We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #89 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you select this Hotel, you cannot expect something like at any Chain Hotel. It is something special, giving the feeling of how life was and is in this typical old style Amstererdam houses. There are a unique old style living room and breakfast room with old classic furniture. The stairs to the rooms in the upper floors are quite steep and there is no lift available. But knowing this fact it transmits the feeling how it is to live in these kind of old houses. So if you expect some modern style Hotel with all its amenities it is the wrong choice. So when selecting this Hotel, you will discover some shortcomings to what the modern Businesstraveller expects, but you get the cosy feeling of Old Amsterdam with a special charme.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front side offer a beautiful look to the Canal in front of the house but be aware that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieter577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 890 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Perfect location and cosy.
The hotel is a bit dated. Very steep stairs and no elevator, so beware if you a located on top floor (4th). Breakfast included, siimple but enough. Actually no surprises compared to the description, but my double room at the attic was not 20 sqm, rather 12 sqm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Eva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JIll7Gloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has helpful, friendly staff and a reasonably good breakfast. It is well located, but the room was not worth the rate. You couldn't look out of the windows as the view was blocked by buildings. There was no balcony and the room was so hot since the lone fan was unable to cool it. The room was barely big enough to fit four of us. The television in the room was outdated and the picture was grainy. So the only option was to spend most of the time outside the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the best parts of my recent one month European vacation was my stay at Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel. The hotel is family owned and extremely well taken care of. It's well located, just a few minutes from the Anne Frank house, a must see, and facing one of the many canals on what has been assessed as one of the prettiest corners in Amsterdam. The front desk staff is very accommodating; a big thank you to Natta for answering a near endless barrage of questions without becoming exasperated and to the owner, John, for sorting out my somewhat muddled airport shuttle booking. The breakfast served at the hotel deserves high praise as well, as I was spoiled for choice with everything from delectable ham through to fresh fruit and likely the best cup of coffee I had during my entire vacation, served on request in the hotel lounge. The owner has preserved the original beauty of the hotel and this as well adds to the overall experience. There are antiques throughout the main floor and the main halls and staircases are well preserved, but guestrooms each have modernized facilities. I'll recommend Hotel Wiechmann to friends and family, and hope to return myself in the not too distant future.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank sq12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This historic hotel sits right on a canal. We booked an upgraded room It had antique furniture, comfy bed, brand new restroom, and a small balcony overlooking the canal! Quiet and clean hotel with two lobby areas full of nice antiques. A sunny breakfast room to enjoy the free continental but filling breakfast. This sunny room sits right on the corner so you can watch the city come to life while sipping coffee and eating the meat, cheese, bread and other offerings. Enjoy complimentary tea, coffee, espresso, lattes throughout the day. The staff is very friendly and helpful with directions etc. to the sites in town. Walking distance to everything.
We loved staying here and think you will too!

Room Tip: we paid a little extra for an upgraded room. Stairs were just fine, don't let other reviews abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceKoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed there earlier this month, As I asked for canal view was given room 402,on the 4 floor, small but with a great view. Climbing there using a very steep stairs was not easy but I got used to it.Bringing up a heavy suitcase might be a problem. I wanted to stay two days more but the hotel was fully booked, and they found me a room for one night, this time a more spacious double but no view. The dining room was very pleasant, right on the canal, and the breakfast was good.To conclude - to stay there you need some sense of adventure but the stay would be memorable and I would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daphnaHaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#138 of 373 in Amsterdam
465 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,106 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#103 of 373 in Amsterdam
356 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,076 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332 | Prindengracht 328 - 332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $133 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, comfy family hotel in the center of Amsterdam on one of the nicest corners in town. Clean and friendly, a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing