We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a break in Amsterdam”
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #96 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a break in Amsterdam”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My sister and I stayed for 4 nights while we enjoyed a break in Amsterdam. The hotel is in a really good location, just a few minutes walk from the Rembrandtsplein and several trams within a couple of minutes walk. The staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms spotless, quiet and had everything you would need. The decor is functional funky. Beds really comfortable. It is a good 3 star - perfect for a leisure break or for business if you don't want an all frills hotel. Lovely and extensive continental style breakfast . I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: A room at the back quieter probably but the best view is from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NESSY3306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    504
    117
    21
    17
See reviews for
183
407
49
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was attending a large conference at RAI Amsterdam and stayed for 6 nights at the Bridge Hotel. I chose this hotel because of its proximity to metro station, high rating and competitive room rate compared to other hotels of similar class. It seemed expensive at 125 euro per night for a single room (incl breakfast) which was so spartan that there was no wardrobe, bedside table or luggage rack. Small CRT TV. But I found out that hotels near RAI were even more expensive (easily double). My room was at the back at the lowest level, and was adequate size for one person. The stairs were easy to negotiate - not narrow and steep as I anticipated. My room had a very lovely view of a small canal which was unfortunately partly obscured by a fire escape stairway outside, but I loved the sound of water and the sight of swans and ducks swimming past. Room had strong wifi signal. The windows could not be opened but there was an air vent for fresh air. Wonder if this room may get too hot in summer. At this time of the year, the room was a bit chilly at night but the blanket and pillows were nice and fluffy. There was blackout curtain and I slept very well. I read the reports of other reviewers and can confirm that there was no soap, only shower gel and shampoo. And only bath towel but not face towel. The shower enclosure seemed to have a panel missing so bathroom got wet after showering, even though the shower was very weak. Shower water temperature was good though. Breakfast is in a nice cozy room on the same level. Plenty of tables. I was very satisfied with breakfast buffet which consists of a variety of bread/toast, boiled eggs, cold cuts, juices, hot beverages, cereal, yogurt and fruit cocktail. The bridge Hotel is located in a quiet and safe area within walking distance of central. Taking the metro to RAI was quick and not crowded. I had enjoyed my stay at this hotel very much and will stay there again because of the wonderful, friendly and helpful staff. They were ALL very professional, efficient, courteous, sincere and warm. They made this budget hotel classy.

Room Tip: Room 12 is quiet and has view of small canal (not Amstel). downside is there is a fire escape stairw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pbandclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A comfortable Hotel. It is situated in a residential location of the city so it was quiet and not touristy but still central enough for us to walk everywhere, Staff very helpful and friendly. Good selection at breakfast. If you don't fancy walking the hotel does hire out bicycles if you feel adventurous and 'brave' enough as the locals don't take any prisioner's. We visited Amsterdam for the Rijks Museum which was amazing. 15 euro entrance is pricey but quality artwork and setting. Also had a day out to Haarlem, only a short 20 minute train trip, where we went to the Fran Hals Museum.

Room Tip: Don't forget to look left before stepping off the pavement - bike riders don't know the mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelurchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puako, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent two nights here. Arriving at 6pm, our room was practically in the lobby and the window for which we paid extra, looked onto an ugly inside passage. I noted it was an unattractive room and we were moved the next day to a nice room with a small balcony and view of the canal. I felt we paid for this and didn't receive it the first night.

Overall nice play to stay. Fairly convenient bus and tram connections to museum and train station.

Front desk folks very agreeable. Avoid lines and buy museum tickets at the front desk. Nice breakfast saved time in morning but not special.

It felt like running a gauntlet to enter hotel with always several smokers puffing away on the steps. I wish management would instruct guests and workers to walk across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachjhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A great little hotel on the Amstel next to the Carre theatre.
within easy walking distance of everything, restaurants within 10 mins max.
Catch the metro any of the three lines from the Central Station to Weesperplein take exit Amstel walk straight on to the Amstel river. Before the big bridge you turn right. You walk 200 meters and the hotel is at your right hand side.
The staff were brilliant & let us leave our bags for 6hrs on the last day.
Breakfasts were buffet with cereals,meats, cheeses, eggs & bread alll excellent
I would definately choose to stay here again if I return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lestoindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The bridge hotel is very clean. I dropped a bit of water on the floor near the bed. I got some tissue paper to wipe it and my paper came out wet and clean. I couldn't believe it was not dirty. The location of this hotel is fantastic. Right in front of the Amstel canal and 15 minutes from everything. Couldn't ask for a better location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

3 nights on business trip, great stay, spacious room without minibar (although I didn't miss it to much), very clean, great location with closeness of public transport beside everything is in walking distance, stuff amazingly helpful, basic breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vexit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#36 of 367 in Amsterdam
457 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#88 of 367 in Amsterdam
847 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#39 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,062 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Property: The Bridge Hotel
Address: Amstel 107 /111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing