We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rembrandt Plantage”
Review of Hotel Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rembrandt
Ranked #179 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I’ve stayed a few times at this quaint little hotel located in Plantage on the main road leading east. This is a nice residential area with the Artis (zoo) nearby as well as the Hortus Botanicus and it is gentrified and very quiet place. There are a few bars and cafés located around the same block as the hotel, perfect for lunch or a morning coffee.
The hotel itself is typical dutch townhouse converted into rooms which are clean although some areas are in need of a little renovation.
I got a smaller double this time which was a little pokey and I felt slightly overpriced but still had access to the terrace and a charming little patio beyond. Watch out for Bink the cat who wanders around to say hello. I would recommend paying extra and getting the large double.

It’s a lovely place to relax and leave your windows open to hear the birds in the evening.
Internet is very slow and only seems to work on one side of the room. Even then it was very patchy. There is a computer in the lobby.
A little banging coming from the adjoining rooms in the evening.
The best part of the hotel of course are the excellent and attentive staff who were extremely helpful. Recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 330 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, in a great location (not too far from centre) with very friendly and helpful staff.

The only issue I had was the room size (so small I constantly had to maneouvre my suitcase out of the way to facilitate movement), but I still gave this 4 stars because the I enjoyed staying there so much - the breakfast room is really nicely done up, and they have a nice lobby with comfy chairs you can sit in and read.

One thing to watch out for if you are a light sleeper is it is on a very busy road, so my room at the front was very noisy (especially because I like to have windows open at night) - though its fine for me, it might not be for you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good hotel, clean place, easy to get to, friendly staff, the only downside (if you're a geek) is that the WiFi signal strength was a weak in the basement rooms (where we stayed).. some food for thought!



  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alpesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Perfect for a short break or longer stay.
Easy to get to from both Schiphol and Central Station with a tram stop right outside. All the Amsterdam attractions within easy reach. Good local restaurant and bar on the corner.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robingomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

my first impressions were that the place looked tired and dated but I was welcomed with a smile.and actually, my room was wonderful; beautifully decorated and cosy with plenty of space, the bed was extremely comfortable (surprised to love the memory foam pillows i had), the bathroom was clean and fresh,i had a windowsill seat to drink my coffee on and watch the street below,
The location is ideal and there's plenty of bars and cafes just along the street.
It's a lovely hotel with lots of thoughtful touches.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majimaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Cosy little hotel located in the Plantage area. The tram stop is opposite the hotel which makes getting around Amsterdam very convenient. There is no staircase and staff carried our heavy suitcases effortlessly to our room. Room was small but comfortable with free WiFi. Breakfast was good and served in a beautifully decorated room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We really liked this place. There's no lift (well not that we knew of) so you have to deal with the narrow staircase but that's quite common in Holland- if you have large feet concentrate when you walk down the stairs- the last few steps can be the trickiest. The room was large, with a large Rembrandt painting behind our bed, and nice furnishings. The bathroom was a good size- we had room 8 with 2 large beds. The TV is old and small, and the remote was on its death bed- you practically had to stamp on it to change a channel and the woman on duty at the desk had very little interesting in trying to sort it out. Otherwise the staff was nice, as was the hotel cat- he(?) would greet me in the morning and try to follow me to my room. It's an easy 15-20 min walk to Amsterdaam Centraal and the Dam but you can also catch the tram. Albert Heijn (the supermarket) is just down the street and a good place to pick up some delicious Dutch snacks. Free wifi is, as always, very much appreciated. We didn't eat in the hotel but the dining room looked quite nice. We wouldn't hesistate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If there's 3 to 4 people in the group, room 8 is a good choice. Spacious it's on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bkk_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#222 of 375 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Plantage & the East
De Jonker Urban Studio's & Suites
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#217 of 375 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#236 of 375 in Amsterdam
304 reviews
Plantage & the East
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#94 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $133 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rembrandt 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing