We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Ranked #273 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel De Paris is a very well located hotel to explore the centre of Amsterdam. Yes the rooms are small and bathroom very compact but it is clean and we couldn't fault any of the staff. The gentlemen on reception were helpful and courteous and moved us from our noisy room without delay. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as you won't hear any traffic noise and can sleep with the window open if hot. Plenty of choice for breakfast which is replenished regularly and free tea and coffee available 24hrs. Would certainly recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 508 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Apart from having to suffer a very noisy neighbour in the shape of 4 rather stoned German boys on our 1st night which I have to say was dealt with very well by the lovely staff in this hotel .We had a fab time here and would certainly stay again. .Some of the rooms are quite small though so be warned

Room Tip: Top floor is the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great price for the location. It had all the basics, about 1minute walk to the center of town which was an important factor. Made getting around town very easy.
It's not the prettiest room, its basically just a place to rest your head at night.
Didn't really interact with the staff, except for check in and check out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyger9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

its very nuce hotel and the staf were very nice kind although we arrived befor the chakin thet let us drop the luggage and go to travel the city.
breakfast is very good diverse.
the room was to small for me and the bed wasnt so comfortable, but in the other hand i didnt came for stay in the hotel so it was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Omri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Upon arriving we found ourselves greeted by a rude man who basically threw down the ins and outs of the place. We then found ourselves in a room on the same floor as the reception, oh my flipping heck!! Don't take that room, you can hear everything that goes on in reception, the cleaners constantly, the voices of everyone passing through the hotel (going in and out). The bathroom was tiny, the room was dark and the bed was uncomfortable, most of the lights didn't work. TV was awful, it had next to no channels that were watchable.

We attempted to go for breakfast but it wasn't what we expected, no food left and we was there within time. No facilites to get a coffee during the night?? Even though we were told we could use the coffee machine by one member of staff, another told us not!! And then he went on to tell us we wasn't able to go outside for a cigarette during the night. Many reviews say strong smell of weed but we didn't smell any. Deffo for a budget holiday - make sure you don't stay on the ground floor, you don't get any sleep. Try ask for a room away from everyone else as this hotel has super thin walls!! The dining room was ultra tiny for the amount of people staying as well, probably why we didn't get breakfast even though we went within an hour of serving time up!!!

Believe the negative reviews, they are true!!

Room Tip: not ground floor, ask for a secluded room. hotel has thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EdwardPoisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have just arrived back from two fantastic nights in Amsterdam. I honestly could not fault the De Paris Hotel. The location is brilliant, it is within walking distance to shops, cafes, restaurants, coffee shops and all the tourist spots. Museum quarter is about 10 mins by foot You could walk from the hotel to Dam Square/Central station in around 30mins, but the trams are so reasonable and they take 5-10 mins. Red light district is about 20mins walk.

The hotel itself is clean, well maintained, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room we had was number 8, which was on the same floor as reception. The hotel was huge, with a very comfortable double bed, lovely bathroom and a TV. Myself and my partner are both very deep sleepers, but if you are a light sleeper, i would request another room, as you may hear people coming and going.

We only had the breakfast one morning, and it was more than sufficient. Cereals, hams, cheese, bread, fruit and crossiants, although there are so many places nearby where you can eat as well.

All in all, i would 100% recommend this hotel for the location, as well as the standard of the hotel, and we are already planning on going back in the Summer!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, not room 8. If you are not, snap this one up!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sam2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Read some awful reviews about this hotel before I went and was a bit apprehensive. However I was pleasantly surprised :) The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was very clean and modern. The room was quite dinky but I enjoyed its quirkiness, it was a 'Small Double' after all. My boyfriend and I were incredibly happy with the hotel, its facilities and the location. We felt very comfortable and at home here.

Saying this I am quite a small person, I would recommend larger/taller couples opt for a larger room as they are indeed very compact. i.e. small double bed (extremely comfy though) and compact bathroom which would not be suitable for very tall people.

Room Tip: Small double means small double ! If you are a larger than average person/couple, opt for a bigger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissHayleyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#317 of 373 in Amsterdam
373 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#137 of 373 in Amsterdam
465 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#106 of 373 in Amsterdam
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#89 of 373 in Amsterdam
890 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#268 of 373 in Amsterdam
232 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#208 of 373 in Amsterdam
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris Amsterdam

Address: Marnixstraat 372, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $82 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Paris is the most ideal hotel for you if you are travelling to Amsterdam for party night, celebration, pub crawl or just for fun evenings. The hotel is ocated in the heart of the city, just 3 minutes walk away from Amsterdam's top entertainment district Leidseplein. Bus to Schiphol Airport and tram to central station is few hundred meters away. The hotel is also very ideal for museum lovers. Amsterdam's most famous museums; van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk museum, Anne Frank House, Diamond museum all are located within 10-12 minutes walking distance from the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathrooms and quality room amenities. Free Wi-Fi access in all rooms and throughout the hotel. Grab a freshly brewed coffee or a hot cup of tea at any time at the reception. A continental breakfast with wide range of choice is served every morning. The surrounding area provides many different options for places to eat. From restaurants for dinner to smaller cafes for breakfast, there are several places to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Paris Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Amsterdam
Paris Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing