We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Paris Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Paris Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 372, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #272 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A budget hotel located in city centrum. The value lies in the location of hotel, and not the room facilities itself. Located close to the beautiful and charming canal districts of the city. Room standard offered the basic need, but I would prefer a better air quality at my room. Good breakfast. Free WIFI, but not very stable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllinorOvidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    114
    131
    67
    72
See reviews for
53
154
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I had the misfortune of spending two nights in the Hotel de Paris. There was an event in Amsterdam and this was one of the few hotels to have any rooms left....I can now appreciate why. Given the lack of room availability I was forced to pay nearly five times their normal rate for a terrible room (that is absolute robbery!). I specifically asked for a quiet room and ended up between the reception and the lift. Throughout the long uncomfortable nights I was woken regularly by phones and noisy conversations in the reception area, groups of drunk guests making a lot of noise whilst waiting for a lift and general hotel noise through the thin walls. The room was dirty and all the fixtures and fittings were old and past their best. I have stayed in many hotels in Amsterdam and wil never stay in this hotel again. It is one of the worst hotels I have sayed in anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Al_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is comfortably located right near Leidseplein in central Amsterdam. My room was small but ok for 1 person, TV worked normally, the shower/toilet is in good condition.

The reception staff was polite and helpful.

For breakfast there wasn't much choice, but I didn't stay hungry - yogurt, rolls or croissants, cheese and jam was quite enough for me (I really didn't like the taste of the scrambled eggs which was the only hot option).

On the whole, the hotel is ok for staying a couple of nights, especially if your neighbours are not too noisy (as there's practically no sound insulation, and you can hear people in other rooms).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FleurNordM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel is directly across from a bar and it is extremely noisy until 4-6 am; not only because of the bar opposite, but because of the hotel's proximity to all the other bars and party spots in the area. Inside the room, noise can be easily heard from all surrounding rooms and from the hallway outside of the room. Room and bathroom was very small. Door to room did not seem very secure. Public areas of hotel are dirty. Would absolutely never go here again, and would never recommend this hotel to anyone - given the cost of the rooms. Go to the Marriott up the street - it will only cost you a few more Euros for more comfort and better quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Letsgotrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I took a early morning flight and arrived at hotel around 9am. Surprisingly, they let me check-in and upgrade me to a compact double from single room booked. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and clean, and definitely worth the price paid.

On a side note, it is true for those who mentioned noise. I can hear people talking and walking outside clearly. Hotel management should do something to improve the acoustic performance of the room. Breakfast is simple but acceptable, good coffee machine available all day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chigal-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

having left our trip to the last minute, we struggled to find a good hotel at a good price. We ended up booking here and on arrival everything seemed ok. The location is not bad, 10-15 minute walk to dam square, Leidseplein just around the corner and also the museum district is only 5 minutes away. We were in the basement but our window opened on to the back patio type area. Not sure if you could use it but we smoked out there anyway. The hotel states its no smoking but there was a massive ashtray outside our room and the room next door was also smoking.

On first impressions the room seemed fine, standard sized room more than big enough for 3 people. The bathroom seemed nice however had not been cleaned properly which was a disappointment. When dividing towels between us we were horrified to find a suspicious brown stain on the towels, the hotel changed these quickly but still it was disgusting and made us feel dirty when using the other towels.

The hotel is soo noisy, we heard everything and so it made it difficult to sleep. its as if the walls are made of paper and as the breakfast room was above us trying to sleep past 7am was difficult.

No hot water on Sunday meaning cold showers for all. Overall I would not stay here again

Room Tip: if you can sleep through anything you will be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isit5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stenungsund, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a cute hotel. Don't expect to much. The room we had was small. They don't really do big rooms here except maybe when you book a room for 4!
The walls are very thin. But it didn't really bothered us. We spend a couple nights there, but during the day/night we were out and exploring. Find another hotel when you are planning a romantic weekend inn.
Good located for visting Rijksmuseum, ( a must, I think when you are in A'dam!)
The breakfast was descend and the staff was friendly. I could come back here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoveForTravellling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#302 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#116 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#133 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#238 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
#211 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#67 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris Amsterdam

Property: Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Address: Marnixstraat 372, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Paris is the most ideal hotel for you if you are travelling to Amsterdam for party night, celebration, pub crawl or just for fun evenings. The hotel is ocated in the heart of the city, just 3 minutes walk away from Amsterdam's top entertainment district Leidseplein. Bus to Schiphol Airport and tram to central station is few hundred meters away. The hotel is also very ideal for museum lovers. Amsterdam's most famous museums; van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk museum, Anne Frank House, Diamond museum all are located within 10-12 minutes walking distance from the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathrooms and quality room amenities. Free Wi-Fi access in all rooms and throughout the hotel. Grab a freshly brewed coffee or a hot cup of tea at any time at the reception. A continental breakfast with wide range of choice is served every morning. The surrounding area provides many different options for places to eat. From restaurants for dinner to smaller cafes for breakfast, there are several places to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Paris Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Amsterdam
Paris Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing