We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“First trip to Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #79 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First trip to Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed here with a friend last week. Very good location for a hotel and convenient for walking everywhere you might want to visit. It's within the " Nine Streets area " and there are lots of places to eat in the evening. The hotel is a very interesting building and it was very unusual to be able to stay in a canal house. The stairs are steep but we both managed them and we're "ancient"! We thought the breakfasts were good and everything was very fresh and clean and cheerful. Some of the staff at the desk were nicer than others but the hotel was very good value considering we visited in the holiday period and Amsterdam is fairly pricey.

Room Tip: We had a room with no canal view but didn't mind as we weren't in our room very much and did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    373
    106
    14
    21
See reviews for
145
327
84
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Collingswood, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

The staff at the hotel were very, very nice and helpful as well. The breakfast was okay but nothing special. I suppose you could characterize the hotel as funky, but it really needs a re-do. The location is excellent and the neighborhood is great. I think the hotel is a bit overpriced at $200 a night.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the canal. While the view was lovely, the street noise was quite noticeabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The best part of this hotel is the location. If you just need a place to sleep and be within walking distance of everything then this will work for you.

Just a warning...if you have any problems climbing stairs this hotel is not good for you. The stairs are extremely steep!! It's almost like climbing a ladder to get to the upper floors. We brought our dog with us and she had problems getting down.

Room Tip: Be careful of the stairs....they are extremely steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is very cozy and comfortable and when you compare it with some of the other hotels in the same area it is a terrific value. We had one of the back bedrooms with no canal view. But it was charming & spacious with a desk /chair and two additional chairs. The beds are perfect! The room was completely quiet at night. There's no air conditioning but the windows open providing plenty of fresh air and a nice breeze.
The breakfast is generous with much to choose from. I especially appreciated the Dutch Spice Bread and the breakfast room has a fantastic view of the canals. What a great way to start each day!
The location could not have been better. Everything was walking distance yet it felt like a real neighborhood too.
The staff all go out of their way to be helpful and have lots of good advice.
NOTE: The stairs are steep but the staff will kindly take your suitcases up & down.
We would definitely return to The Wiechmann!
Our one request is that espresso be available for breakfast. It's currently available only afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I, plus our college-age daughter and son, took an 8 night trip to Belgium and the Netherlands in June 2014. We were in Amsterdam for three nights at the Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel. The location was probably perfect, sitting on the intersection of two canals, in the center of all the tourist sites, but in a basically quiet area with many restaurants and brown cafés. In 20 minutes or less, you could walk to just about every place you’d want to see in the city. Since we were travelling by car, we parked at the Park+Ride and took the tram to closest stop (more on that later).
We paid €733 for three nights for a family room on the 1st floor overlooking Prinsengracht canal (see photo). It had a double and two twin beds, lots of storage and original detail. The hotel appears to be 3 canal houses that were fused together as one. Our room was directly above the main lobby and entrance, but we never had an issue with noise from below. The bedrooms were probably the main parlor and ante-parlor of this floor with a windowed pocket door between the two rooms. The floor creaked and squeaked with every step. The bathroom was modern and very large, but had a wet floor shower – which basically was an indoor puddle by the time the 4th person took a shower.
There was free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For breakfast (included), there was a typical European buffet – juices, yogurt, cereal, toast, tea and coffee in tiny cups, cold cuts and cheese. The best part of breakfast was watching the buzz of bicyclists outside the huge windows going about their business – to work, daycare, running errands, and (probably) returning home from clubbing the night before!
In general, I would say the property is a bit worn down but curiously eclectic in its decorations.

On parking, I read you could pay an arm and leg to park in the city and risk an accident trying to drive in the city, making the P+R highly attractive. Now with experience, while the former may be true, I would disagree with the latter. On the way to the hotel, we opted for the P+R (€1/day!) and attempted to get to the hotel by tram. We needed to switch lines to avoid a 20 minute walk with luggage to the hotel, but transferring meant navigating to the next corner of the very busy square during rush hour. After dragging our bags over cobbled streets and barley missing the next tram in our direction, we gave up and took a taxi for €8. On the final day, I went to the P+R by tram on my own, got the car, and picked up the family in front of the hotel. Driving was easier than advertised and I would recommend that plan for anyone with a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Our room was on the corner of the first floor. The room was very spacious and there was a nice deep tub in the bathroom. The young man who checked us in was the most helpful and outgoing of all the staff we encountered.

The hotel has no air-conditioning and without the windows open, it would have been very uncomfortable to sleep. And since our windows faced the canal, it was very noisy with them open. This street seems to always be busy! In the 2 days we were there, I got very little good sleep.

Also, typical of Amsterdam, the interior stairways are steep and treacherous.

The decor was a combination of nice old antiques, many with rather worn upholstery, and very dated, worn carpet and tacky bedspreads.

The breakfast was meager at best. We ate out the first morning but made due with boiled eggs and toast the 2nd morning.

While nothing was awful, I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EcoLogic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed two nights in this charming hotel in the canal district of Amsterdam. This was the perfect introduction to Europe for my husband. We had a corner room on the first floor overlooking the canals (the steps are very steep and narrow and not suitable for people with walking problems and large suitcases can be trying). The hotel was perfect. Opening the french doors you could watch Amsterdam go by at your feet with views down the Prinsengracht canal in both directions and several streets as well! It was a little noisy as people wandered home from a night out, but the position of the room well and truly made up for this. Close to all major tourist attractions. Breakfasts were excellent and staff friendly and helpful. The bathroom was small, but adequate. This is an older style hotel, but if you want character and charm in Amsterdam this is the place for you.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the corner - go for one of them if you want to watch the world go by at your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
You were lovely guests to have! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#104 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#21 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing