We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #86 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a business trip during an autumn vacation period. All other hotels were fully booked, so I ended up staying at this small hotel in Joordan area. The lobby of the hotel was cosy, like going to someone's home. They even had an old dog at the lobby. My room was in the third floor, behind very narrow and steep stairs ... luckily I was traveling light :) The room itself was small, just two beds and a toilet. The window was towards the inner yard, so there was no view. The room had a slight smell of the mold.

The area was nice, lots of restaurants just around the corner. But there is no public transportation and it took 20 minutes to walk from the main railway station.

In a summary, this was no special place in any way. Everything was quite average, but the price was 150 EUR a night. Very expensive for what you get. I would not stay again.

Room Tip: No view in rooms towards inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iinatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 887 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in mid-September, and had a really nice time. The staff is very helpful and friendly, but not intrusive. They were the best part, and the reason to return! The rooms were not huge, but comfortable, and huge windows. Location was really good, close to Leidesplein. We were on the 2nd floor, on the street side overlooking the canal. There was noise on the street, pretty much 24/7. This is an active town, and I have no idea if it would be different elsewhere, but if this is a concern, ask for a room in the back. As others have mentioned - steep and narrow stairs so be prepared! But it was a great place, and a great price. We are glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSchwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It was a really nice friendly hotel, clean & tidy,staff very friendly. I am a single traveler so i was in a room on the top floor so as mentioned by others i had to climb 4 flights of very steep steps but i was expecting this as most Amsterdam accommodation is like this, The breakfast was ok. I would have liked a canal view but only a minor issue & if im lucky i might get one when i go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a location - on the junction of 2 canals in the Jordaan!! Great views! Staff were really helpful & friendly. Rooms were smallish - but were very comfortable. Lots of stairs & no lifts though so wouldn't suit people with mobility issues. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Wiechmann is a small family owned hotel situated on the intersection of 2 central canals. The location is perfect. Our canal view room #239 had huge windows overlooking both canals. Beautiful! The rooms are very basic but are clean and comfortable. Our room was up two very steep narrow flights of stairs that could be difficult for some people. Breakfast is included and served in a bright ground floor dining room facing the canals as well. Like the rooms the breakfast is basic: sliced cold cuts, cheese, bread for toasting and some dry cereals and fresh fruit. We would have liked some yogurt as well and better breads. The owner and staff are all very helpful and friendly. there is a large, old, docile family dog who smells a little funky, but doesn't bother anyone. Bathroom in keeping with the no frills quality, but good plumbing. Toiletries are meager, bring your own if you are fussy about soap and shampoo.

Room Tip: Go for a cnal view room for sure! If you can manage the stairs room 239 was great, spacious and what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexidocNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The location is on a canal further from the center, but therefore quieter and less busy. It is very close to the Anne Frank house and the Rijks Museum. Lots of good restaurants nearby. The staff were charming and helpful. Our room overlooked the canal and, though small, it was very adequate. The stairs are very steep and narrow so perhaps not good if you have very large, heavy luggage. There is no elevator. The breakfast was not huge but it was certainly adequate. The breakfast room was lovely, looked out onto the street corner where there was lots of action. I highly recommend the Wiechmann hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank packedlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#133 of 374 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#45 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#12 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#106 of 374 in Amsterdam
352 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#51 of 374 in Amsterdam
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332 | Prindengracht 328 - 332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $133 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, comfy family hotel in the center of Amsterdam on one of the nicest corners in town. Clean and friendly, a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing