We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #69 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fantastic location, on the junction of two canals so always something interesting to see. We had a lovely corner room which was very light and airy, but very noisy especially at weekends. So if you want a good night's sleep and you are at the front of the hotel, take ear plugs. But it didn't put us off - the staff are very helpful, rooms clean and comfortable, and breakfast is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    356
    97
    13
    19
See reviews for
134
303
83
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A sweet little hotel in the Jordan area. The single small room was actually quite big. There is no air condition only a standingfan and the heat was extreme. The only way to get air and cool air was to open the windows. The windows were facing the backyard so it was not noisy.

There are no "don't" disturb sign to hang on the door which was very annoying. If you are sleeping when they wants to clean the room you miss it because they are not coming back. I din't try the breakfast since it was only on to 10.00 o'clock ( 11.00 on weekends).

In all the hotel was well worth the money and i can stay there again. The aria is very nice with independent stores and restaurants. It only takes 15 m to walk to the central station.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chat-a-lotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

An excellent position on the Prinsengracht, about 5 minutes walk from the Dam and 5 minutes from Leidseplein, so very near to all tourist facilities, good bars and restaurants, We stayed over a sunny weekend and paid a bit more for a room with a canal view, which really added to the ambiance. There is a sleepy dog on the premises, and although my wife and I are both a bit nervous around dogs, he/she was very quiet and hardly awake most of the time, so no problem for us at all. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a little bit basic but entirely adequate with fresh juices, cereals, sliced meat and cheese, a good selection of breads and excellent coffee, with a range of teas for those who prefer tea. The only thing to bear in mind if you have any mobility difficulties are that the stairs to the second and third floors are very steep and winding (as they are in all Dutch canalside houses). Prinsengracht is one of the ring canals around central Amsterdam and pretty as a picture. It gets very little traffic in the evenings so no noise even if you face on to the canal. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swoolf49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 and the hotel was perfect. We had a large room with a view of the canal, good bathroom, furniture in keeping with the ambience of the hotel. Keep in mind they are not kidding about the stairs. We were luckily only 1 floor up (and the very kind staff carried our bags). Walking distance to everything. We kept turning the wrong way out of the hotel, but it was great because we found areas that we weren't originally going to visit. Rained every day we were there and the hotel had these wonderful big umbrellas to use. Would go again and would recommend.
HelenR

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Perfect location, in front of the Prinsengracht canal and the heart of the Jordaan, the coolest neighborhood of Amsterdam. Close to many bars, restaurants and attractions. Large room, spacious and extremely comfortable, with a beautiful view of the canal. I was delighted and I intend to stay at this hotel again if returning to Amsterdam.
But watch out: Amsterdam typical stairs (very common in this city). Pack light!
No hair dryer in the bathroom.

Room Tip: I was in the room for four people with my husband and two cousins​​. It is very good. The room is ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

a lovely boutique hotel within walking distance of the centre of the city on a canal.
Staff were helpful and friendly
Good breakfast
I would stay here again when I come back to Amsterdam
Neil and Jude
Christchurch New Zealand

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Neil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#19 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#107 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#35 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#140 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#56 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing