We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a place to sleep at budget costs.”
Review of Trianon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trianon Hotel
Ranked #359 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just a place to sleep at budget costs.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

LIKE:
#1. It is a budget hotel in a prime location in the city. It is near to some city attractions (walkable distance) like Rijksmuseum, Vondelpark etc. Very easy to get there from the Airport with public transport(Take Bus 197 from Schiphol and get down at Museumplein. Then just a 2 mins walk) #2. They served a good buffet breakfast in the morning.

DISLIKE:
#1. They changed the room for me... I booked a "Budget twin (bunkbed)" with bathroom. But what given to me was a room with 4 bunk bed's (So it went very congested) and the main point was it didn't have a attached bathroom
#2. The room had a window and a balcony.. The window was not even opening. The balcony door, if locked from inside, cannot be opened again. (It had only one key and it was with the hotel staff)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prajishc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    79
    171
    139
    353
See reviews for
65
237
59
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a comfortable bed. The room was very small. Good hot running water. The shower bath was a bit tricky to get in and out of. We had kitchen sounds and smells. Breakfast had a reasonable variety. Cheese, ham, salami, yoghurt, fruit salad, cereal, bread (no toaster) tea coffee and juice. Is close to trams, a park and the Rijksmuseum.
Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjnj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We read the reviews on this hotel and tried to cancel once booked, glad we didn't - the bad press is from people who expect 5 star luxury at 1 star prices. This hotel for what we paid, more than served it's purpose - bedding was cleaned daily as was the towels, breakfast was more than adequate - bread, ham, cheese, salami, fruit, boiled eggs, orange juice, coffee, and cereal (needed a toaster) location.. tram No 5 runs from central station right up to the hotel (takes about 10 mins) rooms were tired but clean, we were only using it for somewhere to sleep and shower and it was more than adequate. reception is manned 24 hours a day and they spoke very good English...hotel has free WI-fi, I think I've said it all - if u want luxury don't book this hotel, if you want a clean budget hotel....book it!

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor and heard no noise from other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moni1967-Villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Is there no authority in Amsterdam which monitors hotel quality? In such a regulated country as Holland I would have thought there must be. If so I would exhort them to visit the Trianon. IMHO it should be closed down. It is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and that is saying something. I can find nothing even remotely positive to say about it. Run by disinterested people who know a cash cow when they see one – servicing a city with millions of visitors not all of whom can afford five stars. It is dirty, unkempt and massively overpriced for what it offers. Disgraceful breakfast of the cheapest crappiest food imaginable. The list goes on. During our stay in Holland we used airbnb except for this last night. Each of the three places we stayed were cheaper than this dive but offered a level of quality and luxury that the Trianon could not even imagine.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sceachgeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

On first appearance I was a bit weary about staying there.
On entry there was a female staff member who was very helpful and friendly and sorted out our room keys.
We stayed in a 6 bed room. We had 3 bunk beds which was fine, however 2 of us ended up sharing a bottom bunk as I didn't feel safe on top of that bed!

The bathroom was a bit worn and shabby but I certainly wouldn't say dirty. Our rooms were very clean also, cleaned daily.
The hotel on a whole just needs refurbishing.

HOWEVER....
I loved Trianon, the staff were nice, the location is fantastic and with a super market just across the road.

The breakfast was terrible, but that is fine... I wanted waffles anyways.

See you again in March Trianon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

V.nice two days at this clean and convenient hotel. Breakfast generous though I was annoyed there was no butter! Healthy, I know, but I like making up my own mind.
A five-minute walk across the park to the Rijksmuseum...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaviniaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,052 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#293 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,880 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 367 in Amsterdam
206 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#323 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#269 of 367 in Amsterdam
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Hotel

Property: Trianon Hotel
Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 3-7, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trianon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trianon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing