We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“falcon stay”
Review of Falcon Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falcon Plaza Hotel
Ranked #312 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
Amsterdam
1
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very Nice Dutch Hotel. Good for either a short or long stay. Fantastic basic room with a double bed. Funny Staff!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 400 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I picked this lodging based on a combo of location first then value...I made a good selection on this handy Amsterdam hotel....It is only about one block off the big street that goes by the waterfront..etc....We did not try the restaurant ...Room was not noisy ....All things in the room worked and it was very clean...The front desk folks were very, very helpful in guiding us around Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was happy with the hotel in many ways. Room was nice. Sound isolation was good enough. Personnel in the reception and in the breakfast were all very friendly. Location was suitable for me.
For me one of the most important thing in a hotel room is the bed. The maddress shoud be firm and straight and pillow should be not thick. Perhaps I could have asked the personnel for a smaller pillow.
I enjoyed my stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sakari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Falcon Plaza Hotel's location is shabby and dirty, with graffitti everywhere, also on the edge of the red light district. The hotel staff were friendly but could not give any information about the places to visit in Amsterdam and did not know anything about The Netherlands, only Pakistani staff, no Dutch Nationals which was surprising. The breakfast was very good and offered plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank KAASAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice hotel ten minute walk from the central station, close to Rembrandt square too rooms are nothing special but they did the job, showers were lovely and powerful, breakfast was ok, quite a quiet hotel and in a good location, would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachiebabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had booked a single room for the first night, it was awful to say the least. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned in a while, the bed had terrible water stains. The second night I had a double room with a friend, it was a lot better, cleaner and a lot more comfortable. I think it's a coin toss, some rooms are awful, others are quite nice. The breakfast was good, a buffet with cereals, breads and buns, ham, cheese, eggs, quite varied. It's a short walk from the train station so that's a plus. It's also just outside the crowded areas of Amsterdam so it's quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights. I figured, it's only a place to sleep and I won't be there much due to exploring and site seeing.

First off, there's no air conditioning. That might be okay during the winter months but during mid August, was a bit too warm for my comfort. I kept the windows open to create some circulation. It would have been better if every room had a fan for summer to alleviate some of the heat.

With the windows open, the fire department across the street were always on alert. Now, I don't think there are too many fires in Amsterdam, so the department must be running drills hourly throughout the night.

I noticed that I had a small rash on the backs of my arms after the second night. I took some hay-fever tablets thinking it might be the soap detergent from the bed sheets. The rash got worse every day. On the last night during my stay, I pulled the duvet back (since it was hot, I was sleeping on top of the duvet), and saw over a dozen bed bugs!!!!

When I got back home, my entire body had been riddled with bug bites! (This was after the swelling had subsided and I could see the two dots from their mouth in each bite). I had to go to the pharmacy and buy 4 different itch and body creams. I honestly looked like I was diseased. I had to wear jeans and long sleeve shirts for a week! I couldn't stop scratching for days.

I went to the reception to inform them of the infestation. They didn't seem too concerned and gave me a 20% discount on my stay. Honestly, with as many bites as I had,... I should have had my money back. I must have had between 1-2,000 bites!

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Now that I know my way around Amsterdam, next time, I will know which hotel too book!

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BangedUpAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Monet Garden Hotel Amsterdam
Monet Garden Hotel Amsterdam
#184 of 376 in Amsterdam
36 reviews
Hostelle
#34 of 253 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,028 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#68 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,043 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 376 in Amsterdam
5,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Plaza Hotel

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $177 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Falcon Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Falcon Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing