We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted from our trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #86 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Co. Tipperary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted from our trip.”
Reviewed December 17, 2006

My husband daughter and I have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Wiechmann. When the Opstopper picked us up at the Station, someone mentioned a day budget hotel and my heart plummeted. However when we arrived I knew it was exactly what we wanted. A small family style hotel, full of character and ambience. Yes the rooms are basic but very clean and all you need except a hairdryer, which they probably could have provided but I never asked. The situation is perfect, near everything. We got to see so much in the 3 days and all on foot. The staff were really nice and helpful, before we arrived and during out stay, even recommended a lovely restaurant. The breakfast room was a threat. We loved watching the world go by over a leisurely breakfast. In our opinion it is a great 2 star typical canal house ..hotel ...with the traditional steep stairs. The price may be considered high, but it is on Princengracht ., the best area in amsterdam,so central, you save a lot on transport costs. We hope to re-visit Amsterdam again and will stay definitely in the Wiechmann.

The Walsh Family
Co. Tipperary
Ireland

  • Liked — The olde worlde ambience,..... totally Dutch.
  • Disliked — Soft Bed ?
  • Tips/Secrets — Inter-react with staff, and you will find them most helpfull. Most speak a few languages.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank familytrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    409
    112
    16
    24
See reviews for
161
356
88
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

Stayed 5 days in June. Excellently situated and clean. The suites are an excellent choice and compete well in price. Staff very helpful. Only negative was the limited choice for breakfast but with many cafes nearby this is not a problem

  • Liked — Space
  • Disliked — Steep stairs
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2006

Stayed here for three nights for our second wedding anniversary. We stayed in room 240 which had two big double windows and a set of double doors opening out onto a balcony (well more of a ledge really) but the view was quite spectacular.
The stairs are incredibly steep and quite hard to negotiate with luggage, but it is worth it for the view from the room. The bathroom was clean and tidy with bath and shower, although some of the furniture in the room could do with being replaced. The hotel facilities are fairly limited, but with the central location it didn't really matter anyway. Breakfast is served until 10am and there's a pretty good selection.
Would stay here again, but only in room 239 or 240

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wightrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 19, 2006

Stayed here for the weekend with my boyfriend. We were in room 239, ask for it, it was the ONLY saving grace. This is not a real hotel, more like a Bed and Breakfast. It's like staying at your grandparents house, but grandparents that are cash strapped and haven't redecorated in 30 years. Everything is shabby and there is no real hotel service at all. You have your own key to the front door, and there are no typical hotel amenities. But the location can't be beat. It's lovely. Room 239 is large with huge bay windows and a great view of the canal. Though the walls are cracking and everything is old, the bathroom was newish and clean. I imagine there is better value for money to be found in Amsterdam, but we loved the view and the size of our canal facing room.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2006

We had two people in a three person room and it was nice and spacious. The view of the Canal was great and we also enjoyed the breakfast. The front desk staff was kind and helpful although they were not great at giving suggestions or any extra information. The free internet access in the lobby is a bonus. The only down-side is that the beds are really soft. I would stay there again.

Helpful?
4 Thank JCbauer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2006

My husband and I loved our four days at Hotel Weichmann...this was our first trip to Amsterdam and we found the hotel in a perfect location, not touristy, yet close to everything. The rooms are small and plain, but the staff was always helpful and the breakfast room bright and cheery with a good, basic choice of items. The free use of computers with internet was a nice bonus. Ask for room 307 (125 euro per night), as we seemed to luck out for our honeymoon and had one of the only rooms with a balcony overlooking the canal. No doubt there are fancier hotels or maybe even better deals, but this was a lovely choice and we definitely would return to Hotel Wiechmann.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mmgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We stayed at this hotel because of its great reviews we found it appalling value for money. This is not a hotel but an overpriced B+B we paid 135 euros per night. The rooms are tired and grubby we had no view, no iron and no kettle. Look eleswhere for a better deal you can do so much better.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank gerry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#121 of 367 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,002 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#39 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#52 of 367 in Amsterdam
854 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 367 in Amsterdam
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 328-332 | Prindengracht 328 - 332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, comfy family hotel in the center of Amsterdam on one of the nicest corners in town. Clean and friendly, a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing