We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cosy but expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #70 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cosy but expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a business trip during an autumn vacation period. All other hotels were fully booked, so I ended up staying at this small hotel in Joordan area. The lobby of the hotel was cosy, like going to someone's home. They even had an old dog at the lobby. My room was in the third floor, behind very narrow and steep stairs ... luckily I was traveling light :) The room itself was small, just two beds and a toilet. The window was towards the inner yard, so there was no view. The room had a slight smell of the mold.

The area was nice, lots of restaurants just around the corner. But there is no public transportation and it took 20 minutes to walk from the main railway station.

In a summary, this was no special place in any way. Everything was quite average, but the price was 150 EUR a night. Very expensive for what you get. I would not stay again.

Room Tip: No view in rooms towards inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iinatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    355
    97
    13
    19
See reviews for
133
303
83
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in mid-September, and had a really nice time. The staff is very helpful and friendly, but not intrusive. They were the best part, and the reason to return! The rooms were not huge, but comfortable, and huge windows. Location was really good, close to Leidesplein. We were on the 2nd floor, on the street side overlooking the canal. There was noise on the street, pretty much 24/7. This is an active town, and I have no idea if it would be different elsewhere, but if this is a concern, ask for a room in the back. As others have mentioned - steep and narrow stairs so be prepared! But it was a great place, and a great price. We are glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSchwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It was a really nice friendly hotel, clean & tidy,staff very friendly. I am a single traveler so i was in a room on the top floor so as mentioned by others i had to climb 4 flights of very steep steps but i was expecting this as most Amsterdam accommodation is like this, The breakfast was ok. I would have liked a canal view but only a minor issue & if im lucky i might get one when i go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a location - on the junction of 2 canals in the Jordaan!! Great views! Staff were really helpful & friendly. Rooms were smallish - but were very comfortable. Lots of stairs & no lifts though so wouldn't suit people with mobility issues. Would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Wiechmann is a small family owned hotel situated on the intersection of 2 central canals. The location is perfect. Our canal view room #239 had huge windows overlooking both canals. Beautiful! The rooms are very basic but are clean and comfortable. Our room was up two very steep narrow flights of stairs that could be difficult for some people. Breakfast is included and served in a bright ground floor dining room facing the canals as well. Like the rooms the breakfast is basic: sliced cold cuts, cheese, bread for toasting and some dry cereals and fresh fruit. We would have liked some yogurt as well and better breads. The owner and staff are all very helpful and friendly. there is a large, old, docile family dog who smells a little funky, but doesn't bother anyone. Bathroom in keeping with the no frills quality, but good plumbing. Toiletries are meager, bring your own if you are fussy about soap and shampoo.

Room Tip: Go for a cnal view room for sure! If you can manage the stairs room 239 was great, spacious and what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LexidocNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
209 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The location is on a canal further from the center, but therefore quieter and less busy. It is very close to the Anne Frank house and the Rijks Museum. Lots of good restaurants nearby. The staff were charming and helpful. Our room overlooked the canal and, though small, it was very adequate. The stairs are very steep and narrow so perhaps not good if you have very large, heavy luggage. There is no elevator. The breakfast was not huge but it was certainly adequate. The breakfast room was lovely, looked out onto the street corner where there was lots of action. I highly recommend the Wiechmann hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank packedlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#19 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#107 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#146 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing