We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High room rate for the facilities available” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #69 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
“High room rate for the facilities available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has helpful, friendly staff and a reasonably good breakfast. It is well located, but the room was not worth the rate. You couldn't look out of the windows as the view was blocked by buildings. There was no balcony and the room was so hot since the lone fan was unable to cool it. The room was barely big enough to fit four of us. The television in the room was outdated and the picture was grainy. So the only option was to spend most of the time outside the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    355
    97
    13
    19
See reviews for
133
303
83
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the best parts of my recent one month European vacation was my stay at Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel. The hotel is family owned and extremely well taken care of. It's well located, just a few minutes from the Anne Frank house, a must see, and facing one of the many canals on what has been assessed as one of the prettiest corners in Amsterdam. The front desk staff is very accommodating; a big thank you to Natta for answering a near endless barrage of questions without becoming exasperated and to the owner, John, for sorting out my somewhat muddled airport shuttle booking. The breakfast served at the hotel deserves high praise as well, as I was spoiled for choice with everything from delectable ham through to fresh fruit and likely the best cup of coffee I had during my entire vacation, served on request in the hotel lounge. The owner has preserved the original beauty of the hotel and this as well adds to the overall experience. There are antiques throughout the main floor and the main halls and staircases are well preserved, but guestrooms each have modernized facilities. I'll recommend Hotel Wiechmann to friends and family, and hope to return myself in the not too distant future.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sq12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This historic hotel sits right on a canal. We booked an upgraded room It had antique furniture, comfy bed, brand new restroom, and a small balcony overlooking the canal! Quiet and clean hotel with two lobby areas full of nice antiques. A sunny breakfast room to enjoy the free continental but filling breakfast. This sunny room sits right on the corner so you can watch the city come to life while sipping coffee and eating the meat, cheese, bread and other offerings. Enjoy complimentary tea, coffee, espresso, lattes throughout the day. The staff is very friendly and helpful with directions etc. to the sites in town. Walking distance to everything.
We loved staying here and think you will too!

Room Tip: we paid a little extra for an upgraded room. Stairs were just fine, don't let other reviews abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceKoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed there earlier this month, As I asked for canal view was given room 402,on the 4 floor, small but with a great view. Climbing there using a very steep stairs was not easy but I got used to it.Bringing up a heavy suitcase might be a problem. I wanted to stay two days more but the hotel was fully booked, and they found me a room for one night, this time a more spacious double but no view. The dining room was very pleasant, right on the canal, and the breakfast was good.To conclude - to stay there you need some sense of adventure but the stay would be memorable and I would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daphnaHaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we deliberated long about where to stay. It wasn't the cheapest of choices, but we decided on a traditional hotel as we wanted to experience the true Amsterdam. We were not disappointed and extremely pleased with our choice. The staff were very friendly, polite & extremely well organised. The room was quite basic but very clean & served our needs. Lovely crisp, fresh cotton sheets. We didn't pay for a canal view but emailed the hotel beforehand asking for a view if possible & they kindly obliged. Shower beautifully clean & lovely & hot. Breakfast was delicious - a small selection of cheese and meat, fruits, cereals, eggs and juices which set us up for the day. It is nice not to be over faced with food. A nice touch was being able to have free coffee/tea in the lounge at anytime after about 12 noon. We were on the 2nd floor and climbing the stairs gave our legs a great work out! The location was fabulous - a lovely area within walking distance of all the tourist attractions, also not too noisy. We were so glad not to be staying right in the centre, which although great to experience, would not be where we would want our hotel. All in all we had a great 4 days and would definitely return to the Wiechmann Hotel. Point to note, if you enjoy cycling, hire a bike - we travelled all around the centre, had a lovely trip around Vondel Park and cycled alongside the Amstel Canal out into the countryside which was great. You can pay for a guided tour to do the Amstel Canal trip, however we just asked at reception and it was so easy to do it yourself and choose how far to go and stop when you like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nothing more than a 2 star hotel.The service was inexistent,the employees were just sitting at the lobby.The single small room was indeed small.
The breakfast was the simpliest possible.The location was indefinetely one of the best in Amsterdam for the first time visitor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Spyridon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the rooms pictured on both booking.com and the hotels website. Those rooms pictured were spacious and light. The room we got was an attic room only just big enough for the double bed. Strongly suggest you check which room you are booking and do not assume it will be anything like the ones on the websites.

Room Tip: Check the room before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeanBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your room. I do believe the photo's on our web-site are representative of the rooms and public spaces. Of course not every room has a photo on-line and, basically, being in three older canal side buildings, no two rooms are alike in our hotel as opposed to any shoe-box hotel.

My apologies,
John Boddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#19 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#107 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#145 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing