We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“misleading room pictures scary staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rembrandt
Ranked #187 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“misleading room pictures scary staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

i stayed at the hotel june of 2013 checkin was long and drawn out it seems they didn't know about my reservation even though i had a confermation number. The staff seemed put out by my showing up and treated me like i was a burden (except for the girl that worked the front desk during the day was very pleased to help) the night deskman was downright scarry !the room i got looked like none of the rooms that were advertised, mine was small hot and musty. The bathroom was a closet the shower had a sink and a toilet in it (you could sit and take care of buisiness and take a shower at the same time). the paneling on the walls was dirty and dated. There was no soap in the bathroom. The room had only one outlet in it and you had to unplug the tv to use it. the breakfast room looked great but the staff made it an unpleasant experiance so i ate breakfast in town rather than try to enjoy breakfast while the staff gave me dirty looks. it was quiet and a decent location, however i am 100 % sure i will never stay here again not worth the high price they charge.i'm sure i could do better.

Room Tip: ask if there is ac and if you see a room you like in there pictures make sure you request that one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macdaddygator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, General Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, as we are always trying to improve our service and facilities we appreciate your comments.
We do however regret it that you post a review two months after your departure, as do we regret it that you didn't inform us during your stay that you weren't satisfied with your room. In that case we would have been able to move you to another room.

We would like to inform you though, that all our rooms have multiple electric sockets - no need to unplug the fridge, TV or waterboiler.
Also we can inform you that our complete staff is always trying to do our utmost for our guests ; most of them work already several years with us and I, as general manager, have to disagree to your description of scary - unhelpfull and a staff "that gave you dirty looks". I do feel that it is a pity that you experienced it that way.

Kindest regards,
L.Kelderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    128
    51
    18
    10
See reviews for
55
84
47
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Well appointed rooms with modern facilities, even thought rest of hotel appears worn down.. Helpful, friendly staff with good housekeeping. Warning that street-side rooms suffer street noise throughout the night. Unfortunately, I arrived during unusually hot weather with no ventilation/fan in a very small, stuffy room and couldn't sleep with the window open due to noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank BHep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay even though there indeed was a unique heatwave:) We hope to welcome you back some day!

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location are good, there's one really big supermarket nearby, if you want save money can buy instant food and ask the staff heat it up for you. The free wifi's signal is super weak, unless you bring your own laptop. Even the staff tell you that you can drink water from tap, but probably don't do it is better; cuz the water looks not so clean. No breakfast. Take 20 mins to city by walk, the worse thing is: "even they have cleaner to keep your room a bit neat, but they WON'T change your towel after you used."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voegelchen8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, as we are always trying to improve our service and facilities we appreciate your comments.
However we would like to inform you that the rooms are cleaned daily and towels are always changed if guests indicate that by putting them on the bathroomfloor.
It is a pity that during your stay you didn't ask the reception or our cleaninglady to replace your towels.
Furthermore The Netherlands and Amsterdam are known for having a high quality drinkingwater ; see http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2007-02/duot-tso022707.php
and one can reach the citycenter in 10 minutes.

The extended breakfastbuffet we offer is indeed not included in the roomrate; as we would like to keep our roomrate low and guests can decide themselves whether they take breakfast at only € 10.

The WiFi signal is indeed in three rooms a bit weak, however we are working at this problem.

Kindest regards,
L.Kelderman
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Excellent location about 10 minutes on tram 9 from Centraal Station - and in a quieter, relaxed area away from the hustle and bustle. Stunning breakfast room with bags of history, lots of lovely breakfast (continental and hot eggs and pancakes) breakfast choices to start the day, friendly, helpful staff (who made us coffee when we went back to collect bags and wait for a taxi several hours after actually checking out)

One was quiet small and a little hot, but then it was 30 degrees outside - the other room for our party contained a full size replica of Rembrandt's "Nightwatch" on a whole wall size canvas which was a huge talking point! Both rooms had mini bars and were en suite - a few more coat hangers would be useful though.

Finally, I cannot review this hotel without a mention for "Bink" the hotel cat .... who is lovely and affectionate and enjoyed a fuss!!

Would stay again if back in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter as tram does run until 00:30 but this wasn't a major issue. Stairs are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exkbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is Always a pleasure for us to read our guest have enjoyed their stay with us.
We hope to welcome you all back.

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Rembrandt after a recommendation from a colleague. I had a really nice time. the highlight was the dining room where breakfast was served. What a great setting to start the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Really good value for money. The location is fab, being next to the trams, the University of Amsterdam, a number of trendy cafes, places to eat and canals. Liked the hotel cat too!!

R Joseph

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your kind words.
Hoping to welcome you in our hotel again.

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Loved this quiet, family run hotel on the outskirts of Amsterdam's center. Just 10 minutes walk from Rembrandt Square, a five minute walk from Artis Zoo, close to tram and bus routes without the frenzy and noise of the major squares, yet near local Cafes and a major grocery store, it was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 2 was wonderful, with French doors leading out to a patio and shared garden area. Do not take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midhaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#221 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#231 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#178 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#122 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#215 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Property: Hotel Rembrandt
Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rembrandt 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing