use in case of emergencies when nothing else is available. This room was noisy, smallish, had no desk, no hair dryer and had 2 green drab metal lockers instead of proper wardrobes (the lockers were okay, it was the contrast which was a bit shocking). In effect we were downgraded. The hotel staff offered us a glass of wine or a coffee to compensate us for the downgrade, where they should have offered us a rebate on the room price. For the rest, the hotel is fine and would have gotten 4/5 points had we gotten what I though would have been a fair compensation. Avoid room 110.

Room Tip: Avoid room 110!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick_VB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Amsterdam is ridiculously expensive for hotels and the Bridge Hotel is no exception but it offers much better value for money than others I've stayed in. It's spotlessly clean throughout and our room was very well maintained. The rooms have an almost utilitarian feel to them in terms of the decor but there are homely touches like super-soft pillows, funky lamps, colourful throws and (artificial) flowers to make them cosy and individual. We paid up for a canal view and got a huge room with a large bathroom and private balcony. The shower was excellent - hot and powerful - and all the bathroom fittings look brand new.

Breakfast is served in a spacious room in the basement and is a very generous continental spread - boiled eggs, toast, breads, cheeses, cold meats, cereals, fruits, yogurts, olives, preserves, etc - and is self-service so you can fill your boots!

The staff at this hotel were all friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The location is fairly central and it took us about 10 minutes to walk to Rembrandtplein. Dam Square and Leidesplein were another 10 minutes or so. There are lots of cosy and reasonable restaurants in the little side streets around Rembrandtplein if you don't fancy venturing far for dinner, and plenty of brown cafes and pubs even closer to the hotel.

We would definitely stay here again if it was available at a reasonable price next time we go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayLee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This being my 2nd stay at this hotel it will not be my last,great location,very nice staff,had a fantastic view over the Amstel canal from our large room (remember to ask for a room overlooking the Amstel canal) and the buffet breakfast is very good,all the Amsterdam sights are easily walkable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#39 of 368 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#37 of 368 in Amsterdam
414 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#108 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,188 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#89 of 368 in Amsterdam
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Property: The Bridge Hotel
Address: Amstel 107 /111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing