We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not hotel, it's hostel”
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #99 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Natalia R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

In the Dam for a couple of days on business, had room 331 overlooking the canal. Light & spacious with a pleasing flow. The large shower room & separate toilet room was a nice touch. Staff were friendly & helpful and the breakfast was plentiful if nothing special. Decent location approx 10 mins walk from the action. Would recommend the room I had, can't comment on the rest.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a great stay here! This hotel is right next to the city center but not inside, so it's very quiet. The receptionists were very nice, helpful and had answers to all of our questions. Breakfast was great, I guess you could call it basic, but it was tasty, fresh, clean and included in the subcharge, which, as I found after extensive research of Amsterdam hotels, is rare. The first thing the receptionist said to us when we arrived was that she could upgrade us to a different room :) we ordered the skylight room, since when we visit a new city we don't need much more than a decent bed and a nice shower from a room. The receptionist said that the skylight room is disappointing to guests expecting a view. We were not bothered. The skylight room doesn't have windows facing outside, just 2 skylights in the ceiling that let the daylight in. The room was clean, house keeping happened on a daily basis and for a room with (apparently) no open apertures, it had amazing air circulation- the bathroom floor would dry out in like 20 minutes. One thing that did bother us a bit was the absence of any kind of shower curtain or anything that prevented the shower from flooding the bathroom- we just didn't use the shower as a hose and it was OK, and like I stated- it dried fast.
People at reception were v. helpful, as mentioned- we got to the city on a particularly cold&rainy week in May (16C and less!!) and they lent us umbrellas. They also offer stuff you can take to the room free of charge, like an electric tea kettle and hair drier. WiFi is free, but the user &password provided are only good for 1 device.
Overall, great stay, convenient price. I would most certainly stay again. If you're ok with a nice room and not the Ritz-Carlton, you'll enjoy it :)

Room Tip: If you're after a room with a view, obviously do not choose the Skylight room. However, keep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hila_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The Good: Superb location. It is on the Amstel canal, at it's intersection with Neuewe Prisengracht. Many rooms have canal views. Its 5 minutes walking to Rembrandtplein and maybe another 5 to Dam square. It's a bit away from the bustle but in a really pretty part of the city centre.

The rooms are comfortable, the beds nice and bathroom also very functional. However, the room is barebones. No coffee maker, iron etc, no in room safe. However, if you go to the lobby, they'll make you tea/coffee

Breakfast was basic but nice - cheese, cold cuts, cereals, yogurt, boiled egg, juices and tea/coffee. Would have been nicer with some warm options.

The Bad: Stairs. Price of charm. Steep stairs coming up into the lobby. More stairs on the way to the room. Big pain with luggage.

The Ugly: very expensive. They charged 150 euros a night for the room, and they charged an extra 50 euros for an extra mattress for my son. Initially, we were supposed to stay 3 nights but stayed 2, yet the 50 euros stayed the same.

TIP: If you have an early morning flight and a day trip planned anywhere, stay the last night at an airport hotel. You can rent cars in the city and drop off at the airport.

We had an early morning flight and a day trip planned to Den Haag. We cancelled our third night, rented a car (pick up city drop off Schiphol), and stayed at an airport hotel instead. No point paying for charm when you're away. You get extra sleep at night. Plus the cost of the car rental is probably far less than the taxi to the airport plus the cost of your day trip planned.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmohanram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed in one of the self-catering apartments at the Bridge Hotel with some friends. We loved it - lovely central location, bright and sunny, clean, all the equipment you need, 100% cotton sheets and comfy beds; such friendly staff; we couldn't fault it. Breakfast was included in the (very good value for money) price; my only quibble was that the coffee was not good..

Room Tip: We were in a self catering apartment (there are a lot of stairs to climb so no good for someone with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriele-from-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The worse receptionists that I have ever came across with. Room booked for three nights,every night costed me dearly 170 euro(3* hotel) so my expectations went high. Upon arrival we were offered one of the rooms on ground floor which we have accepted not realising that room is allocated just next to the main entrance on the lobby! Went inside spent about 10-15 min thinking whether we can cope with noise coming from the canal walk side and lobby itself and finally took decision to ask for a replacement. The receptionist face changed immediately from sweet to evil. It took us quite a while to persuade her that this room is nothing like we requested, noisy with squeaky floor. Finally got room we wanted after 4 hours of waiting for! Had to leave luggage at the reception and went out. The other room was way better,newly refurbished on the top floor which I would not recommend to anyone in certain age as there is no lift provided but serpentine stairs.
B-fast itself very basic,just continental which again for the price you pay,one would expect something richer. Everyday when having b-fast we had to seat next to hotel staff looks like from the maintenance. How come hotel staff eats in the very same room as everybody else? B-fast entirely self service,not even coffee or tea provided to the table.
Tables are not being clean but staff having plenty of time chatting behind the door.
In general Amsterdam and particularly The Bridge hotel are the winners of the worts stay that I had in my life.

Room Tip: Do not accept any rooms on ground floor, you will regret dearly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ArturNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel right in the "centrum" of the city is a decent hotel at a decent price. Good continental breakfast that included meats, cheese, boiled eggs etc. Such a great location for walking this beautiful city. Check it out for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal, or one downstairs onto your own outside terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raggedcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#38 of 374 in Amsterdam
429 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Hotel La Boheme
#46 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#220 of 374 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#87 of 374 in Amsterdam
887 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#179 of 374 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Address: Amstel 107 /111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $96 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing