We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Typical European Hotel but Perfect Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falcon Plaza Hotel
Ranked #293 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Typical European Hotel but Perfect Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is dated, room felt clean but bathroom need to be updated. No AC and only one small upper window that could be opened. Breakfast was good, we were told we got a cold breakfast included but we got eggs, bacon and beans in addition to they typical cold foods. I enjoyed the expresso that was included. Location was great, 2 min from shopping, public transportation and from a stop for the hop on and off bus tour (only 17€ a ticket, paid when you get on the bus) the hotel will give you a map. We walked from the metro to the hotel with luggage, very convenient. Or you can take a taxi from the airport apx 60€.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    98
    132
    65
    75
See reviews for
49
123
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The price is a rip off for such small, dilapidated rooms. The facilities are very very basic - you would be better off staying in a hostel.

Most disappointing of all, I left an item in my room, and despite contacting the hotel 5 times I have yet to receive an answer to my enquiry. This total lack of respect for a paying guest is incredibly disappointing.

Don't stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: small, cramped and in need of renovation. pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Was traveling for a conference so booked a double room. Well, it may have had a double bed, but in no way was there room for two people and their clothes and toiletries and business luggage. Sent my companion to a separate room! Appreciate the no-smoking rule and being on the top floor to reduce noise. Very quiet and clean. The lack of a room clock was frustrating. Had we been on holiday, timeliness would not have been an issue. Love the in-room coffee and tea service. The location is great, close to transportation and attractions, but not so close that it's noisy and busy. Walked to Nieuw Market and Rembrandt Huis and Trippenhuis easily. Staff were v friendly with maps and adapting chargers and even let me store some meds in their refrigerator. I'd visit again, just with a travel clock.

Room Tip: Room on the upper floor have less noise and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dog_Rescue_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here from 3rd June to 6th June for 3 nights. It was a total of 16 people group booking and had booked 7 rooms in Falcon. The first positive thing which comes to my mind is its audacious location which is situated close to the central Amsterdam Dam's square. The small bits of thing which one can look for is very close by starting from side scenes, Indian restaurants market place etc. Its a typical 3 star hotel. Given the cost and its availability all round the year as I made a last minute booking its a budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mejortravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

the problem is that we needed a triple bed room. also Amsterdam is quite expensive, so if you want to now spend over $300/night and you are going there on a holiday weekend well, then you get this. The room is very very small with 3 narrow beds in it. there is barely room for you to even step in between the beds. the pictures we saw on the booking.com website were very deceiving. the building and the rooms are run down. the bathroom too. the staff is unfriendly. the breakfast mediocre. it did have free parking. but I was quite disappointed for that price I expected a little better. It is not even that centrally located so you could say well, at least the location is great.

Room Tip: I really cannot say anything that could help. Just that if you are just 2, you can look into another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

When reviewing or rating a hotel in Amsterdam, it is important to consider the standard and type of accommodation on offer in Amsterdam. Having visited the city many times, I am aware that good accommodation is generally quite pricey and anything else is pretty average.
Falcon Plaza was an "OK" option in the "anything else" category. The hotel is easy to find, about 15mins walk from Central Station. Location-wise it is about a 10 - 15min walk to major touristic areas.
The reception staff were all fine, no one was rude or unhelpful, though, to be fair, my interactions with the staff were limited. The hotel itself needs an update - the rooms were a reasonable size, but really needed a good clean, especially the bathrooms. The grout in the shower recess looked like it hadn't been scrubbed in a very long time and under the sink area was really quite unclean. We know this was not a one-off as we had 2 rooms, and they were both the same. There was also inappropriate text scribbled on the wall inside our wardrobe. In the corridors, there were doors with handles falling off and general wear-and-tear throughout common areas. Wouldn't suggest this hotel during the warmest parts of summer as it didn't appear to have aircon in the rooms.
The breakfast was surprisingly OK. Many hotels in European destinations offer very basic options, and although it wasn't the widest selection, it wasn't the worst breakfast I've ever had in a hotel.
To conclude, good location, pretty tired hotel, that would benefit from a bit of love.
For the right rate, a good option for a short, cost-effective visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiehotelinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The only thing good about this place is the location... The room given to me was below the staircase which means I could hear people go up and down al through the night.. The no smoking rule is good athough a lot of hotels in Amsterdam have it. The staff is just not at all helpful and would not like to communicate!... It is relatively clean and the distance from Central station is a taxi ride away...

Room Tip: Dont take the room below the stairs....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sameeshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#125 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,338 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Botel Zebra
Botel Zebra
#264 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#227 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#215 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,192 reviews
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#50 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Plaza Hotel

Property: Falcon Plaza Hotel
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Hotel Falcon Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing