We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Ranked #276 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 5, 2014

having left our trip to the last minute, we struggled to find a good hotel at a good price. We ended up booking here and on arrival everything seemed ok. The location is not bad, 10-15 minute walk to dam square, Leidseplein just around the corner and also the museum district is only 5 minutes away. We were in the basement but our window opened on to the back patio type area. Not sure if you could use it but we smoked out there anyway. The hotel states its no smoking but there was a massive ashtray outside our room and the room next door was also smoking.

On first impressions the room seemed fine, standard sized room more than big enough for 3 people. The bathroom seemed nice however had not been cleaned properly which was a disappointment. When dividing towels between us we were horrified to find a suspicious brown stain on the towels, the hotel changed these quickly but still it was disgusting and made us feel dirty when using the other towels.

The hotel is soo noisy, we heard everything and so it made it difficult to sleep. its as if the walls are made of paper and as the breakfast room was above us trying to sleep past 7am was difficult.

No hot water on Sunday meaning cold showers for all. Overall I would not stay here again

Room Tip: if you can sleep through anything you will be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isit5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 511 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a cute hotel. Don't expect to much. The room we had was small. They don't really do big rooms here except maybe when you book a room for 4!
The walls are very thin. But it didn't really bothered us. We spend a couple nights there, but during the day/night we were out and exploring. Find another hotel when you are planning a romantic weekend inn.
Good located for visting Rijksmuseum, ( a must, I think when you are in A'dam!)
The breakfast was descend and the staff was friendly. I could come back here.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LoveForTravellling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed in hotel de paris with my partner for 4 nights during a conference in Amsterdam.
The room was so tiny so I was surprised they called it "double", not that clean and incredible noisy. Not only you can hear *anything* that is going on in your neighbor's rooms (for example plugging the phone charger), but most important the noisy street. Earplugs is a must.
The bathroom is so small so you cannot close the door if you want to use toilet.
And the shower, beware of the water coming down as hot lava!

The breakfast, not that good for the price, just like the overall price was very high for the experience you get (price probably inflated for conference).

Only good thing is that it is very close to museums and got good communication to the center.


Conclusion: pick another hotel and you will be happy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Had an enjoyable stay because of location stayed in basement, disliked the sink in the bathroom water clogged up in it and it became really dirty for things like washing teeth, I felt that although the hotel was in a good location the staff weren't very friendly or helpful

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

friendly receptonists, nice room, nice location, wifi everywhere, coffee tea free of charge (good coffee tea), good price.
We used to stay in Ams in the hotel 1 star for the same money. but this one..surpised us. very friendly dutch people. We will come back

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel, we stayed for 4 nights and it was just what we needed.
The location was good, only needing to use the tram to get to and from the train station on arrival and leaving.
The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay and everything was very clean in our room and bathroom.
We didn't pay for any food but were able to help ourselves to a variety of coffees and teas whenever we wanted from the dining area.
Beds were super comfy, room was a good size and we had a lovely bathroom with very powerful shower!
Free WiFi was a bonus and had good signal.
The one negative was the walls were quite thin from room to room so you have to hope for not overly noisy neighbours.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We were here for a night, midweek,the staff were very helpful and friendly,good to be able to leave the bags early, and late on leave day.Downsides, steep,steep stairs, and a 8am drill call from the naghborly building team.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank QL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#321 of 375 in Amsterdam
375 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#149 of 375 in Amsterdam
470 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#105 of 375 in Amsterdam
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#104 of 375 in Amsterdam
894 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#200 of 375 in Amsterdam
268 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#281 of 375 in Amsterdam
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris Amsterdam

Address: Marnixstraat 372, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $91 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Paris is the most ideal hotel for you if you are travelling to Amsterdam for party night, celebration, pub crawl or just for fun evenings. The hotel is ocated in the heart of the city, just 3 minutes walk away from Amsterdam's top entertainment district Leidseplein. Bus to Schiphol Airport and tram to central station is few hundred meters away. The hotel is also very ideal for museum lovers. Amsterdam's most famous museums; van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk museum, Anne Frank House, Diamond museum all are located within 10-12 minutes walking distance from the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathrooms and quality room amenities. Free Wi-Fi access in all rooms and throughout the hotel. Grab a freshly brewed coffee or a hot cup of tea at any time at the reception. A continental breakfast with wide range of choice is served every morning. The surrounding area provides many different options for places to eat. From restaurants for dinner to smaller cafes for breakfast, there are several places to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Paris Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Amsterdam
Paris Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing