We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An excellent stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #79 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Lovely hotel. Spacious twin room with traditional furniture overlooking canal it is lovely to watch Amsterdam go by after a day sight seeing with a well deserved cuppa. Great location. Breakfast could do with a bit more variety but was still OK. Friendly dog "guards" reception!! The steep stairs are to be expected as it is a canal house but it can be hard getting suitcases up them. The reception has various cards giving discounts at several tourist attractions. This hotel helped made our trip very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handbagscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    373
    106
    14
    21
See reviews for
145
327
84
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
304 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

This hotel was exactly what I was looking for on my recent leisure trip to Amsterdam. I wanted something that was more like a guest house than a hotel, with a lot of uniqueness and charm, in a good location within walking distance of the major tourist sites -- and it didn't disappoint.

The Wiechmann is not a 5-star hotel - if that's what you are looking for, you'd better book the Marriott or Crowne Plaza. This is a charming 3-4 star hotel that is the result of 3 historic canal-houses that have been connected together. The stairs are steep and narrow, the wooden floors creak, the decor is eclectic, and I loved it!

The hotel is located on the outermost canal ring, the Prinsengracht canal. It's an easy 5 minute walk from the nearest tram stop, which from there you can also easily get to the Centraal train station and the Amsterdam Schipol airport. The "neighborhood" was very lovely and I felt very safe as I walked around. From the hotel, I walked almost everywhere in the central tourist district of Amsterdam, but took the tram sometimes just to save time (or my feet!).

The hotel had a nice sitting area in the main reception area, and if you were lucky, the friendly family dog, Taz, would be there to say hello and ask for a belly rub :) There was also a lounge with comfy chairs, a small bar, a TV and a book exchange table. Although I never used it, there was also an internet computer available for guests upon request.

The breakfast room was absolutely charming, sitting on the corner of the building, with lovely window views looking out over two canals (one on the front of the building, and the other on the side). It's easy to see that the breakfast room used to be a cafe. It was a pleasure to watch the comings and goings of the Amsterdammers as they went about their daily life while I was eating my breakfast :) The breakfast itself (which was included in the price of the room) was very satisfactory, with an assortment of cereals, fresh fruit, breads, jams, cold meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, juices, milk and coffee/tea.

I had a standard-sized single room on the 3rd floor, with a large window overlooking the Prinsengracht canal in front of the hotel. The view was stunning, it was the quintessential view of Amsterdam that I was so eager to see -- and I was even happier to have the view right out my room. My room was not lush, but it was clean, sufficient and functional. I had a large double bed (maybe it was a queen?) which was comfortable and had nice linens with a thick coverlet. The room also had a nice, small flat-screen TV mounted to the wall, a small wall-safe (which wasn't big enough for my laptop or my Kindle, but was perfect for my passport, extra cash, keys, etc.), a heater under the window, and also a freestanding electrical air-conditioner. The bathroom was somewhat small, but it was perfectly fine for one person, and all of the facilities were updated and clean. The room didn't come with a hairdryer, but the front desk was happy to loan me one during my stay. The entire hotel had complimentary wireless internet access, and I had no problems accessing it from my room -- which was a nice bonus.

The staff of the hotel were friendly and accommodating. They assisted me with directions and touristic recommendations, they printed some airline boarding passes for me, and they arranged a very early morning taxi back to the airport for me. There was also a slight discrepancy with my rate when I checked-out, and they proactively contacted me before I'd even arrived back home in the States with a resolution.

The only thing I can say negative about this hotel is that the walls and ceilings/floors were fairly thin, so I could hear most of what my neighbors were saying and doing in their rooms -- but this is something I would expect in a historical guest house. Also, although I'm very happy that my room overlooked the canal, the downside was having to deal with the noise. Amsterdam doesn't have many cars, but it does have people who are out and about at all hours of the night walking along the canals -- and the sound from their talking and laughter was amplified by the water of the canals and the buildings surrounding them like a canyon. So, because of the "street noise" and the chatter of other hotel guests, I found that the best way to sleep was with ear plugs. Also, although the steep stairs didn't bother me at all, this might be a detractor for someone who is mobility challenged or has a lot of large/heavy luggage to carry.

Overall, this hotel was perfect for me. It was precisely the experience I was looking for during my visit to Amsterdam and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to others planning to visit the city.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canals have a lovely view, but are more noisy. If you want a quiet room, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethanieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Wiechmann in a quad room. The location is perfect and was easy to get to using public transportation from the airport. The room was simple. The bathroom was TINY. The stairs were STEEP! Imagine climbing a ladder with your suitcase. Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and not looking for any frills.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Located overlooking one of Amsterdam's many canals, the Hotel Wiechmann is in an historical canal building. Our family of four stayed in a 2nd-floor, canal-view "family room", which was absolutely gigantic--so big in fact that when I first walked in, I thought a mistake had been made! High ceilings, creaky hardwood floors, antique wardrobe, huge bathroom. The main room had a king bed and the annex room, with sliding leaded-stained glass divider doors, had two twins for the kids. The tall windows overlooking Prinsengracht street had blackout curtains, which was nice to block out the streetlights. There was some street noise but nothing out of the ordinary; A LOT of people in Amsterdam ride bikes, which of course are quieter than cars. The kids loved the hotel dog, Taz, who was a sweetheart. Breakfast was adequate but there was no cooked food such as eggs or meats--just the basics like toast, fruit, cereal and coffee/tea. The dining room is decorated with Delftware (?) and looks out onto the street, so it was a nice spot to watch the city wake up and commute to school or work by bike. The hotel is a few walkable blocks away from most attractions and as a result has a down-to-earth vibe, very warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Canal view family rooms are spacious, but somewhat expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

This hotel has a lot of qualities, including the location near the Johnny Jordaan monument, along a canal from the golden age. It's one of the best two-stars hotel in this city. I was a guest in a small single room on the fourth floor, with a beautiful view of the roofs of Amsterdam on the rising sun.
This room is modern, well equipped and not so small, if you compare with what other 2* hotels propose. Special mention for the bathroom which is very clean and spacious. A little inconvenient is the absence of a mini fridge.
I don't have anything to complain about the staff of this family-run hotel. The included breakfast is copious and tasty, it's taken in a very luminous (eastern orientation), perfect to start the day in a good mood.
Safety is also taken seriously, at the entrance and with a personal safe in your room.
All of these come at a price, but if you stay more than three nights you can benefit from a 15 %, considerable reduction.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorPaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

OK, the stairs on the right side of the hotel are STEEP, but the other side not so much...also the rooms that face the front of the hotel can be a little noisy sometimes, but the location, the staff & everything else about the place makes it one of the best values in amsterdam...we went with 2 other couples for 5 nites & we all agreed we would stay here again...i can't stress enough how convient this location is to stay in, literally can walk to everything...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morgalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

So it was expensive for the square footage - but that is Amsterdam. Very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoomball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#104 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#21 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing