We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Hotel Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rembrandt
Ranked #178 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here after leaving another horrible hotel and it was great.
We even had a balcony, the rooms were big, clean and service was great.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerms89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 330 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

Towels only fit for cleaning the floor! No bedsyread or throw so was cold in bed - not even a small rug by the bed.. Courtesy tray very poor indeed. Lighting too dim so could not read. Room clean, spacious but oh so plain - nothing attractive at all and I feel it was not good value for money. But adequate for a 1-night stay as nothing awful!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear guest,

We thank you for your review on tripadvisor. As we use these reviews in order to improve our rooms and services, we would appreciate it if you can tell us in which room you have stayed with us. So we can check the lighting and furnishing as we are unaware of these problems in our hotel. If you wish you can also send the details to our mail adress; info@hotelrembrandt.nl

We thank you in advance in answering these questions.

Kind regards,

Lysette Kelderman
Manager Hotel Rembrandt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Six of us stayed in 3 separate rooms in the hotel and although my partner and I had the biggest room out of the 3 everyone was happy. We had a veranda that stepped down onto the garden, and a huge room which we all gathered in in the evening for pre outing drinks. I think I was in the very first room next to the reception. It was excellent!

The location was good. It was right on the tram line so if you couldnt be bothered to walk you could just hop on a tram. We tended to walk, 10 mins to Rembrandt Square.

Dealing with the hotel was pleasant, they are all very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessDonDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

My family and I stayed at Hotel Rembrandt in late August 2011 for 4 nights. We hired the family room which was absolutely fantastic! The family room had 2 levels and plenty of space. We had our own very clean bathroom. The staff were brilliant - very friendly and always helpful. The location was also great - easy access to the centre of Amsterdam and right next to the zoo. The entire hotel was wonderfully decorated, particuarly the dining room.
I would highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCL1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had stayed at this hotel before, several years ago, and were happy to return. This time we were given a room at the very top of 4 flights of steep stairs. The staff were happy to help with luggage. The room itself was very large. For the two of us we had a desk with comfortable chair, a table with two chairs, two bedside tables, a wardrobe, a couch, a small refrigerator, and a TV. Plus a nice bed, of course. The wifi in the room worked well. One problem was that, as one often finds in older buildings, there was a very bad smell coming from the toilet in the bathroom. The management had put two solid deodorant things there to try to help, but I think that may have made things worse. Of course there was a door to the bathroom, but the bottom was not flush (no pun intended) with the floor so some smell would always escape. There was a window right in front of the bathroom door, which we left partly open, and that helped. We found the hotel quiet enough--there was a little shouting and dog barking in the night, but for the most part things were quiet. There are several nice restaurants nearby. We did not have the hotel breakfast. Since we have stayed in this hotel before, we know that not all rooms have this smell problem. I would recommend asking for a room that is not on the very top floor.

Room Tip: Not all rooms in this hotel are large, so if you really want a big comfortable room, probably best t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZippyNNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Our family of four stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was large, the location great as it was about 50m from a tram stop, and the service pleasant. We never tried the breakfast as for four it was quite expensive and we preferred to hop on a tram into the centre of Amsterdam for a cafe. The rooms were very clean and the free Wifi a godsend!! When the trams had a crash one night and stopped running it was about a 30 minute walk from the centre of Amsterdam back to the hotel - not something I would recommend every night, especially with two kids but it is possible.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Rooms very clean and tidy in a lovely location. Although there was a draughts comin through the window that we had to cover with a towel, it didn't put us off this place to stay. The bed was huge and very comfortable and we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debzcoppull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#227 of 375 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Plantage & the East
De Jonker Urban Studio's & Suites
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#214 of 375 in Amsterdam
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#234 of 375 in Amsterdam
304 reviews
Plantage & the East
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#95 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $141 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rembrandt 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing