We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review for Room #18” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Paris Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Ranked #270 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review for Room #18”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel location is great. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room is the smallest that I ever stayed in any place and country. everything in the room works fine but the room is very, very small not worth the money I paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Yenamandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    114
    131
    67
    72
See reviews for
53
154
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at a cost of nearly £300 and were incredibly disappointed. The room and bathroom were tiny, and there was a really weird smell that would not shift. We also had a strange encounter with a staff member who demanded we leave our hotel room so that they could service it, am I being precious or can you opt out of servicing??

We spent as little time as possible in the room but even that felt like too much!

Location is great, but that's all I can say.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 111SaraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night but after having a look at the room we wanted to stay in a friends house and sleep on the floor. The hotel is extremely out dated with tiny corridors, tiny lift and even tinier rooms! The receptionist explanation was that Amsterdam is tiny too... Bathrooms are also very worn out with scratched bathtubs. The rooms are also very noisy, you can hear everything, all you neighbours. On top of this it is shockingly expensive! We will never go back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I booked the hotel to attend an interview in the nearby area. I was looking for a cheap place to stay for the night.
It was OK, great location and prices quite low regarding other hotels in the neighborhood. But that's it. The hotel is quite noisy, with the ground creaking at each step. No airco; when I arrived the window was wide open and the room full of mosquitoes (what a night!).
The bedding was less than OK and the breakfast couldn't be simpler. Free Wifi was useful but TV wasn't working.
Good point was the bathroom. It was really clean with a lot of space (the opposite of the room).
Also it seems the hotel is attracting young people (mostly men) coming to party and enjoy the quite low fairs, so if you forget your ear plugs you can be woken up quite early in the morning.
The front desk was OK but the guys were very slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gevgelija, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel has the perfect location but the service and condition of the hotel is very poor.
We arrived late at night 3am and the guy at the front desk was very rude and told us that we were not on the list of guests even though our agency made reservations and payed 1 month in advance for the one week stay.
We explained this to the guy at the reception and contacted our agent but he almost threw us in the street.
Very arogant little man (he never showed up at work after this incident)
Never mind the rough arrival we went in the tiny - midget rooms, in my room the sink and the light didn't worked so I asked to get another room. In the new room the heat didn't worked and I slept for one week next to the windy window in January.
I didn't wanted to ask for another room and be very demanding guest.
The breakfast was wonderful, a lot of varieties of food.
All in all if you choose to stay here don't expect anything but bed and roof during your stay. The curtains on the window are never washed and very dirty and they touch your face while you sleep.
The bathroom is for midgets also... It wouldn't fit normal person.
I used the toilet with the door open so my knees wouldn't push the door.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARIAKBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked a room for 3 people for 5 days via booking.com but the room we got was nothing close to the picture on the website. We were given a room at a -1 floor. Not only the staircase was a life hazard, but outside our window was a yard that we had no access to while other guests did. This resulted in noise coming from outside and a smell of smoke straight to our room. The room itself was very small for three people, we had no luggage space and needed to leave our suitcases open on the floor the whole stay (5 days). The water at the shower wasn't always hot, sometimes not even warm. Can you imagine taking a shower at 8am at freezing water?!the staff was ok, excluding one guy that basically did us a favor talking....
However I must say the location was great: 5 minutes by foot to Leidseplein, Voldenpark and the Hard Rock caffe. 20 minutes walk to the central bus station, Dam square etc.

Room Tip: If you ordered a certain room but received something totally different -don't settle up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nami_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A budget hotel located in city centrum. The value lies in the location of hotel, and not the room facilities itself. Located close to the beautiful and charming canal districts of the city. Room standard offered the basic need, but I would prefer a better air quality at my room. Good breakfast. Free WIFI, but not very stable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllinorOvidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#301 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#134 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#234 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
#209 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris Amsterdam

Property: Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Address: Marnixstraat 372, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Paris is the most ideal hotel for you if you are travelling to Amsterdam for party night, celebration, pub crawl or just for fun evenings. The hotel is ocated in the heart of the city, just 3 minutes walk away from Amsterdam's top entertainment district Leidseplein. Bus to Schiphol Airport and tram to central station is few hundred meters away. The hotel is also very ideal for museum lovers. Amsterdam's most famous museums; van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk museum, Anne Frank House, Diamond museum all are located within 10-12 minutes walking distance from the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathrooms and quality room amenities. Free Wi-Fi access in all rooms and throughout the hotel. Grab a freshly brewed coffee or a hot cup of tea at any time at the reception. A continental breakfast with wide range of choice is served every morning. The surrounding area provides many different options for places to eat. From restaurants for dinner to smaller cafes for breakfast, there are several places to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Paris Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Amsterdam
Paris Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing