We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very service oriented hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #74 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very service oriented hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was impressed by the attention to details at the
Weichmann. I personally liked the availability of hot tea at most hours of the day and night. For a cold Amsterdam night being served a cup of hot tea is extremely refreshing. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    361
    101
    13
    20
See reviews for
136
312
84
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

this is a reasonably priced hotel near the centre of Amsterdam. It has a superb breakfast room, and lounge for guests and really helpful staff. The room are small but full of character, a typical Dutch house but really well done. it is a family establishment!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My first trip to Amsterdam was made all the more fabulous by having chosen this extremely comfortable and authentic family-run hotel. The extra money that I paid for a canal view was worth every penny. The location is very central and picturesque situated at a busy but localised crossing point for traffic and pedestrians alike; but at the same time giving a wonderful snapshot of everdyay life 'Amsterdam style' as seen from the Breakfast Room, serving a varied and substantial breakfast. If I was being picky, I missed not having yoghurt and larger cups for tea or coffee. Other than that I couldn't fault the friendly service. You just can't feel that 'bygone era' vibe in a modern hotel that you experience at the 'Weichmann'!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a canal view if you can, so pretty at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ornella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very well located for access to City centre and nightlife (about 15 minute walk). Hotel right next door to one of the canals. Hotel was clean but quite old fashioned. No TV in lounge area but flat screens in the rooms. Large double bed, comfy but needed more blankets. Very deep bath to step into if you wanted a shower so not good if you have mobility issues. Room was clean but furniture, bedding, etc. very dated. Stairs very steep to all the floors (we were on the 2nd). Continental breakfast okay. Boiled eggs available but nothing else hot, just cheeses and hams and toast and jam and a bowl of tinned peaches or a bowl of fruit (no marmalade) and tea and coffee out of an urn. Breakfast room overlooks the street and canal so very pleasant but really missed a nice cooked hot breakfast option. Staff very helpful but taxi they booked for us for pickup from airport on Friday night did not turn up so we just got in a taxi at the airport and cost was the same (around EUR40). Hotel has no restaurant for lunch or dinner but there are restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArashAshkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at the Wiechmann in September 2013. We had a small room on the second floor - very steep and narrow staircase and only an internal "view" - go for the street/canal view. The breakfast room offers a wonderful sight of Amsterdam "commuting" - we were surprised there weren't more accidents as bikes of all kinds and pedestrians wove intricate crossing patterns avoiding collision. Food for breakfast was "standard" - cereal, fruit, bread, cheese and meat. No cooked food. The hotel is conveniently located within a short walk of the main train station and museums. We walked everywhere - no need for a bus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I together with another couple with whom we have been friends for 50 years stayed at Hotel Wiechmann on the nights of 18th, 19th and 20th November 2013. Although we had seen many good reviews on Tripadvsor we had also seen a few terrible reviews and were thus slightly worried. Our fears were totally unfounded. The hotel has "character" which we really liked. The staff were friendly and the clientele were reserved and pleasant people. The room in which we stayed was moderate to small with an old fashioned wardrobe but it was warm and comfortable with arm chairs, a flat screen TV and a canal view. We both have minor back trouble which can be exacerbated by some beds but we found these beds comfortable and woke with no problems. The room also had a safe. We were issued with a key to the front door, a key to the room and a key to the safe and got back our 20 Euro deposit when we left. Stairs to our room were steep but typical of Amsterdam. Breakfast was fine - not bacon and eggs but cereals, cheese, fruit, tea, toast etc. One evening we spent an hour playing bridge in the lounge which is comfortable and interesting. The hotel is within walking distance of everything - just over a mile to Central Station and just over a mile to the Concertgebouw with Dam Square, restaurants and the red light district all closer. We bought a 4 day tram ticket but could easily have managed without. If and when we go back to Amsterdam we will probably stay at Hotel Wiechmann.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had three nights this week in Hotel Wiechmann.
Room comfortable and everything worked.Furniture from a byegone age but this enables one to describe it as'full of character!'
Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast buffet was very good and taken in an excellent room with canal views.
Would certainly recommend to friends looking for a good value hotel in central Amsterdam

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#101 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#37 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#20 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing