We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #79 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Good location and mediume breackfast service.
The hotel doesn't have the elevator and to reach rooms steps are quite thin and high. It's ok if you don't have big luggages.
Comfortable beds and very characteristis room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cecile G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    372
    106
    14
    21
See reviews for
145
325
84
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We found this hotel online and struck gold. The location in Amsterdam is excellent, as we wanted to be within walking distance of attractions and on a canal, yet we wanted the quietness of something near the Jordaan...and the Wiechmann is it. We could echo the same positive comments of rwjohn and Marc and others who liked the hotel. Room was good (quiet, clean, etc), breakfast room with its excellent view and people-watching of those passing by on the street. Yes, the stairs are steep, but we were prepared for this and we honestly had o problem lugging our bags to the 3rd floor. (they did offer to take our bags for us, but I took them). If we have the opportunity to visit Amsterdam again, without a doubt we will stay at the Wiechmann again. I don't know of any stronger statement than that!

Thank you, Wiechmann Hotel.

Room Tip: Had a back room on 3rd floor...very quiet, plenty of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandD F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Booked this without recommendation via interenet for my wife and I. Not been to Amsterdam before so a bit of a risk, but no probs with this one. Actually picked a great location, but we did airport transfer.
Hotel is clean, quirky/old decor/furnishings. Nice friendly staff and dog! Steep stairs, luckily we were were on 1st floor - wouldn't fancy 3rd floor, but we were warned.
We had a lovely canal view, but was a little warm and humid at night.
Nice breakfast in corner dining room

Room Tip: Try to get a 1st floor if you have big suitcases. Canal view nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwjohn2754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here over the holidays. The location is right in "The 9 Streets" which is a popular destination for fashion boutiques, small cafes and local charm. We had a view overlooking the canal on the top floor, (very steep stairs) so be prepared. There was a lot of sun in the room and free WIFI. Breakfast was included in the fee and directly opens to the street for early morning people watching. The staff is very helpful and speaks English. They seem like students who enjoy talking about the city and local attractions (like Anne Frank House) within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013


Excellent position ,strategic for reaching dam's Squareas well as other attractive places, very quiet area,rich continental breakfast,large and clean room, friendly people at reception desk, warm atmosphere


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#107 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#34 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#75 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#43 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing