We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Paris Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Ranked #271 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

A very old, run down hotel. Bed was bad. Bathroom was ok. rooms very small. no ventilation. could not open window as there was a barge outside our window. But hotel is on the main road and close to the Museum area and food joints. Locality was buzzing. breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dilberkatrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    127
    147
    72
    77
See reviews for
63
167
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were very badly and rudely treated by a tall, dark receptionist with specs (Glasses).When we enquired his name an other receptionist told us it was COLLIT or QUALIT.He told us that he gave us the smallest room on purpose.He told us very rudely to take our baggage out of the place where the earlier receptionist has asked us to place them ,as we reached earlier than our check in time.He made the stay very uncomfortable and scary.When my wife stepped out of the hotel to make a phone call she had to ring the bell thrice and had to wait for 4 to 5 mints at 7 am in the cold to step back in as he wldnt open the electronic door even though he was standing idle.The room he gave us was the smallest and crampiest in the world.

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody because of him.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUJIT V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Antwerpen
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

hotel is not bad but beware for the price policies of the front desk; we saw pricedifferences happen of 40%. Rooms are reasonable but the clients are apparently used to living in the corridors. quiet location near the busiest spot of weekend fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank maarten v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The only positive thing I have to say about staying at this hotel was that I booked it with AVIOS (air miles) so did not have to pay hard cash to stay at this run down, shoddy, noisy, ill-maintained shack of a hotel. As a note to self the learning experience is (a) always read TripAdvisor reviews and (b) avoid these types of small hotels that get a look in on account of location.

I knew as soon as the taxi pulled up this would be a nightmare with scaffolding all over the front of the hotel, we walk up the stairs past the refuse sacks and laundry sacks (nice touch) and into the lobby (decorated a la Bates motel) to meet the unhelpful check in guy (there are 3 they are all unhelpful), no early in check-in (surprise) but we can leave our bags (by the coffee machine in the dining area (safe?)....

We return later to check in and get offered room 8 or 12 either ground floor but BIG by the lift or 1st floor and small by the lift, we take 8 and the fun truly begins?

Forgetting trivial matters like the hair-dryer shorting out and overheating intermittently, the water in the showers varying from scalding to ice cold for no apparent reason, the fact that requests for extra pillows and towels was met with surly indifference.....the real gem of this place was the noise- you hear everything from the street, we heard every other guest staying (from what i read in the dungeons) coming home and waking up, even our unhelpful reception staff talking on their mobile in reception......but wait for it, we had a fire alarm at just before 7 AM the first morning set off by steam in a guests's bathroom and then every morning had the 8 AM wake-up call as we had scaffolding erected outside our window and disturbing conservatively 70% of the guest rooms directly with no apology and one US guest in tears and hysterics (we heard every word of her complaints as they were delivered to unhelpful clerk number 2) and her muffled sobbing when she want to her room (next to ours) as my girlfriend and I sat dumbfounded in our room?

My advice don't ever stay here, location yes is helpful but taxis are reasonable and the trams are super regular....please heed my advice and avoid hotels like this, they will never change as they don't have to as they rely on offers and out of date photos to get you there....those that have posted positive reviews genuinely mystify me as I travel frequently around the world and this place takes the biscuit.......N-E-V-E-R stay here, the best sleep we had as a couple was on the flight home with 100 odd other passengers and a screaming child...

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheppardg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

well, i booked this hotel on laterooms.com , double bed with a good view but i turned up and the guy put me to sleep in the dome room ,, with 3 beds in the horrible basement :( so i asked them to change the room for me coz it wasnt like the one i booked on laterooms , they said no more room so i think if they cant not deliver what they were saying on laterooms , so dont recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sb r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great location. caught 197 bus from airport, only 4 euros each , to Leidspleine then 5 minute walk to hotel. Do not book small double room as there is not enough room for 2 people and 2 suitcases. Travel by tram easy and cheap., 3 day pass 16 euros

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our Ode to Hotel de Paris Amsterdam

Your lobby is tattered and worn, a precursor to what lie ahead
Stepping into the elevator filled us with further dread
Slowly opening the door to what we thought would be a beautiful room
Realization of the horror soon filled us with doom
A bed crammed in the corner too small for sleep
This would be the least of our problems as we began to weep
Dirty, cramped, buggy, so noisy, and hot
Not even one kind front desk clerk could be sought
We slept not a wink, no amenities to enjoy
Stay here and surely the vacation you will destroy.

Heed our warning. Had we taken the time to read the reviews we would NOT have stayed here. Miserable, miserable, miserable experience.

Room Tip: Book at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#315 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#145 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#281 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
#228 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#292 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris Amsterdam

Property: Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Address: Marnixstraat 372, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Paris is the most ideal hotel for you if you are travelling to Amsterdam for party night, celebration, pub crawl or just for fun evenings. The hotel is ocated in the heart of the city, just 3 minutes walk away from Amsterdam's top entertainment district Leidseplein. Bus to Schiphol Airport and tram to central station is few hundred meters away. The hotel is also very ideal for museum lovers. Amsterdam's most famous museums; van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk museum, Anne Frank House, Diamond museum all are located within 10-12 minutes walking distance from the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathrooms and quality room amenities. Free Wi-Fi access in all rooms and throughout the hotel. Grab a freshly brewed coffee or a hot cup of tea at any time at the reception. A continental breakfast with wide range of choice is served every morning. The surrounding area provides many different options for places to eat. From restaurants for dinner to smaller cafes for breakfast, there are several places to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel de Paris Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Amsterdam
Paris Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing